SIR Fuel ?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

keepwalking

SIR Fuel ?

Postby keepwalking » October 14th, 2008, 3:30 pm

What is the recommended fuel for this car ?

Some saying super and others saying premium

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 14th, 2008, 4:24 pm

From the Honda Civic Owner's manual: Recommended fuel for B16A is RON95 (Premium) however you can use Super (RON91). The ECU will adjust to the lower octane rating....you will just lose some performance.

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » October 14th, 2008, 8:14 pm

"you will just lose some performance."

is this a fact or opinion.

if it is a fact, please show us a dyno sheet, 1/4 slip or something

JD......

Postby JD...... » October 15th, 2008, 7:13 am

you could definately feel the difference in performance, butiz up to u if u feel iz worth it to put in premium right through or go for the cheaper super for normal daily driveing

NY4PD

Re: SIR Fuel ?

Postby NY4PD » October 15th, 2008, 7:50 am

keepwalking wrote:What is the recommended fuel for this car ?

It is simple, full your tank with 95 and then drive it regular and then race with it and you will see the difference big time compare to 91 octane, also to prove it to yourself just take your Throttle body off the intake manifold and you will see how much more carbon in the intake manifold using 91 octane . You could then imagine how it looks down inside the Motor. I wish i had 95-octane here in Florida..... Well just use the 95 it will not damage your engine, the car will run much better and last longer with no carbon build up...i use 94-octane here local in Florida... good luck...

type r

Postby type r » October 15th, 2008, 8:26 am

I lost alot of performance using super in my sir and it was smoking black i will be using premium still

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 15th, 2008, 2:23 pm

B20VTEK wrote:"you will just lose some performance."

is this a fact or opinion.

if it is a fact, please show us a dyno sheet, 1/4 slip or something

Don't have to show a dyno sheet....read the owners manual under the section Fuel Requirements...it will state exactly what I posted...recommended is RON95 but you can use RON91 and the ECU will compensate but you'll lose some performance....if still in doubt ...contact Honda

ek4ever

Re: SIR Fuel ?

Postby ek4ever » October 15th, 2008, 2:26 pm

NY4PD wrote:
keepwalking wrote:What is the recommended fuel for this car ?

It is simple, full your tank with 95 and then drive it regular and then race with it and you will see the difference big time compare to 91 octane, also to prove it to yourself just take your Throttle body off the intake manifold and you will see how much more carbon in the intake manifold using 91 octane . You could then imagine how it looks down inside the Motor. I wish i had 95-octane here in Florida..... Well just use the 95 it will not damage your engine, the car will run much better and last longer with no carbon build up...i use 94-octane here local in Florida... good luck...

There's no need for all this.....the manufacturer clearly states the fuel requirements in the OWNERS MANUAL.....no guess work

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » October 15th, 2008, 3:44 pm

Actually i am using super, and the car is running a bit poorly

Thanks guys, back to premium 8-)

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » October 15th, 2008, 8:38 pm

My car is my daily driver....
the way i look at it, i cannot get accustomed to paying the high price of premium.
i rather loose some power, and save some money in my pocket.

once i not detonating or pinging its super for me.

Zim

Postby Zim » October 15th, 2008, 10:44 pm

performance fuh me...dat extra hike in price is a beeyotch tho....I just drive conservatively, den again, I'm running higher compression ratio

Postby De Dragon » October 16th, 2008, 9:50 pm

Premium it is. Drive normal when you have to,but when you need the little "oomph" ITS RIGHT THERE :D

Return to “HONDA”