Over heating problems

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

keepwalking

Over heating problems

Postby keepwalking » April 30th, 2004, 8:48 am

Did anyone of u guys ever encountered heating problems with your civic. And what do u do to monitor it? (I'm new to this fourm)
Last edited by keepwalking on April 30th, 2004, 8:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2004, 8:49 am

u losing water or just the gauge going up?

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » April 30th, 2004, 8:51 am

Gauge and losing a bit of water

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2004, 8:53 am

water in oil or viseversa? do a comp test, do you see water on the ground?

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » April 30th, 2004, 8:53 am

the guage goes up at times and then goes down

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » April 30th, 2004, 8:55 am

no water in oil or visaversa, whats a comp test

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2004, 9:05 am

check your local mechanic to perform this test, he will screw a gauge in the sparkplug hole and see if all cylinders are within spec and see which ones are loosing compression. Quick and easy to do.

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » April 30th, 2004, 9:09 am

I'll try it, thank you for your advice,

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 30th, 2004, 10:08 am

it had an issue with the 96-97 local civics. they used to overheat somewhere around 80,000km

the sensor was faulty. check the sensor

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » May 1st, 2004, 1:11 am

I think water temp sensor too.. check engine light on?

Postby crazybalhead » May 5th, 2004, 8:41 am

I feel there is a clog somewhere. The radiator needs to be taken down and cleaned or replaced. More than likely that's your problem.

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » May 5th, 2004, 2:25 pm

have the thermostat checked to see if it sticking....or just replace with a new one....maybe a good idea in any case.

Also monitor the radiator cap to make sure water not escaping.....I had a bad cap and replaced with a new Sankei cap...and still had that problem so don't assume that if you put in a new part in that ur problem solved eh.....so I got an original and it now seals properly......keep monitoring it. :|

boostcontrol

Postby boostcontrol » May 7th, 2004, 4:29 pm

your water pump could be baddd
doa pressure test and confirm

hilux junkie

Postby hilux junkie » May 9th, 2004, 10:18 pm

if is a 97-98 model they have a thermostat problem my brother-in-law had that problem of overheating and it was the thermostat :lol:

=VTEC=

Postby =VTEC= » May 10th, 2004, 7:48 am

amm what if only when you drive hard it goes up then when you slow down the gauge goes back down whats the cause of that?

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » May 10th, 2004, 4:31 pm

put ah 3 core an done! if yuh have to turbo yuh good

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » May 12th, 2004, 9:09 am

Sounds like a coolant recirculation problem. A coolant system only has the thermostat, radiator and a water pump to pump it all. If any of these components fail, then it will cause the whole system to fail.

Moss

Postby Moss » May 19th, 2004, 5:57 pm

As the person further up suggested, check to see if the fan is coming on when the car gets hot. If it doesn't , it could be a sensor problem.

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » May 24th, 2004, 10:43 am

yo fellas.. with respect to that over heating problem...i tink that most likely..its the Temp Sensor. I have eliminated all the other possibilties... I have a SiR, B16A ,1997.. I changed my water pump when i did the timing belt change.. all honda parts.. i had to take out my thermostat when my car overheated on the way to work..so..none there. I have noticed within recent times that my temp goes up a bit for about 20 seconds and then it goes back down to normal.. seems like the sensor is responding a bit delayed ever so often and trips on the fan a bit late.. my guess is that it is goin faulty..gotta change that.

Return to “HONDA”