Page 1 of 2
CVT shudder
Posted: March 15th, 2007, 6:10 pm
by sinnas
have a pardna with a Honda Civic 2001. He says the CVT has a shudder in it.
Changed the fluid a number of times, filter serviced, but the problem still remains. The shudder however only comes when moving from a staionary position.
Any feedback/advice to troubleshoot?
Posted: March 15th, 2007, 7:20 pm
by SR
sheit he might be in trouble
Posted: March 15th, 2007, 8:56 pm
by NickJr.
It is more than likely the clutch
Posted: March 15th, 2007, 9:04 pm
by 10-01
sinnas,
had that problem with my other PBL civic my mechanic fixed in in 30 mins wat he i dnt knw but i could pm u his # and u coul dlink with him mines also use 2 shudder when moving from a staionary position

Posted: March 15th, 2007, 9:47 pm
by sinnas
sheit he might be in trouble

why dread. now i fraid mine start that too.
It is more than likely the clutch
how so??
299 - thanks that will help ( most people find out what their mechanics do on their car though.

(btw. how much did it cost?)
Posted: March 16th, 2007, 6:54 am
by 10-01
sinnas,
well he pulled dwn the trani sump sprayed it ou took out the filter cleaned it , flushed out the system with new cvt oil then , drained it replaced it with new oil again he also ran through the gears one by one in a certain order dnt knw y but it wrk like a new trani after it costed me about $1200 to b repaired ....
Posted: March 16th, 2007, 9:26 am
by sinnas
$1200?? damn. well i guess that better than buying a new tranny. I'll tell my pardna, doh forget to pm the # pls thanks.
or ask him the order to change the gears in and I go do it myself and charge meh pardna a $800

nah jus kidding.
nah but that price sound good considering is 2 sets of oil. but i believe my pardna did all that as well except the gear changing part. will confirm.
a guy in Classic motors did tell him though that if all that dont work more than likely its the clutch. pressha for he. i go sell him my tranny and go manual

Posted: March 16th, 2007, 9:49 am
by 3stagevtec
sinnas wrote:sheit he might be in trouble

why dread. now i fraid mine start that too.
same here, that's why i stop pulling off hard from a standstill with mine...
Posted: March 16th, 2007, 12:42 pm
by red5FWD
^^Yep...you shouldn't be aggressive with a CVT from the standstill; you should also change the oil much more often than with a normal tranny.... that helped me with my last car but only for while until i eventually converted to manual

. I've also heard about a CVT calibration that can be done but i don't know much about it.
Posted: March 16th, 2007, 1:44 pm
by redsupra101
^^ there are tuners who solodex the firetruck out of their cvt civics and have been doing so for years..
the key is maintenance.. a well working cvt CAN keep up with and maybe beat a manual car street driving (rolling start.. no launches of course)... cvt in sport mode = 6000rpm + vtec whole facking day.
Posted: March 16th, 2007, 7:31 pm
by Marct
^^true dat has been done.
the shudder though can be fixed by Charles in La Romaine- something he adds to the trannie fluid i think about 8bills
Posted: March 16th, 2007, 9:29 pm
by sinnas
contact or directions? Know La Romaine but dunno Charles.

Posted: March 18th, 2007, 8:49 am
by Marct
past BBQ place going towards Palmiste.There is a junction with a hardware and a motor bike shop on the junction go down that road,follow the rd and on the bend on RHD side a white wall. Keith Charles is the name
Posted: March 19th, 2007, 3:30 am
by eLEVated CVT
There's a new Honda cvt specific fluid.....It costs twice as much(abt $90) as the usual atf that cvt owners have been using for years.....don't know anyone who has used it yet but if the feedback is as good as for the new manual fluid it may be worth a try...makes me wonder (and worry) whether Honda discovered that despite using the original type of fluid that cvts were still gettin busted.....$45 extra per quart....hadda be some worthwhile miracle fluid

Posted: March 19th, 2007, 3:35 am
by 3stagevtec
eLEVated CVT wrote:There's a new Honda cvt specific fluid.....It costs twice as much(abt $90) as the usual atf that cvt owners have been using for years.....don't know anyone who has used it yet but if the feedback is as good as for the new manual fluid it may be worth a try...makes me wonder (and worry) whether Honda discovered that despite using the original type of fluid that cvts were still gettin busted.....$45 extra per quart....hadda be some worthwhile miracle fluid

you've got my attention... where we getting this new CVT fluid?
Posted: March 19th, 2007, 4:16 am
by eLEVated CVT
I believe ANP should have in stock now...Andy was actually the first one to tell me abt it...or you can check Kazim in Couva 684-1169...I change fluid about 3 times per year...next change due in 2 mths...we put both bottles side by side...the claims made were basically the same as the old atf...longer change intervals blah blah blah...if anyone changes b4...throw up a review nuh
Posted: March 19th, 2007, 5:21 am
by 3stagevtec
will give it a try by next week so...
thanks
Posted: March 19th, 2007, 6:45 am
by SR
cvt's require more maintnenace than regular tranny's and people need to understand this and stick to it
most people never even change their tranny fluid for the entire ownership period of the car
check with the service manual on what the regular routine maintenance is and what needs to be done
also as usual increased traffic driving also means shorter periods between service
cvt's work well
but need more attention
personally for honda's i'd stick with the honda recommended fluids
Posted: March 20th, 2007, 10:22 pm
by De Dragon
eLEVated CVT wrote:I believe ANP should have in stock now...Andy was actually the first one to tell me abt it...or you can check Kazim in Couva 684-1169...I change fluid about 3 times per year...next change due in 2 mths...we put both bottles side by side...the claims made were basically the same as the old atf...longer change intervals blah blah blah...if anyone changes b4...throw up a review nuh
Where is this exactly?
Posted: March 21st, 2007, 12:12 am
by Zim
Dow Vilage, California
Posted: March 23rd, 2007, 11:03 am
by rsx87
i think zim does be sleeping on himself sometimes. i getting this same problem in a Honda Fit. Changed fluid, tried the re-calibration thingy, still same thing. I going by ANP tomorrow and let them hook up the OBD scan tool and see if the prob. is in fact the tranny.
Posted: March 26th, 2007, 10:05 am
by 3stagevtec
rsx87 wrote:tried the re-calibration thingy
how you did this?
Posted: March 26th, 2007, 9:17 pm
by rsx87
i carried it by a guy in Aranguez, a transmission specialist. He charges $250+VAT to do it, but since it didn't work 4 me, he didnt charge nething. He also said sum bout whenever the battery is disconnected, it needs re-calibration again...
Posted: April 2nd, 2007, 5:35 pm
by Sunrise City Rider
make sure you use Tranny Fluid thats meant for your Honda CVT Tranny...
Amsoil should make a synthetic that is compatible with that tranny...
Posted: April 24th, 2007, 8:57 am
by sinnas
Just an update guys. He tried the new Honda CVT transmission fluid and the shudder decreased ALOT he said. AutoNation was out of stock but he found it in Autorama for $58 a quart. Pricey but he felt the difference immediately.
Posted: April 24th, 2007, 3:57 pm
by 3stagevtec
sinnas wrote:Just an update guys. He tried the new Honda CVT transmission fluid and the shudder decreased ALOT he said. AutoNation was out of stock but he found it in Autorama for $58 a quart. Pricey but he felt the difference immediately.

$58 per quart isn't bad! i payed... mm, $90
where is autorama located??
Posted: May 3rd, 2007, 8:29 pm
by virs2304
fellas... this recalibration ting is a rel rip off... it rel simple...
for a 97civic n up yuh just hadda get a nice long stretch ( i does use the Nagar road ) from park, start and accelerate uniformly + moderately to 80km/h or so and just let it decelerate on its own (no braking for abt 10secs) but i does let it slow right down to zero. just for safety i would repeat it at least once again...
i heard abt the gear changing technique.. i hear its used for the newer models like the jazz and fit. starting from park, change gears going right down P_R_N_D_L or however yuh gears arranged.. allowing a 1-2sec delay between gears...pause for a five secs and come back up L_D_N_R_P. tink yuh lights supposed to be on for this procedure.
got my info from asia.vtec.net ... i use the first technique and it work like a charm... its good to do after u change ur fluid and i notice d man from aranguez does pull out for a few secs and replace the radio fuse from the fuse box under the hood before he do he ting.
my ride is a Vi-RS 1.5l no mods... oh yea....ah change meh fender lights tuh clear lens now : lol
Posted: May 3rd, 2007, 10:00 pm
by 3stagevtec
virs2304, was there any visual indication that it worked or did you just feel a difference in the way the car drives?
Posted: May 3rd, 2007, 10:31 pm
by sinnas
Autorama is a few buildings past Autonation. Same left side. You will se a sign.
If you dont know where Autonation is, its in El Socorro, coming from the highway, go up El Socorro, look out for AutoVillage on the right (just a landmark as its a huge sign). Then a lil higher on the left is AutoNation (will see a sign) and higher again there is Autorama (will see sign). Other places to check for parts/fluids etc is El Socorro auto supplies(AutoVillage) or Dollars and Sense (right hand side) close to Autonation.
Posted: May 4th, 2007, 8:25 am
by virs2304
3stagevtec: no visual indication that there was a problem to begin with... i only knew that there was a problem by the way the car was driving and how it felt... used to get an annoying shudder pulling off from standstill... it was even more violent wen pulling off up an incline. all dat stop... it drive like it was new after recalibration.
Ah mean is not like yuh hadda pull down yuh tranny or mod some IC ... if anybuddy having the same problem it rreally doh hurt to try ...the first technique is harmless.