Gas Consumption Question

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

mitsu4life

Gas Consumption Question

Postby mitsu4life » September 25th, 2009, 4:48 pm

hey guys, i have an eg5 with a d16a9. What kind of milage do you get with other d-series? because this thing is drinking gas i filled up ystrd $110 premium, not totally to the full mark and reset the trip so far i've done 89km and its about 3mm above the half mark :?

i haven't done any spirited driving between ystrd and today, shifting at around 3500rpm, i live in the trincity area i made a run to arima and back home and then to deigo and back home and thats where my needle is after filling up.

is it that these cars just have a small tank? or am i really burning to much gas. (car is manual with I/E/H)

i know for a fact the car has the wrong timing belt i teeth too much on the belt (i bought it that way, new one going in next week so don't flame meh......please lol). And i think the exhaust might be a little to big as well 2.5", could these also contribute?

Vivek

Postby Vivek » September 25th, 2009, 5:47 pm

u selling? lol

halfdef

Postby halfdef » September 25th, 2009, 6:47 pm

i get 180 on $100 premium :(

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » September 25th, 2009, 7:24 pm

Vivek, nah boy i just got her like 2 months ago :D

New Breed

Postby New Breed » September 25th, 2009, 8:36 pm

i get 240k $80 super aka full tank. :D if i try i can make 300k buh that some granny shifting there :(

Postby De Dragon » September 25th, 2009, 10:36 pm

350 on $140 premium. B16 with 'box

Kinday

Postby Kinday » September 28th, 2009, 5:04 pm

hmmm.....506km on $145...H22 (no vtec engagement, shifting at 3000rpm) :fadein: usual average is 460+ with some vtec use. And thats super gas.....premium is $220+ to fill up, that really not working for me every week.

BTW mitsu4life...I think your exhaust is too big for real. Yup, it's gonna cost you some mpg but judging from what you posted, I suspect you have a bigger issue.

Devon.Lopez
Location: saving a bunch of money on my car insurance by green band maxi

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 28th, 2009, 6:02 pm

I have the same d16 engine and i does get 300km and more on $100.00 Super.

That is with dirty air filter, no tune up, A/c, fat ppl in the car and VTEC all the time trying to outrun the traffic :twisted:

Postby SMc » September 30th, 2009, 12:01 pm

i used to get approx 325km in my EG9 (auto) with plenty different driving conditions...approx 110 to fill up.

(last month with the car i've got now I did just under 780 miles before i got scared and filled it up..think i could have managed another 10-15. not a honda though :? )

Kinday

Postby Kinday » September 30th, 2009, 12:11 pm

^^ Awesome numbers dude. That's some good mileage on that vehicle.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » September 30th, 2009, 12:50 pm

SMc wrote:last month with the car i've got now I did just under 780 miles before i got scared and filled it up..think i could have managed another 10-15. not a honda though :? )

damn that is diesel mileage from a gas engine damn

what is the CC of that engine and is it NA or turbo

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 30th, 2009, 3:39 pm

780 MILES? You have a prius?

Postby SMc » October 1st, 2009, 11:57 am

red_dragon wrote:
SMc wrote:last month with the car i've got now I did just under 780 miles before i got scared and filled it up..think i could have managed another 10-15. not a honda though :? )

damn that is diesel mileage from a gas engine damn

what is the CC of that engine and is it NA or turbo

it is diesel :? 2L tobodong ford :oops:

click 'my tuner ride' and if you look closely enough it have a green light on the right side and a red on the left fuss the thing big like a boat.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » October 2nd, 2009, 9:26 am

well i realised aftre the needle hit under half mark the km's were going up an the needle hardly moving i reached like 289 around a little under 1/4 tank but i filled back up $90 super FTW

Kinday, i was contemplating going down to 2.25" but i always had the intention of boosting her so the 2.5" should be good in that aspect...i doh really wanna take it off to put it back on

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 2nd, 2009, 9:30 am

Best way to check mileage.

1) Full tank to limit (when the pump automatically stops).
2) Reset mileage meter.
3) Drive until whenever you're ready to fill up again.
4) Full tank to limit.
5) Check the amount taken to fill the tank and calculate using that amount and the reading on the mileage meter.

When reading mileage meter take into consideration:
1) Change in rolling circumference.
2) Change in drive-train e.g. gear ratio and diff ratio.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 2nd, 2009, 9:51 am

mitsu4life :
on average u should get 10-15km per liter

paz

Postby paz » October 2nd, 2009, 12:36 pm

allyuh fellas getting some horible mpg .and the worst part is some of allyuh stock.time to service that car.

450-500 kms on a tank 90 super . 1.5 3stage

Sir 400kms on same $90 super

get that timing belt changed ...and do the basic service ..spark plugs and gap them,oil and gas filters..and check that timing .

Kinday

Postby Kinday » October 2nd, 2009, 12:46 pm

paz wrote:allyuh fellas getting some horible mpg .and the worst part is some of allyuh stock.time to service that car.

450-500 kms on a tank 90 super . 1.5 3stage

Sir 400kms on same $90 super

get that timing belt changed ...and do the basic service ..spark plugs and gap them,oil and gas filters..and check that timing .

What mileage yuh getting on the RX7 in yuh 2nr ride good buddy :wink:

But in all serious, what Paz says is true, get that engine tune up and see whats up. The 2.5 exhaust will be a slight drain on yuh mileage but you can sort that out as best you can with some tuning on some form of management

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 2nd, 2009, 1:20 pm

paz wrote:Sir 400kms on same $90 super .

with no VTEC :D

paz

Postby paz » October 2nd, 2009, 1:39 pm

red_dragon wrote:
paz wrote:Sir 400kms on same $90 super .

with no VTEC :D

nah thaz with the vtec that kill my new tyres in two months :lol:

phaze

Postby phaze » October 2nd, 2009, 4:37 pm

i get about the same thing in my sir.. 400-430kms per tank thats super... with premium its about 350ish, with one or 2 small spiritied runs inbewteen

Clerique

Postby Clerique » October 2nd, 2009, 5:55 pm

Couple years ago, I could pull off 400kms from a full tank (43 litres) no VTEC.
My average was 340kms though.

After gearbox work, average went to 320kms or less.

B18C Type R

halfdef

Postby halfdef » October 18th, 2009, 2:21 pm

stop driving hard shifting at 3000rpms gettin 310 on $140 premium :D

Return to “HONDA”