Bad Gas Milage

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Vivek

Bad Gas Milage

Postby Vivek » April 16th, 2010, 6:12 pm

i have a d16y8 and the milage per tank is terrible. on avg im supposed to be getting 350-400 km a tank, but i gettin about 200km a tank. oh and the oil isnt leaking, but it's turning black like every few weeks if that counts. um, i havent checked the injectors yet but i sorta suspect that, the air filter is super clean. could it be the gas filter? did some research and found that it could be a too rich fuel air ratio so, what can i do?

Postby r3iXmann » April 16th, 2010, 6:19 pm

1. Oil is supposed to turn black..that means it wukkin :P
2. Do a general tuneup of the car and see if that helps (plugs,injectors, fuel filter etc)

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 16th, 2010, 8:33 pm

just out of curiosity, is the d16y8 in a coupe with the original gauge cluster? cause coupes come with MPH gauge clusters and that means 200 miles = 320km eh! just sayin cause my d16y8 got exact 200 miles to a tank as well.

Vivek

Postby Vivek » April 17th, 2010, 5:32 pm

the the mph cluster, that was my hope lol. but like i check the distance from waypoints n stuff, its wierd. ok like yesterday. full my tank in the afternoon in san juan, went to pos, the to chag, back to san juan, back to pos, and then chag. tank was like just under 3/4, went to the airport and back to chag, now im under half tank.

does the mileage read in miles in the coupe cluster though? cuz it seemed to be kilos to me :S

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 17th, 2010, 6:01 pm

does the speedo have mph and kmh.. the larger is the distance reading

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 18th, 2010, 2:30 am

Vivek wrote:the the mph cluster, that was my hope lol. but like i check the distance from waypoints n stuff, its wierd. ok like yesterday. full my tank in the afternoon in san juan, went to pos, the to chag, back to san juan, back to pos, and then chag. tank was like just under 3/4, went to the airport and back to chag, now im under half tank.

does the mileage read in miles in the coupe cluster though? cuz it seemed to be kilos to me :S

nah doh study it.. its in miles... 200 miles to a tank isnt very bad when u drivin a lil fast or with a/c a lot. once the big numbers on ur cluster are MPH, then the odometer is miles as well..

Vivek

Postby Vivek » April 18th, 2010, 9:13 pm

aha! relief lol ok :D lol, still need a tune tho. next thing, she lil opposed to crossing 100mph though

Return to “HONDA”