HELP!!!!! d15b crank shaft pulley problems
Posted: April 5th, 2010, 4:13 pm
by Eems
yeah tuners, i have an eg8 civic and my crank shaft pulley recently jump out and the crank shaft was cracked...i changed my head and block and the pulley once again jumped out on me. anyone knows how to rectify this or who i can check to have this problem fixed?
Posted: April 5th, 2010, 4:26 pm
by red_dragon
u used the pulley from the FU engine or bad one ?
lighten pulley or oem ?
Posted: April 5th, 2010, 4:34 pm
by Eems
the pulley that come with the block. but the damn thing jump back out again.
Posted: April 5th, 2010, 4:36 pm
by Crazymofo
Your mechanic probably didn't bolt on the pulley tightly enough. Check another mechanic:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=178621
Posted: April 5th, 2010, 4:40 pm
by Eems
well i was thinking of doing that and a man really tell me check jason so i think i'll check him out tomorrow. but d mechanic tell me he use de air gun to tighten it so me ain't know nah. but thanks a a lot crazymofo.
Posted: April 5th, 2010, 5:28 pm
by red_dragon
air gun he a sure quack
all these things have torque specs
out
check jason he go link you only home the other guy did not mess up the crank
Posted: April 5th, 2010, 5:37 pm
by Eems
i hope so too.
Posted: April 6th, 2010, 12:09 pm
by unciviclized
There's a pulley lock to use when tightening the pulley. the pulley thing is a virus the civics came with. Autonation sells it.
Posted: April 6th, 2010, 1:40 pm
by crazybalhead
If it jumped out again, surely there is a small crack by where the pulley key sits and the pulley is backing out again. Which means you will need a new crank or a next new engine. Sorry bout that.

Posted: April 6th, 2010, 3:19 pm
by bigchief3679
ooohhhh................so that's why half the D15s in some FU places missing the pulley. always wondered why, even though its not bonded rubber like some toyotas and suzukis etc.
Posted: April 6th, 2010, 9:04 pm
by pinks
hoss..i had dis problem..it d friggin worst..had to change d whole engine cuz it mash up d crankshaft..make sure he take off all d belts and puts it on straight wen yuh doin it...da cud cause it to wobble an loosen..gudluck fixing it brother..i can honestly say i no wat yuh feelin
Posted: April 6th, 2010, 9:10 pm
by Vivek
me too, the key gave way and mash up the teeth in the pulley that mounts to the crank. if u lucky enuff and ur crank still good, just get a light weight pulley. if not, see if u can find someone scrapping a d block and get the crank. i had a vtec engine, ended up buying a non vtec block and swapping it in. performed nicely still too.
Posted: April 6th, 2010, 10:11 pm
by red_dragon
^ worse advise a light weight crank pulley
light pulley can cause the crank to break .. honda made it with a damper for a reason
keep stock crank pulley other such as PS, alternator could go light
Posted: April 13th, 2010, 11:37 pm
by HondaR
Had this same problem on my d15b hatch 6 yrs ago when mechanic changed timing belt.Didnt lock it down tight enough.Next thing pulley eat way.Good thing i dont used to drive it regular.Only damaged the pulley.Got that rebuilt and got a new key and was good to go and this time mechanic used locktite to secure it and good ever since.