Nology Plugs and Wires

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

bonestock

Nology Plugs and Wires

Postby bonestock » January 25th, 2011, 8:44 pm

Guys - anyone used or has experience with Nology? I'm looking at putting it into my auto B16A5. Need some feedback before I decide fully.

http://www.nology.com/silver.html

http://www.nology.com/hot.html

Thanks.

CD4Accord

Re: Nology Plugs and Wires

Postby CD4Accord » January 25th, 2011, 9:08 pm

How much power you pushing and why you "upgrading" your plugs and wires?

Unless you doing over 250hp, honestly the stock honda ignition system will do you nicely..
If you upgrading cause wires have to change, buy the blue NGK..

regards plugs, always stick with NGK or Denso and just adjust the heat rating to suit your build..

bonestock

Postby bonestock » January 25th, 2011, 9:56 pm

^great info.

actually i am more or less a stock B16A and nowhere close to 250 hp.

thanks for pointers man.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 25th, 2011, 10:53 pm

Lemme put it like this,
Around 240,000 KM i decided to change my original honda wires.. turns out they were still in superb condition but I did it anyway as I was doing some other mod work on the car etc...

If you want an excellent plug see if you can find the NGK G-Power selling in trinidad.. it shouldnt be expensive but will do all you ask of it...

Finally, stick to the spark plug specs in the owners manual.. Dont "try ah ting" as some like to do

Postby r3iXmann » January 26th, 2011, 7:41 am

CD4Accord wrote:How much power you pushing and why you "upgrading" your plugs and wires?

Unless you doing over 250hp, honestly the stock honda ignition system will do you nicely..
If you upgrading cause wires have to change, buy the blue NGK..

regards plugs, always stick with NGK or Denso and just adjust the heat rating to suit your build..

correct ^

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » January 26th, 2011, 10:00 am

Denso IK20 Iridium or regular copper ... do really matter , doh some say X plug makes X power

stock dizzy and ngk blue wires..made a few 9k rpm pulls and no problems (B16a)

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » January 26th, 2011, 5:55 pm

Nology Silver Tipped Spark Plugs increases the intensity of the spark in the chamber due to the fact that Silver is a better conductor of electricity and platinum or iridium...these are "hard" metals and as such it takes a longer time for the tip to wear.... so these are great for stock vehicles with long intervals between service... performance however is different...

I have Nology wires in my car but with NGK plugs, when I went on the dyno and changed to Nology plugs I made 3hp more on just plugs alone... Have the chart to prove it..

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » January 26th, 2011, 7:17 pm

^ but remember you comparing old plugs with new

not a fair comparison

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 26th, 2011, 9:25 pm

Oh crap man, i posted one big long scientific reply and it looks like it never went thru..
Lemme try again conscise version..

To racers: firstly, dynoing with used plugs vs new plugs is unfair as has been mentioned.
Secondly, 3hp on a dyno is almost nothing.. That is well within the margin of error for such things..

Concerning the use of silver as a spark plug tip material, while I agree that it is the best conductor out there, I also will say it has well known problems.. Firstly, it tends to oxidise and lose its finish (possible early fouling), therefore the heat and exposure within a combustion chamber wouldnt do any favours as compared to more chemically stable metals such as Platinum (PT) or Iridium (Ir)

Concerning the conductivity, I will agree that it will have the least resistance of all the metals mentioned, but this is not necessarily a benefit as resistance was never a problem on ignition systems..
This leads me to a comparison of density and therefore strength..
Silver, around 10.5 g per cm3
Copper about 8.5
Iridium ~ 22.5
Platinum 21.5

The advantage of increased density is increased hardness, which is the very reason that Ir and Pt plugs can have such small diameter tips and copper, nickel AND SILVER cannot..
So, while silver has less resistance, the use of a much larger (than IR or PT) spark tip will actually lead to a decreased concentration of spark, negating any possible advantages of less resistance in the first place.. As i mentioned before, resistance isnt a problem in such a high voltage system..

Finally, if silver was such a good idea, why dont NGK,Denso,Bosch,Champion etc, the biggest spark plug companies in the world bother to use it? By extension, why does NO OEM car come with silver plugs? Obviously they have done their R+D and know whats best and what isnt

So, in closing, to the OP, if you want to save some money, buy NGK G-Power, if you want to spend, buy the Iridium IX or Laser Platinium.. Im sure its less than the nology and is PROVEN quality and life...

In the end its your call...

bonestock

Postby bonestock » January 27th, 2011, 1:21 pm

^wow you could be a lawyer dude! lol

great great, fantastic info guys. thanks.

it does make you wonder why those BIG plug companies haven't touched silver plugs yet, hmmm. very interesting...

well i think i've made my mind up to try out the NGK G-Power...thx again 2nrsss

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 27th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Thanks for the compliments.. Definitely not a lawyer but a student of science for all of my life.....

When you find it, tell me how much the NGK G-Power is in trinidad.. Its only about $2.50 US each in the states, but you know they going to cut price on you in T'dad..
If it costs more than say $40 each, definitely look at spending the extra and going with iridium..

bonestock

Postby bonestock » January 27th, 2011, 6:03 pm

ok noted. i'll ask around - sheriff's / garvin's - thanks a mill!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 27th, 2011, 11:35 pm

Forget Garvins.. The plugs I mentioned are normal plugs you can get in ANY reputable parts place.. Definitely dont need to go to a high peformance shop for it, you will just be paying a premium..
Sheriff will most likely have it but then you have to deal with his attitude and the no credit cards policy...
Where you located? If in south, I usually tend to deal with Repuatuo marabella, if you up north Mathura's in St James will give you the best prices (ask them about their synthetic oil prices if you go in.. youd be amazed how much cheaper than everyone else)..

bonestock

Postby bonestock » January 28th, 2011, 8:52 am

serious? yeah i from south. which part repuauto is in mbella? contact #?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 28th, 2011, 11:58 am

Phonebook will answer both questions... I sure you have one......

bonestock

Postby bonestock » January 28th, 2011, 6:37 pm

lol, forgot about those!

thx dude

Return to “HONDA”