Trottle body

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

ramafingers1

Trottle body

Postby ramafingers1 » April 22nd, 2004, 9:04 pm

where can i get a trottle body from a SIR B16A engine bored from the stock 60mm up to 64mm and then get the appropriate butterfly to fit .

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » April 23rd, 2004, 8:03 am

ummm thats machine shop work.... its best you just buy an aftmkt THROTTLE body

drop ho

Postby drop ho » April 23rd, 2004, 10:32 am

^^^ aye yuh still have tha aluminum piping yuh was sellin for the intake?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » April 23rd, 2004, 10:53 am

yeah ah still selling the entire assembly, uwant it? or better yet I have an Arospeed setup if you want that

drop ho

Postby drop ho » April 23rd, 2004, 10:55 am

pm with some details nah, price setup etc.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 23rd, 2004, 3:29 pm

Pissed Off Jim wrote:ummm thats machine shop work.... its best you just buy an aftmkt THROTTLE body

this is good advice.

Also remember that the bigger throttle may decrease air velocity in a N/A engine and that, coupled with the fact that your probably not altering the Computer also to make up for more air MASS may in the end lead to less HP...I wonder if the sensor can adjust for a larger TB on the stock ECU..never did it on a stock ecu car before..

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » May 12th, 2004, 8:36 pm

anybody know how much extra HP (approx) you will get when you bore out a B16A trottlebody from the original 60mm up to 62mm??????????
want to know if its worth the $$$$$

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » May 13th, 2004, 2:00 am

like yuh didnt see my post or wha...??!! :mrgreen:

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » May 13th, 2004, 8:48 am

i saw an understand your post, but one of the upgrades you can do with still having the stock ECU is either change to a type-r trottlebody (62mm)
or bore out your original from 60-62. Its not much, but ..................?????

W2J

Postby W2J » May 13th, 2004, 10:50 am

I running a RPW 67mm Throttlebody with ported RPW Manifold and a Evo 5 Airflow meter :mrgreen: . Big power boost ontop a higher rpms. Loss on lowdown power under 4k. you will need some sort of fuel inrichment.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » May 13th, 2004, 11:02 am

ramafingers1 wrote:i saw an understand your post, but one of the upgrades you can do with still having the stock ECU is either change to a type-r trottlebody (62mm)
or bore out your original from 60-62. Its not much, but ..................?????

I hear you killer, so then you're prepared to deal with the loss of velocity which would result in losing power in the LOW RPM range.. a place where, for sure, your HONDA NEEDS IT..?... I guess the 62 aint bad though...

Postby crazybalhead » May 13th, 2004, 4:48 pm

Honda does not operate on air MASS, but rather manifold absolute pressure, so as long as yuh not boosting, the MAP sensor should compensate to a point.

W2J

Postby W2J » May 13th, 2004, 4:53 pm

I dont think that the map will compensate for that major gain in airflow there must be a limit that it could go to.

Postby crazybalhead » May 13th, 2004, 4:55 pm

That wouldn't be a major gain. I don't think so. And like I said as long as he not above 0 PSI the map will compensate "to a point", the point of course being the maximum advance and fuel that the stock computer can set.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » May 13th, 2004, 5:31 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Honda does not operate on air MASS, but rather manifold absolute pressure, so as long as yuh not boosting, the MAP sensor should compensate to a point.

I didnt say it works on air MASS.. I said not altering the computer FOR MORE AIR MASS may lead to blah blah blah read the post again..

.... even though we know that the Honda Ecu uses a pressure sensor it doesnt change the fact that more air means more air MASS... :wink:

Postby crazybalhead » May 13th, 2004, 5:50 pm

Not necessarily. Hotter air with a greater volume can have the same mass as colder air with smaller volume. So more air is not necessarily more mass. This is why I think Honda measures pressure, that way the volume over temperature ratio is measured. So a calculation using Air intake temp vs Mass is not necessary. It can be useful but not necessary.

I making sense?? A level chem and physics was a long time ago.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » May 13th, 2004, 7:28 pm

^^ yes yuh making sense :mrgreen:

but the ambient engine temp is usually stagnant so that a bigger throttle body wouls ALWAYS result in more air MASS than the smaller one because the conditions like temperature of the engine would have been the same with either... :mrgreen:

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » May 13th, 2004, 8:33 pm

how will it work on a Frank engine :D :D :D

W2J

Postby W2J » May 14th, 2004, 12:11 pm

you need to ask a Frank :lol:

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » May 14th, 2004, 12:14 pm

itll work better on a frank engine as that engine has more torque to start with, and figure that if your franking your putting better cams in there or something!

Return to “HONDA”