Headers for the B16a?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

JDM_GUY

Headers for the B16a?

Postby JDM_GUY » December 2nd, 2010, 2:01 pm

Looking into a header for the B16a, already dynoed and got 135HP with 98TQ bone stock with 3" custom short ram with K&N filter.

There a number of headers on the market. Looking to spend $2000 TT

choices are:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/JDM-4-1- ... 1e600ee636

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/OBX-HEAD ... 336220587f

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Megan-Ra ... 1c108ba912

High_Speed_Imports

Re: Headers for the B16a?

Postby High_Speed_Imports » December 2nd, 2010, 4:40 pm

When your ready give me a call, I sold each of them already can give you reviews

bonestock

Postby bonestock » December 2nd, 2010, 7:53 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:Looking into a header for the B16a, already dynoed and got 135HP with 98TQ bone stock with 3" custom short ram with K&N filter.

There a number of headers on the market. Looking to spend $2000 TT

choices are:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/JDM-4-1- ... 1e600ee636

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/OBX-HEAD ... 336220587f

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Megan-Ra ... 1c108ba912

Not sure of the prices, but this is what is recommended for B16As

http://sirspeed.info/main.php?load=mods..headers.php (good reading I find)

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 2nd, 2010, 11:07 pm

read some stuff

http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/tech/htup_0804_honda_header_tri_y_vs_4_into_1_dyno_test/index.html

http://www.importtuner.com/powerpages/0604_impp_2000_honda_civic_si/index.html
my 2cts
$2000 for a header .. gain 5-10 max

put a ad and get a B18c block
or add the $2k to the sale of your engine

a header is a good as the other parts in the engine

and if your short ram is pulling hot air .. loss of HP there also

when I had a stock b16 only mods I ever did was

port match S2k TB ,, with CAI
2 1/4 exhaust
and u can ask Jason how it performed

if nothing internal is changed .. external parts not gonna give you any big gains....

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » December 3rd, 2010, 3:05 am

We are now the Skunk2 dealers

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 3rd, 2010, 7:27 am

if u are going with ebay 4-1 headers with ur ride height u will hurt urself...

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » December 3rd, 2010, 9:20 am

speedfreak44, i thought about it and decided not to. I will get a 4-2-1 or a 4-2-2-1

ingalook

Postby ingalook » December 5th, 2010, 3:37 am

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 5th, 2010, 8:30 am

after market headers compared to using itr 98spec headers on b16, which is more worth it?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 5th, 2010, 10:42 am

^ Some say u loose low down with the B18 header on a B16

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 5th, 2010, 10:49 am

low down torque u meant?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 5th, 2010, 12:59 pm

^ correct
but never tried myself
2 reasons

the b - pipe is longer than a B16 and collector is bigger than a b16a

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 5th, 2010, 5:51 pm

we wont low torque on a b16 .. makes sense

recalled paz saying that ebay headers make the bess dyno charts for him

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 5th, 2010, 7:42 pm

^ yes it would

doh know bout Paz and his stuff

but remember different headers perform different with different part combos..

put down the entire build u thinkin bout and see what works bets

Is a B-series.. not much was untested.. why reinvent

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 5th, 2010, 7:52 pm

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 6th, 2010, 8:24 am

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » December 6th, 2010, 9:45 am

was looking into getting one of these headers. costing a little over 3500TT shiped:

http://honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=2434887

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 6th, 2010, 3:31 pm

red_dragon wrote:Speed also check
[url]
http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/tech ... mbers.html[/url]

for $2000 for just 2 digit increases.... boost that beyotch

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 6th, 2010, 3:34 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:was looking into getting one of these headers. costing a little over 3500TT shiped:

http://honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=2434887

for 3500tt you could slap in type r pistons... and u might still have change, or even a good ported flow head, and ebay headers might show much better gains

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » December 6th, 2010, 4:17 pm

But if I buy the header and then put the pistons and port the head i will get bigger gains.

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 6th, 2010, 4:24 pm

u looking to spend 9gs for a 30hp increase if so much?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 6th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Mo

what is your goal after you add a header.. cause this post going just like your D-series build

:deadhorse:

if u want more that 30 - B18c

less ..just give me the money u wanna spend

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 6th, 2010, 10:01 pm

0X i say b18c block 0X

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » December 7th, 2010, 11:02 am

red_dragon wrote:Mo

what is your goal after you add a header.. cause this post going just like your D-series build

:deadhorse:

if u want more that 30 - B18c

less ..just give me the money u wanna spend

if i give you the money what you giving me?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 7th, 2010, 6:38 pm

^ nada .. cause you wastin it any way

what we all try to say u not gonna get big gains check some of the links i posted here
and see the kinda coin peeps put out and the gains they got NA

note .. up to now no one locally can say they got 200 on a small budget
only 2 i kinda know of and they ended up going boost for the same price they spent NA

Postby r3iXmann » December 7th, 2010, 6:47 pm

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 8th, 2010, 6:42 am

got hytec repls on a old b20 build, 10hp 300us

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » December 8th, 2010, 9:13 am

Was told the hytec rep are not meant for b16a and I wouldn't gain any HP

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 8th, 2010, 9:44 am

the tri-y header is proven a greater gain... 20hp in some cases,
but all u keep saying is headers, u need to get a header, whether ebay or not and tune to achieve gain with whatever is added... makes no sense just looking for a header for internet based gains, need to work and tune with what u have.

Postby r3iXmann » December 8th, 2010, 11:12 am

r3iXmann wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=346375

instant 30whp, $4k more than what youd pay for a decent header

AND you can sell back your current head and block and offset the cost

Return to “HONDA”