Busted torque mounts!!!!!!!!!

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

ramafingers1

Busted torque mounts!!!!!!!!!

Postby ramafingers1 » April 10th, 2004, 7:31 pm

Fellas, NEED SOME ADVISE!!!! can anyone tell me whats the best thing to do for busted torque mounts on a honda civic SIR. (thats the "D" shaped ones). I've got copper clutch and the mounts keep getting busted. what i want to know is ..........
1) should i buy new mounts and get the energy suspension inserts or
2) take the old mounts and get them made over but this time have it done solid ( yes i know i'll get some vibration, but what the hell , i dont consider my car right now as a luxary car) -2 mth warranty

By the way, i see a lot of car parts places selling these same mounts for $125 each and (you get a 1 mth warranty) its reconditioned and made in INDIA !!!!!!! dont know if its any good though!

SO!!!!....energy suspension inserts - about $165/kit
solid mounts - $150 each
New Jap mounts - $350-395 each
New India mounts - $125
can anybody tell me what to do!!!!!!!!! THANKS.

import

Postby import » April 11th, 2004, 10:25 am

Firstly.. i suspect you did an engine transplant which is why the mounts are busting in the first place. Adding a copper clutch to a regular SIR cannot cause mounts to burst all of a sudden, especially if the car came manual from the factory.

SOLID MOUNTS... No you wont get SOME vibration. You going to get SOOO MUCH VIBRATION your girl is going to love the car more than YOU :wink:
Seriously let the solid mount be your last and VERY LAST RESORT. !!

DONT BUY NEW MOUNTS.. THERE JUST LIKE BUSHINGS, they are soo flimsy they cannot even take the regular pressure they were made for. eg. i remember buyng NEW cradle bushings for my car cuz i coul'nt afford the Energy Suspension kit at the time. Went by some pro's and they press everything back in place nice nice, the car look good.. From the time the hoist put the car back on the floor the bushings started to split because of the weight of the CAR :roll: :roll: imagine that.. they ent even start to drive and take heavy cornering yet. :? :?

What i would suggest is finding the source of your engine rock..THATS YOUR PROBLEM.. you MAY have to re-float the engine on a cherrypicker and do over all brackets to secure the engine properly. ONE MOUNT CANNOT WORK WITHOUT THE OTHER ..thats the golden rule with engines.

YOU DON'T HAVE TO but i would buy USED mounts BECAUSE if you cannot afford Classic Motors mounts then thats the only other alternative to geting HONDA GENUINE mounts. YES they are used however you have eyes, so you can see a busted mount from a good one .. And i can gurantee a used GENUINE mount will out perform and out last any new mount wrapped in plastic from India. :mrgreen:

There are Three mounts that go bak GENUINE, the mount on the firewall ( most important one) do the bracket properly because when you launch the car is he who gettin the Jammin... The mount on the gearbox, once that bracket is done well the stock mount will never fail you. Same goes for the ( liquid filled) mount by the Timing belt or cams. once it's not under strain and the engine is level it will NEVER BURST. THE MOUNT THAT YOU MAY HAVE TO USE solid is a Small one.

Thats the mount on the aircondition compressor. it literally HOOKS on the chassis, so i DON'T have to tell you what purpose that serves when you are launching your car... :wink: :wink:

Thats about it i hope it helps... Post your results..

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » April 11th, 2004, 11:55 pm

Teflon inserts someone in Trinidad does them. Its almost like solid though.
If you are serious about racing Hasport make a very good kit, I guarantee it will be cheaper IN THE LONG RUN.

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » April 12th, 2004, 12:53 pm

yo import.. that was some good info dude

aye rama..i used back original used mounts on my car, i have ah EK4 auto.. they wukking real good..u can get dem in the bamboo.. each around $125 to $175

juss takes some time to locate dem

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » April 12th, 2004, 3:55 pm

The harshe the clutch the more you are gonna kill mounts. I have even broken solid mounts, you need a little give that sI will recommend the HAsport or Jimfab.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 12th, 2004, 6:51 pm

the energy suspension is great.. time consuming if you do the WHOLE kit to install but great. Solid sucks, stock is nice for a while but E.SUSP takes the cake......

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » April 12th, 2004, 7:06 pm

energy is a waste man...you should know that. Any mount that inst prssed in isnt going to stay in.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 12th, 2004, 7:30 pm

you mean in>? you (meaning a machine shop and not YOU) can press the inserts in....

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » April 12th, 2004, 8:34 pm

yeah fellas , what about de mounts from INDIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
are they any good-------------and with 2mths warranty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 12th, 2004, 10:08 pm

^^^ NEVER HEARD OF THEM

Postby X2 » April 13th, 2004, 1:04 am

The mount on the gearbox, once that bracket is done well the stock mount will never fail you. Same goes for the ( liquid filled) mount by the Timing belt or cams

That liquid filled (gel actually) is weak and a mistake on honda's part. They do bust on occassion.

The energy suspension inserts work fine for moderately powered engines.... get into Vtwin's power territory and you will be cursing them....

IMO... the India mounts are ok for stock engines, but for more performance w/o the harsh vibration of solid or filled mounts... get the cheaper india/chinese mounts and throw on some poly inserts (like energy, etc...) They will last a LONG time. They lasted over 30k miles of 4 hour track days and multiple street launches with D/R's on my turbo integra until I sold them to a buddy... they are on his turbo hatch for the last 20k miles and doing fine.

BTW... I replaced my torn stockers with 'india' mounts... I got them for $100 a piece...shop around or haggle...you might get the same deal. ($125 isn't bad tho)

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » April 13th, 2004, 7:06 am

THANKS FOR THE INFO!

JWT

Postby JWT » April 14th, 2004, 11:54 pm

a fella in cipero street making mounts check him melting out d ruber and putting in back new rubber
check him he chargin like 150 a mountain
opposite motorist on cipero street

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » April 15th, 2004, 7:22 am

Hey VVL, i ended up going right by those same people and got them made. Was done real good in about 2 1/2- 3hrs.hope they last though. got 3mths warranty on them.

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » April 28th, 2004, 1:10 pm

Hey VVL, ahh put in the mounts early last week an it real wukking boy.
slight vibration though but hell, is not ahh luxary car ahh have.

paz

Postby paz » April 28th, 2004, 9:56 pm

thanks for the info ..thought the copper clutch aided in busting the mount

ZORT

Postby ZORT » May 3rd, 2004, 7:37 am

Right i going again with the DAP from Ft Farfan. This time is it a polyurethane adhesive base product.

This will be for the lower left side torque mount.

Will let you guys know how this one goes, if you remember the last one is holding but was not an adhesive so it is slowly i mean very slowly coming out but holding well.

zort

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2004, 7:51 am

how is it these days? mine still looking good and is about 10mths I did it

ZORT

Postby ZORT » May 3rd, 2004, 7:57 am

You used the dap or the 3m?

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2004, 7:59 am

the 3m weld

ZORT

Postby ZORT » May 7th, 2004, 8:57 am

I used another dap product yesterday. I will advise once a couple of hard launched have been completed :D

This is not the same one from last time. Trying another dap product.

zort

ZORT

Postby ZORT » May 10th, 2004, 9:06 am

Dave DAP wuking.... 8)

Postby Dave » May 10th, 2004, 9:18 am

Glad to hear, you will let me know which version u using now

Return to “HONDA”