HELP!!!!! d15b crank shaft pulley problems

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Eems

HELP!!!!! d15b crank shaft pulley problems

Postby Eems » April 5th, 2010, 4:13 pm

yeah tuners, i have an eg8 civic and my crank shaft pulley recently jump out and the crank shaft was cracked...i changed my head and block and the pulley once again jumped out on me. anyone knows how to rectify this or who i can check to have this problem fixed?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 5th, 2010, 4:26 pm

u used the pulley from the FU engine or bad one ?

lighten pulley or oem ?

Eems

Postby Eems » April 5th, 2010, 4:34 pm

the pulley that come with the block. but the damn thing jump back out again.

Crazymofo

Postby Crazymofo » April 5th, 2010, 4:36 pm

Your mechanic probably didn't bolt on the pulley tightly enough. Check another mechanic:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=178621

Eems

Postby Eems » April 5th, 2010, 4:40 pm

well i was thinking of doing that and a man really tell me check jason so i think i'll check him out tomorrow. but d mechanic tell me he use de air gun to tighten it so me ain't know nah. but thanks a a lot crazymofo.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 5th, 2010, 5:28 pm

air gun he a sure quack

all these things have torque specs

out

check jason he go link you only home the other guy did not mess up the crank

Eems

Postby Eems » April 5th, 2010, 5:37 pm

i hope so too.

unciviclized

Postby unciviclized » April 6th, 2010, 12:09 pm

There's a pulley lock to use when tightening the pulley. the pulley thing is a virus the civics came with. Autonation sells it.

Postby crazybalhead » April 6th, 2010, 1:40 pm

If it jumped out again, surely there is a small crack by where the pulley key sits and the pulley is backing out again. Which means you will need a new crank or a next new engine. Sorry bout that.

:(

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » April 6th, 2010, 3:19 pm

ooohhhh................so that's why half the D15s in some FU places missing the pulley. always wondered why, even though its not bonded rubber like some toyotas and suzukis etc.

pinks

Postby pinks » April 6th, 2010, 9:04 pm

hoss..i had dis problem..it d friggin worst..had to change d whole engine cuz it mash up d crankshaft..make sure he take off all d belts and puts it on straight wen yuh doin it...da cud cause it to wobble an loosen..gudluck fixing it brother..i can honestly say i no wat yuh feelin

Vivek

Postby Vivek » April 6th, 2010, 9:10 pm

me too, the key gave way and mash up the teeth in the pulley that mounts to the crank. if u lucky enuff and ur crank still good, just get a light weight pulley. if not, see if u can find someone scrapping a d block and get the crank. i had a vtec engine, ended up buying a non vtec block and swapping it in. performed nicely still too.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 6th, 2010, 10:11 pm

^ worse advise a light weight crank pulley

light pulley can cause the crank to break .. honda made it with a damper for a reason

keep stock crank pulley other such as PS, alternator could go light

HondaR

Postby HondaR » April 13th, 2010, 11:37 pm

Had this same problem on my d15b hatch 6 yrs ago when mechanic changed timing belt.Didnt lock it down tight enough.Next thing pulley eat way.Good thing i dont used to drive it regular.Only damaged the pulley.Got that rebuilt and got a new key and was good to go and this time mechanic used locktite to secure it and good ever since.

Return to “HONDA”