B16A auto vs manual

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Mini

B16A auto vs manual

Postby Mini » June 16th, 2004, 4:47 pm

I came across an article some time ago highlighting differences in the auto and manula B16's

stuff like valve springs, VTEC engagement, etc.. but I can't find the article

anyone have such info?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » June 16th, 2004, 8:31 pm

There are 4 general classifications for B16A motors:

* B16A SiR
* B16A SiR II
* B16A2
* B16A3

It is often confused as to which motor is which. In this article, we will help you to pick out the clues as to which motor is which, and which one you should get for your B16 swap.

Although I just noted that there are 4 classes of B16A's, we can break that list down into two groups.

Our new grouping of B16A motors:

* B16A SiR
* B16A SiR II, B16A2, B16A3

Why this breakdown?

It all comes down to OBD. OBD, or on board diagnostics, are broken down into levels, based on the years they are instated. For more info on OBD, please read our article on OBD - Explained.) The B16A SiR, commonly and mistakenly called the B16A1, is an OBD-0 motor. This was the first level of OBD installed on motor ethicals. The other 3 are either OBD-1 or OBD-2 motors.

The SiR was designed for a 4th gen chassis. It works great with an 88-91 civic. However, try putting this motor in a 92+ civic and the problems will just start to flow. The tranny on the SiR is cable. the 5th gen chassis uses hydraulic actuation.

Why is the SiR cheaper?

It's cheaper for several reasons. First, it's older. Second, the A2/A3/SiR II have a higher demand, as they work in newer cars and have a higher output.

How to tell the difference between an SiR and an A2/A3/SiR II

* SiR uses a cable tranny- 5th gens are hydraulic
* SiR has a lower compression ratio, 10.2:1 and makes 160ps
* A2/A3/SiR II have a higher compression ratio at 10.4:1 and make 160hp (A2/A3) or 170ps (SiR II)
* A2/A3/SiR II motors have a better cam profile
* A2/A3/SiR II have better oiling functions, keeping things better lubricated
* SiR has cast aluminum oil spray bars while the A2/A3/SiR II are made of extruded aluminum.
* A2/A3/SiR II have a single- 4-wire O2 sensor instead of 2-single wire O2 sensors
* A2/A3/SiR II MAP sensor is an integral part of the throttle body, not an external one with a tube.
* A2/A3/SiR II harnesses are grey. SiR has cream colored ones.
* SiR is PGM-F1, clearly labeled on the intake manifold, andA2/A3/SiR II are MPFI
* SiR valve covers have "DOHC" written in a larger font size than "VTEC"
* A2/A3/SiR II valve covers have "VTEC" written in a larger font size than "DOHC"

Chassis Code Block Stamp Head Code Transmission Stamp Hp / CR
DA6
DA8 "B16A
1xxxxxx" PR3 '88-91 S1 or J1
Cable type Clutch 160
10.2:1
EF8
EF9 "B16A
5xxxxxx" PR3 '89-92 Y1 or YS1
Cable
Optional 'LSD' stamp on casing 160
10.2:1
EG2
EG6
EG9
EK4 B16A PR3 '92+ Y21
Hydraulic type Clutch 170
10.4:1

Additional Information

88-91 B16A's are known as the SIR 1. It uses OBD0 Ecu's, and cable tranny's. The engine serial number is usually 1xxxxxx.
92+ B16A's are known as the SIR 2. It uses OBD1 or OBD2(2b), and hydraulic trannys. The engine serial number is usually 5xxxxxx
The #'s at the end of the block code tell where the engine originated from. The Americas, Europe, Austraillia, etc.....
ALL Japanese engines, generally do NOT have a number after them. (** see below)
SO, if you have a B16A1,2,3,4, or 5. It is usually NOT a true JDM engine. Don't mistake a B16A1 as being a cable unit, because it could be a hydraulic. There are other ways to tell what year it is exactly.

**NOTE: There is ONE exception to this rule. In 90-91, the Civic/CRX SiR came with a B16A1, but they are SUPER rare, and came 160HP with 10.4:1 compression. Their counterpart of the same year was a 158HP, 10.2:1. They are very difficult to tell apart.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » June 16th, 2004, 8:36 pm

Das all I have

static

Postby static » June 17th, 2004, 12:27 am

Real good info there man, now i know.

skindog

Postby skindog » June 17th, 2004, 8:28 am

boy mini jus go manual an don the talk..... :mrgreen:

Mini

Postby Mini » June 17th, 2004, 8:56 am

boy mini jus go manual an don the talk.....

ah looking ah looking... but every SiR for sale I find is automatic... doh study it... yuh was suprised how the little itty bitty D15B keep up with yuh mighty B16B Friday night after Strokers eh! Boy... I swear I woulda wring the speedo cable trying to keep up with you!

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » June 17th, 2004, 9:54 am

^^^^^^^ahhh boy.... D15B power, look out....

i hear you....

Postby Dave » June 17th, 2004, 9:57 am

Mini wrote:

ah looking ah looking... but every SiR for sale I find is automatic... doh study it... yuh was suprised how the little itty bitty D15B keep up with yuh mighty B16B Friday night after Strokers eh! Boy... I swear I woulda wring the speedo cable trying to keep up with you!

why i doesn't meet allyuh on the road boy, I had to contend with a starlet in joy clothes and meh wifey smiling/quarelling when we flew past 200km :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 17th, 2004, 10:41 am

I dream of the days when i could do dat.

baby steps ent boy dave, baby steps

Postby Dave » June 17th, 2004, 10:42 am

yup, we starting somewhere at least

skindog

Postby skindog » June 17th, 2004, 11:30 am

Mini wrote:

hahahahhahhahhahhahhahaha
yeah boy yuh car wucking good but yuh know ah had to back off alittle for allyu to keep up i didnt want it to look too bad, by the way that night i didnt see Web for a while.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Mini

Postby Mini » June 17th, 2004, 2:02 pm

yuh know ah had to back off alittle for allyu to keep up

right... the real reason you slow down our little secret :mrgreen:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 17th, 2004, 6:55 pm

BTW doh tell too many people but im looking for a B16a2 or b16a3 ....im also looking for a B18 :twisted:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » June 17th, 2004, 8:32 pm

you have the gearbox...
if so where you get it...

Return to “HONDA”