Page 1 of 4
target- 170whp b16a
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 8:27 pm
by gizmo
I'm currently running I/H/E, fpr, vafc on a stock b16. What is necessary for 170whp? So far i'm assuming 145 whp with my setup.
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 8:47 pm
by TriniParts.com
Crower Stage 3 Camshafts or Similar with Springs & Retainers
4-1 Header
Quality N1 full Exhaust System
Quality Cold Air Intake System
If you reach yet, a Honda S300
And you will have to remove economy from your sig.

Posted: March 27th, 2007, 9:24 pm
by 10-01
gizmo,
B16A
Displacement (cc): 1595
Power (bhp@rpm): 168@7800
Torque (ft/lbs@rpm): 116@7300
Compression Ratio: 10.4:1
Bore (mm): 81
Stroke (mm): 77.4
Cam Design: dohc
VTEC?: yes
OBD: 2
Year(s) Produced: 1996-2000
In the following car(s): Honda Civic SIR
Currently your doing 168 hp @ 7800 rpm that info taken from
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=23842
so how can u be doing 145 whp ? jus asking because the specs says different ?
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 9:46 pm
by X2
Stage 3's ? nah... he could make that with Stage 2's from many companies... plus some bolt ons. ... 170whp with tuning and the right parts.
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 9:56 pm
by redsupra101
whp and bhp figures are a bit different.
gizmo may want to upgrade to 170whp
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 9:56 pm
by DrunkenMaster16
Im shocked X2...
Simple. 50 wet shot = more than your goal.

That way you can still have your fuel economy

Posted: March 27th, 2007, 10:03 pm
by X2
Shocked at what ? It's not hard to make hp numbers with a b16.... cams, bolt ons, some fancy cam gear adjustments

and tuneage... bingo.... a good mechanic and a good tune and it could happen.
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 10:05 pm
by neilspeed___
X2 wrote:Stage 3's ? nah... he could make that with Stage 2's from many companies... plus some bolt ons. ... 170whp with tuning and the right parts.
if he uses stage 2 cams..what else would he be required to change in order to accomodate the new camshafts?
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 10:07 pm
by DrunkenMaster16
Im shocked you didn't just sujest n2o.

BTW who do you know that locally tunes? Reliably? and No im not talking about the allmighty hondata tuner who tunes h22's with 14.9:1 compression, custom cams and a 14000 rpm limit....
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 10:10 pm
by gizmo
So i'm guessing CTR or stage 1 cams (and valvetrain)+ adj. cam gears+ chipped p30 (to raise rev limit)+ vafc+ dyno won't suffice huh?
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 10:12 pm
by X2
neilspeed___ wrote:X2 wrote:Stage 3's ? nah... he could make that with Stage 2's from many companies... plus some bolt ons. ... 170whp with tuning and the right parts.
if he uses stage 2 cams..what else would he be required to change in order to accomodate the new camshafts?
Gawd... allyuh like chirren boi... hadda hold ur hand along the path !
anything over stock will need upgraded springs and then u will want retainers. Ay... wait... u know dis... why u asking ??
Dm16.... stop pushing fight... yes... we know ur stock clunker will beat a tuned sohc... sheesh...
Make it more interesting and try talkin some smack my way nah... I've blown two engines.... swing away Irene !

Posted: March 27th, 2007, 10:15 pm
by X2
gizmo wrote:So i'm guessing CTR or stage 1 cams (and valvetrain)+ adj. cam gears+ chipped p30 (to raise rev limit)+ vafc+ dyno won't suffice huh?
You have a chance with those....I dunno if you will do it on a stock or ITR header... with some bling header I wouldn't doubt it.... it's just with our sh*t gas... I'd rather run bigger cams, more fuel and less ignition than push a stock cam. (without an ITR intake manifold, you will not yield as good results with just the cams, so you would have to push hard to get that kinda peak power.
Stage 3's is overkill tho.... SR ? Have something to tell us... wha u hiding ?

Posted: March 27th, 2007, 10:17 pm
by DrunkenMaster16
might get you near 170... but if you want 170+ for sure, atleast stage 2 cams, slightly bigger injectors, a good header, decent air intake could be brand name could be custom just try to get as cold air as possible. And last but not least magically find a good tuner who won't blow your engine.
BTW find one with atleast 2 running cars that can be shown to you on request and can back up any and all statements via dyno sheets and butt dyno pulls.

Oh when you find said tuner PM me asap.
neilspeed___ , you'd need to upgrade your valve springs and retainers, you might be brave enuff to use stock springs and retainers for stage 1's. You would need to adjust them, and tune for them.
Posted: March 27th, 2007, 10:24 pm
by DrunkenMaster16
Re: target- 170whp b16a
Posted: March 28th, 2007, 6:52 am
by Clerique
gizmo wrote:I'm currently running I/H/E, fpr, vafc on a stock b16. What is necessary for 170whp? So far i'm assuming 145 whp with my setup.
Pal, you look like a perfect candidate for this...
http://www.intertune.tv/index.html
Posted: March 28th, 2007, 9:51 am
by hatch is best
gizmo
1. Go to the dyno and see where you actually are (please dont assume)
2. Do a lot of research/reading
3. Go see an experience Honda tuner, I would suggest Tola's 674-8494 imo he is the best
Posted: March 28th, 2007, 11:42 am
by ZORT
X2 wrote:
Dm16.... stop pushing fight... yes... we know ur stock clunker will beat a tuned sohc... sheesh...
Are you insane???? Dem D series kill sti's!!! all I can do is out launch sti's. I don't have a chance vs a tuned single cam with vtekkkkk
Hell I don't think highly modified dual cams can compete with stock D series once tuned buy one of the great D tuners around these parts...
LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: March 28th, 2007, 7:44 pm
by paz
go to
http://importbuilders.com/ stage 2 cams with valve springs , retainers and valve install tool for 800 USD
Posted: March 28th, 2007, 8:57 pm
by neilspeed___
X2 wrote:neilspeed___ wrote:X2 wrote:Stage 3's ? nah... he could make that with Stage 2's from many companies... plus some bolt ons. ... 170whp with tuning and the right parts.
Gawd... allyuh like chirren boi... hadda hold ur hand along the path !anything over stock will need upgraded springs and then u will want retainers. Ay... wait... u know dis... why u asking ??
Make it more interesting and try talkin some smack my way nah... I've blown two engines.... swing away Irene !

oh gosh u know u iz the Yoda of the VTEC way

...jus a lil help on d path to enlightenment..would be nice

Posted: March 28th, 2007, 9:43 pm
by X2
ok ok... valve springs NO MATTER WHAT.... B series springs will see quite a bit of fatigue anywhere between 75k and 100k miles... they can drop valves at high rpm, so you should upgrade even if only going stage 1 IMO. I've seen dropped valves from stock cams on engines with high mileage....
"Stage 3" cams are a generalized rating between cam manufacturers... it's doesn't mean much as far as specs... so you have to read the cam manufacturers specs to know what ur getting into. Generally, stage 3's have alot of duration and overlap... this means they need to rev fairly high to make the power they should be. Most people running stock bottom ends should not go over stock redline due to a few reasons.. most concerning reliability and longevity of the setup. So going that far means you MUST be dedicated to the build rather than just slapping on big cams... Stage 2's from most companies can do fairly well on stock blocks since you can stay within stock redlines and still make good power.
blah blah blah... I wish I could use the force to adjust my valves...

Re: target- 170whp b16a
Posted: March 28th, 2007, 11:18 pm
by ingalook
Cleriq wrote:gizmo wrote:I'm currently running I/H/E, fpr, vafc on a stock b16. What is necessary for 170whp? So far i'm assuming 145 whp with my setup.
Pal, you look like a perfect candidate for this...
http://www.intertune.tv/index.html
This man only want you buy this so he could make ah pirate copy boy...

Posted: March 30th, 2007, 8:30 pm
by Silvermike
yup. tuning is where the power is. 170whp is easy with simple parts. as for winning races...knowing how to drive helps
Posted: March 30th, 2007, 9:08 pm
by DrunkenMaster16
Posted: March 30th, 2007, 9:13 pm
by Silvermike
hmmm. y dont u race me?
Posted: March 30th, 2007, 9:35 pm
by DrunkenMaster16
In what car?

Posted: March 30th, 2007, 9:38 pm
by Silvermike
pick one
Posted: March 30th, 2007, 9:45 pm
by DrunkenMaster16
My new daily driver vs your daily driver?

Posted: March 30th, 2007, 9:47 pm
by Silvermike
oh its on.
Posted: March 30th, 2007, 9:51 pm
by DrunkenMaster16
next week maybe, just need to make sure im setup for what rig, where, and when. I don't wanna go work in forest reserve

Posted: March 30th, 2007, 9:55 pm
by Silvermike
good.. in the mean time... 170whp civic!
....dont go ctr cams... its not worth the hastle.. s2s2 maybe...
springs/ retainers.
walbro
ems... haondata would be best... emange not bad. and possibly better support through w2j and dry.
310cc injectors
redo gaskets and seals
dc 421 headers
2 1/4 exhaust.. mandrels plz. something nice... hks/blitz/apexi
cai
that would be good for more that 170 with a good tune i think