D15B running 2 cylinders - HELP!

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

amphion

D15B running 2 cylinders - HELP!

Postby amphion » February 1st, 2010, 6:28 pm

Well i have a hard 1 for allyuh...
So I changed oil & filter Saturday, went 4 a small run, back home Park up 4 d nite. Wake up this mornin it gave me a lil hard start (nothing unusual 4 my car - second tumble & it started). Went to drop d wife out 4 work. Road clean on d way back, so i floored it all d way home... when getting out to open d gate i noticed my tach hovering ~ 500rpm (I set my idle @ 900) & the car sounding like a Subaru...
Checks revealed 2 fouled plugs (#3 & #4) - Oil around the ceramic & on the threads (I'm guessing the oil on the threads is as a result of extracting through the oil on the ceramic). I cleaned all 4 and replaced. It started up gud. Left home 2 go to Arima & the subie sound is back! Visual inspectionof the plugs show they r still clean. I pulled the plug wires with the car running & they r not firing again - good regular (predictable) spark to ground on the respective wires... Dizzy in gud order...

what allyuh think? What allyuh suggest??

Thanx!

vinood360

Postby vinood360 » February 1st, 2010, 6:37 pm

i have a D15B head an block 2 sell call me @ 475-1067 if u r interested

amphion

Postby amphion » February 1st, 2010, 7:58 pm

:| that's the easy way out (I'd have learnt nothing).

If no one can help or point me to someone who can...

:idea: I have your offer as a fall back... thanx

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » February 2nd, 2010, 8:48 am

1- are the injectors working/are the plugs wet with fuel?(oil on the plugs,could be bad rings or valve seals)
2- subie sound could be faulty exhaust(internally) 8-)

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 2nd, 2010, 10:06 am

Hirotoshi wrote:1- are the injectors working/are the plugs wet with fuel?(oil on the plugs,could be bad rings or valve seals)
2- subie sound could be faulty exhaust(internally) 8-)

amphion

Postby amphion » February 3rd, 2010, 4:39 am

the valve seals are bad - i've known that a while, cause the oil is ONLY at the top of the plugs (ceramic side - the white stuff the plug number is printed on) and it only gets there when i hit high RPM's...

The fuel delivery is working (i'm guessing) cause the exhaust smells sickeningly rich when the condition exists...
So could it be that the plugs getting soaked with fuel? I believe the heat inside the block will dry that up once operating temperature is reached (gas is highly volatile: it evaporates easily at room temperature and therefore should 'flash' inside a warm engine).

I doubt the exhaust will cause the cylinders to not fire unless it's not opening or closing on time - in which case the entire block would be affected and i'd probably have bent the valve or punched a hole in the pistons by now - that'd be pretty noisy i think :!:
(Plus i'm SOHC, so the intake cycle would be screwy as well)... unless you're suggesting just those 2 exhaust cams are suddenly worn :shock:

I'm no mechanic Hirotoshi, i'm certain i'm missing some things by way of knowledge & logic...
feel free to fill me in on whatever may be wrong with my reasoning, you or anyone else can

Any other suggestions?

BTW 'flashing' is instantaneous evaporation of a liquid & extremely aggressive expansion of the resultant vapor.

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » February 3rd, 2010, 10:00 am

if you are getting spark,then the problem could be the injectors,they could be sticking intermittently or faulty, you should be able to see or smell fuel,as long as they are working properly. with regards to the subie noise,there could be a broken pipe or an internally collapsed resonator or muffler. you need to check/inspect your exhaust system.

vinood360

Postby vinood360 » February 3rd, 2010, 12:02 pm

U should get ideas from a good mechanic an see wat the problem is but if u r interested in the head an block i hav call me @ 475-1067 it has the injectors on it also.

amphion

Postby amphion » February 3rd, 2010, 11:32 pm

the subie sound is only there when the condition exists... when 3 pistons run it sounds better & when running on all 4 it sounds normal. I had a hole in my exhaust pipe repaired 1 week ago and the system was given a clean bill of health. TRUST ME the subie sound is from running on 2 cylinders - it is not a separate problem, it is as a result of the problem.

If it's, injectors i have.

My mechanic thinks the problem is with the fuel delivery or the air fuel ratio for the cylinders (dirty fuel rail, bad injector coils, restricted air intake or even weak/worn valve springs causing the valves to remain open).

i'll have to take it to him next time it goes subie on me.

I took it for a hard run last night from Grande to PoS and back (never took it higher than 2nd & kept the RPM ~ 7K)... all better now - fixed himself by Pricesmart Mausica on d way down

Still don't know what caused it, but REAL glad it's gone!

Thanx guys.

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 4th, 2010, 9:13 am

amphion wrote:the subie sound is only there when the condition exists... when 3 pistons run it sounds better & when running on all 4 it sounds normal. I had a hole in my exhaust pipe repaired 1 week ago and the system was given a clean bill of health. TRUST ME the subie sound is from running on 2 cylinders - it is not a separate problem, it is as a result of the problem.

If it's, injectors i have.

My mechanic thinks the problem is with the fuel delivery or the air fuel ratio for the cylinders (dirty fuel rail, bad injector coils, restricted air intake or even weak/worn valve springs causing the valves to remain open).

i'll have to take it to him next time it goes subie on me.

I took it for a hard run last night from Grande to PoS and back (never took it higher than 2nd & kept the RPM ~ 7K)... all better now - fixed himself by Pricesmart Mausica on d way down

Still don't know what caused it, but REAL glad it's gone!

Thanx guys.

correct, the subie sound is missfire.
it could of been oil on the plugs causing the missfire.

Custom-x

Postby Custom-x » February 5th, 2010, 12:46 pm

i had this exact problem....change the plugs and clean the injectors that worked for me...

riche

valve seals

Postby riche » February 10th, 2010, 10:09 pm

change that or check for tappet pan gasket leak

Re: valve seals

Postby r3iXmann » February 10th, 2010, 10:10 pm

riche wrote:change that or check for tappet pan gasket leak

:?

amphion

Postby amphion » February 11th, 2010, 7:59 pm

old ppl have a few sayings;
1- if yuh doh know nuttin hush!
2- if u have nuttin good to contribute, contribute nothing...

I have a sayin;
1- when BIG MEN with REAL CARS talkin, LITTLE BOYS WITHOUT CARS should stop talkin sh!t in d forum (b4 they get embarrased on d internet)

Stop talkin sh!t (aint even makin any sense - stay in d ole talk forum) :evil: ...

:evil: what allyuh gettin from trying to mislead ppl?!... :evil:

steups...

Return to “HONDA”