b16a , how much psi safe
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 9:30 pm
by speedfreak44
thinking abt putting a lil boost on my stock b16, i was adviced from a well kno honda boost tuner that 5psi is good, 7 could be nice but 5 more safe, and limit the rpm to around 8000rpm...
as i said engine is completely stock... he also said to use a t28
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 9:46 pm
by Pinky
Just for your intercooler to be usefull you have to see 6lbs
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 10:29 pm
by speedfreak44
which is safe right
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 12:12 am
by X2
7-8 psi from most turbos with proper fuel and modest ignition timing would work.
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 12:34 am
by Rooki3
B20VTEK
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 7:28 am
by red_dragon
X2 wrote:7-8 psi from most turbos with proper fuel and modest ignition timing would work.
X2 has spoken
main thing is the health of the engine
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 8:53 am
by X2
Hmmm... ah wonder if this go wuk....
BRING ME ALL OF YOUR WOMEN FROM 18-40
.... I shall choose accordingly....
red_dragon wrote:X2 has spoken

Posted: February 5th, 2010, 9:02 am
by honda hoe
BRING ME ALL OF YOUR WOMEN FROM 18-22
fixed

Posted: February 5th, 2010, 12:14 pm
by SUPAstarr
honda hoe wrote:BRING ME ALL OF YOUR WOMEN FROM 13-22
fixed

FIXED FOR BRENT
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 12:16 pm
by terry_b20
I have tuned alot of turbo b16a that run on average 8psi as daily drivers
The stock rods can handle 12psi
Stock pistons same once the engine does not detonate and the fuel mixture is right
check this link for some good info
http://beesandgoats.com/boostfaq/g2icturbo.html
G2IC Turbo Guide
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 12:21 pm
by X2
Re: b16a , how much psi safe
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 12:54 pm
by B20VTEK
speedfreak44 wrote:thinking abt putting a lil boost on my stock b16, i was adviced from a well kno honda boost tuner that 5psi is good, 7 could be nice but 5 more safe, and limit the rpm to around 8000rpm...
i might be willing to sell my setup
fully built b16a...
we can work out smtn.
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 1:48 pm
by honda hoe
SUPAstarr wrote:honda hoe wrote:BRING ME ALL OF YOUR WOMEN FROM 13-22
fixed

FIXED FOR BRENT
wdmc
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 2:39 pm
by exia_sir
8 is the safe boundry
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 5:14 pm
by exia_sir
terry_b20 wrote:I have tuned alot of turbo b16a that run on average 8psi as daily drivers
Stock pistons same once the engine does not detonate and the fuel mixture is right
http://beesandgoats.com/boostfaq/g2icturbo.htmlG2IC Turbo Guide
i think das d best link i ever find on this forum
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 8:35 pm
by speedfreak44
exia_sir wrote:terry_b20 wrote:I have tuned alot of turbo b16a that run on average 8psi as daily drivers
very nice read
Re: b16a , how much psi safe
Posted: February 6th, 2010, 10:43 am
by haydn28
speedfreak44 wrote:thinking abt putting a lil boost on my stock b16, i was adviced from a well kno honda boost tuner that 5psi is good, 7 could be nice but 5 more safe, and limit the rpm to around 8000rpm...
the limit on ur engine will be the rods and cylinder walls , the amount of boost the engine can take is decided by the tuning and octane gas used .
get a tuner who knows about tuning high compression turbo engines.
>>
shinakuma on these forums.
give him a pm
Posted: February 6th, 2010, 11:28 am
by Rooki3
Don't mean to spam, is there anyone locally who can sleeve a block
Posted: February 6th, 2010, 11:32 am
by speedemonz
speedfreak44 wrote:exia_sir wrote:terry_b20 wrote:I have tuned alot of turbo b16a that run on average 8psi as daily drivers
very nice read
One of the best links indeed a must read i believe for anyone wanting to turbo their car properly
Posted: February 7th, 2010, 7:21 pm
by NY4PD
All you guy's fooling you'll self. It don't matter on how much psi because you'll don't know the size of the turbo. The size on the turbo depends on the psi to make x number of power. The B16 can handle 300 whp all day long on Stock internals. So if you have a 45 trim turbo you cam pump 20 psi to make 300whp or if you have a 57 trim you can pump 14 psi to make the same 300 whp. so psi don't mean sheit. It all depends on the tune, the size of the turbo and fuel setup. Most important always check the compression on the motor first before boosting a stock internal motor. Also keep in mind if you going to boost more than 11 psi you will need to put a 3 bar map sensor so tunning will be at ease.
Remember tunning is the key and the size of the turbo, to make the power goal you need... You must always know what your power goal is before boosting.
This is just a comment not a argument so please don't take my comment the wrong way.

Posted: February 7th, 2010, 10:21 pm
by FORZA_PRETTYBOY
terry_b20 wrote:I have tuned alot of turbo b16a that run on average 8psi as daily drivers
sweet stuff

Posted: February 8th, 2010, 9:45 am
by JDM_GUY
speedfreak44,isnt your car auto?
Posted: February 8th, 2010, 2:38 pm
by speedfreak44
yep...
Posted: February 8th, 2010, 3:17 pm
by JDM_GUY
Just heard that its really hard to tune auto cars for boost, and the tyranny do not stand up.
Posted: February 8th, 2010, 5:07 pm
by X2
he also said to use a t28
As mentioned... any reasonable turbo at 8psi would be fine. You can barely feel most turbos at below 5psi. Even a GT35 at 8psi will be doable with a stock b16 block/head once you make the necessary tuning and other adjustments like fuel/injectors/plugs, etc...
Posted: February 8th, 2010, 9:34 pm
by speedfreak44
JDM_GUY wrote:Just heard that its really hard to tune auto cars for boost, and the tyranny do not stand up.
i never said that i was boosting with a tranny