civic... best shocks

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

speedfreak44

civic... best shocks

Postby speedfreak44 » March 15th, 2010, 6:46 pm

ok for me its eg civic but lets do it nice for ek also

what do you guys think are the best for daily driver, and fun weekends

so we have on the line up

1) oem
2) kyb gr2
3) tokico blues
3) kyb axg ( a bit costly i find)
4) tokico illuminas

any others please add

what springs would you use... i have a set of springs that came of kyb axg.. they are together on my car.. gave about 2" drop front and abt 1'' at rear
shocks ride ok, but i know there are about 75% life.... so im thinking to keep the springs and add new shocks

so again what springs you think to use with the shocks mentioned above

megan
tein
skunk2
eibach
etc... you call what you have experience with
well i have the axg
espleiar.. if i spelt it correct

halfdef

Postby halfdef » March 15th, 2010, 6:57 pm

KONI red

Postby Damien » March 15th, 2010, 7:05 pm

oem and tein springs bess

New Breed

Postby New Breed » March 15th, 2010, 10:53 pm

H & R and Koni Yellows. and is agx eh...

SEVin

Postby SEVin » March 16th, 2010, 1:29 pm

Shocks
- Tokico Blues/Illuminas
- Koni Red as someone said above

Springs
- H&R
- Eibach

I had blues and H&R sport springs...very stiff yet comfortable ride, didnt experience any body at all

My padnah civic had the eibach and Koni reds...I thought it was a worse ride but I am being biased :) He also had no body roll

Any of those applications you will be happy with..Good Luck!

Zim

Postby Zim » March 16th, 2010, 1:48 pm

Where sells these locally?

Postby X2 » March 16th, 2010, 4:28 pm

Koni yellows and tokico blues are good shocks for the money.

KYB & Eibach springs are actually designed in conjunction with each other...good combo there.

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » March 16th, 2010, 5:14 pm

Zim wrote:Where sells these locally?

will be offering soon

Postby X2 » March 16th, 2010, 5:28 pm

speedfreak44 wrote:

will be offering soon

setup or 2nd account ? :lol:

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » March 16th, 2010, 6:13 pm

X2 wrote:
speedfreak44 wrote:

will be offering soon

setup or 2nd account ? :lol:

i dont see why thats a set up...
as i said i will be offering soon, daz all...

what shocks u had on the hatch?

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » March 16th, 2010, 11:50 pm

Currently have Skunk 2 springs in stock for EK and ES and will be getting soon, Skunk 2 Shocks...

jc

Postby jc » March 18th, 2010, 1:03 am

any one have experience with dropzone springs for the civic :?:

what is the spring rating on these :?:

phaze

Postby phaze » March 18th, 2010, 11:56 pm

koni yellows and ground control coilovers! sweet too bad!

Postby De Dragon » March 19th, 2010, 9:22 pm

I had Tokico springs with AGX 4 point adjustables in front/Tokico with AGX 8 point adjustables in the rear of the Civic and it handled like a dream!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 21st, 2010, 3:09 pm

For OEM replacement I love the Tokico Blues

If you looking to step up, Illuminas (Tokico Whites).. Or if you want to drop

And for springs H + R or Eibach definitely

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » March 21st, 2010, 5:17 pm

so far we looking at tokico blues and h+r springs..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 21st, 2010, 7:52 pm

Tokico Blues were never really meant for dropping though...
Seriously consider the Illuminas if you want an improvement in handling with the drop

It'll cost yuh more but you not going to regret it

SEVin

Postby SEVin » March 21st, 2010, 8:26 pm

Agreed with CD4Accord, it you are looking to go 2 inches and lower, then he blues may not be the way to go..The Illuminas would be better

shady23

Postby shady23 » March 21st, 2010, 9:16 pm

Hmm. Never saw Illuminas selling locally, at least not the whites. Where you guys got those from?

seanviper

Postby seanviper » April 3rd, 2010, 6:01 pm

megan racing springs any good?
gettina set used for small money
if they are good, what shocks shud i use?

New Breed

Postby New Breed » April 3rd, 2010, 6:44 pm

kyb gr2 TSC have them 4 a good price.

Vivek

Postby Vivek » April 3rd, 2010, 11:06 pm

seanviper wrote:megan racing springs any good?

ok, small money u say, catch is usually u get what u pay for, ure asking about suspension, this link should provide some insight

http://www.ej8squad.com/thread-9671.html

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » April 4th, 2010, 9:03 am

Kyb-GR2 with the Tein-S Tech springs for everyday driving and decent drop height plus it works great for drag racing on the track. You will find the ride is almost like stock height very smooth. :D

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » April 4th, 2010, 9:52 am

will the springs from the agx be good too? with gr-2s that is

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » April 4th, 2010, 8:13 pm

speedfreak44 wrote:will the springs from the agx be good too? with gr-2s that is

I guess so providing its still in good shape meaning having the right tension etc...

seanviper

Postby seanviper » April 4th, 2010, 10:44 pm

Vivek wrote:

ok, small money u say, catch is usually u get what u pay for, ure asking about suspension, this link should provide some insight

ok, well i didnt see the megan racing brand in there, so does that mean its nt good?

and, when i said "small money", i meant they usually sell for bout 1700 a set brand new, but i gettin them for small money cuz they used and he jus wanna get rid of them

so again i ask teh question >>>>

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » April 7th, 2010, 7:53 am

NY4PD wrote:
speedfreak44 wrote:will the springs from the agx be good too? with gr-2s that is

I guess so providing its still in good shape meaning having the right tension etc...

well.. i agx shock and springs.. car lowered abt 2''and it rides better than stock real soft. Now i know the shocks aren't 100% so was thinking to get tokico illuminas

seanviper

Postby seanviper » April 8th, 2010, 9:55 am

seanviper wrote:
Vivek wrote:

ok, well i didnt see the megan racing brand in there, so does that mean its nt good?

and, when i said "small money", i meant they usually sell for bout 1700 a set brand new, but i gettin them for small money cuz they used and he jus wanna get rid of them

im guessin no one has experience with megan racing?

Vivek

Postby Vivek » April 8th, 2010, 12:20 pm

the only after market shock ive used was omni so i really cant say

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » April 9th, 2010, 1:04 am

seanviper wrote:
Vivek wrote:

im guessin no one has experience with megan racing?

Like i said before the Megan springs are great and I'm currently using them on my car for the last 3.5 years with KYB-GR2 Struts and I'm very happy and satisfied with them. But it all depends on what you looking for daily or strictly race or rally etc.

Return to “HONDA”