ES5 noise (rack) help
Posted: July 13th, 2011, 8:25 pm
by partsmaster
i have a 2005 ES5 civic and when i go over a bump i
hear a noise like if a bushing bad. I changed all cradle bushings
and front shocks. The noise is still there and everything else looks good.
the only problem is on the steering rack the left knuckle joint kina shakes with
your hand on the steering rack side. (i was told if i change the joint it won't solve this problem)
1. can this cause a noise when going over a bump?
2. how can i fix this problem?
Re: ES5 noise (rack) help
Posted: July 25th, 2011, 1:30 pm
by partsmaster
Posted: July 25th, 2011, 4:02 pm
by Damien
why if you change the joint the noise wouldnt stop?
Posted: July 25th, 2011, 5:18 pm
by partsmaster
the joint is shaking from inside the rack (a guy told me to check the slider in the rack. any ideas on that)
Posted: July 25th, 2011, 10:30 pm
by alexfos101
give GPS a call he have a solution apparently the es model has a problem with their racks..
Posted: July 31st, 2011, 7:32 pm
by partsmaster
I gave him a buzz and i got a link for his mechanic thanx
Posted: August 1st, 2011, 9:16 pm
by alexfos101
partsmaster wrote:I gave him a buzz and i got a link for his mechanic thanx
yea man no scene
Posted: August 4th, 2011, 1:14 am
by QG
what engine does the ES5 comes with?
Posted: August 4th, 2011, 8:09 am
by partsmaster
mine has a D16W7, it supposed to be more of a fuel efficient economy
type engine but it also performs very good

Posted: August 4th, 2011, 5:33 pm
by QG
Cool...
Posted: August 10th, 2011, 11:58 am
by mossman
Whats that metal thing between the engine and the radiator?
Posted: August 11th, 2011, 5:51 am
by partsmaster
This is a Vacuum Tank
What the Vacuum Tank does is enlarge the size of the Intake Manifold. By doing this, pressure inside the Manifold will increase (vacuum decrease) on the same degree of opening of the throttle body. With the change in pressure reading, the parameter in the Shift Pattern Map will be breach earlier, making the TCU upshifting or downshift earlier. This will give the driver 'early' power and torque.
thinking of selling the system because i does take it easy now with this car.
Posted: August 11th, 2011, 5:58 am
by Aaron 2NR
check tone in marabella....rack may need adjusting...this is a flaw with this model civic and crv
Posted: August 11th, 2011, 1:24 pm
by mossman
let me know when u ready to sell the setup partsmaster
Posted: September 29th, 2011, 6:55 pm
by AaronC
how much fuh d vacuum pump??
Posted: October 19th, 2011, 5:05 pm
by partsmaster
sorry for the late update but the problem was the slider guide in the steering rack.
got it changed by kazim for under 1k