DIY :B16A IACV Cleaning and Vacuum Leak Fix

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Vtec Vigilante

DIY :B16A IACV Cleaning and Vacuum Leak Fix

Postby Vtec Vigilante » February 13th, 2014, 9:10 am

Yesterday I installed a new ac fan in my civic. While the ac was on I heard a "hissing sound" coming from around the throttle body area. This is called a vacuum leak. Its known for giving individuals poor gas mileage and terrible idle problems so I decided to show you how it fixed the vacuum leak.

Note that you can use regular carb. cleaner to search for vacuum leaks while the car is running COLD. Do not do this on a hot engine otherwise you run the chance of burning yuh car down.

Tools needed :

12mm spanner or ratchet and socket
Gasket maker (Mega Grey).
Gasket paper. (this can be bought at the parts store)
'Exacto Blade'.(Sells for $15 at books stores)
Scissors
Chalk or water colours.(needed to make a template to go on gasket paper)
Cue tips. Yes alyuh reading right.
Carburetor cleaner. Any one will do. Gum Solve, CRC, Amsoil power foam, etc.
Bird-beak pliers
Screw drivers. Need to slacken the clamps on the hoses.
About an hour

Here we go !!!!
P1020510 (Custom).JPG
Open the bonnet and look to the back of the intake manifold you'll see the IACV. Using your 12mm spanner or ratchet and socket remove the bolts circled in white. Be sure to put the shorter bolt on the top and the longer one underneath.
P1020510 (Custom).JPG (55.83 KiB) Viewed 2423 times
P1020512 (Custom).JPG
Now you remove the two 12mm bolt you left with this. To remove the connections use your bird beak pliers and hand. Grip the pliers to the hose and turn with other hand. If you are having a hard time turning the valve use silicone spray to loosen the hose. The green clip unsnaps easily by hand.
P1020512 (Custom).JPG (57.37 KiB) Viewed 2423 times
P1010674 (Custom).JPG
Time to clean the valve using your carb cleaner. I used the Amsoil power foam because it loosen and dissolves the deposits quickly. Repeat process as necessary untill you remove most of the gunk.
P1010674 (Custom).JPG (56.19 KiB) Viewed 2423 times
P1010675 (Custom).JPG
While the valve is drying it's time to make a template of the "8" to prevent any more vacuum leaks.
P1010675 (Custom).JPG (43.94 KiB) Viewed 2423 times
P1010676 (Custom).JPG
Take your chalk or water colours and stroke evenly and lightly around the "8". Be carefull not to get any inside the valve holes. Now it can go on the gasket paper.
P1010676 (Custom).JPG (50.93 KiB) Viewed 2423 times
P1010679 (Custom).JPG
Once the template is printed on the paper you can now begin cutting. In my first attempt it did not came out clearly enough so I traced over the print lightly.
P1010679 (Custom).JPG (45.49 KiB) Viewed 2423 times
P1010680 (Custom).JPG
Using the gasket maker around the "8" carefully rest the gasket paper template on the valve and press moderately. This ensures both bonds well. Take yuh blade and swirl through the gasket paper. Invert the valve to prevent paper from entering the holes.
P1010680 (Custom).JPG (43.87 KiB) Viewed 2423 times
P1010681 (Custom).JPG
Final product. :D
P1010681 (Custom).JPG (49.94 KiB) Viewed 2423 times
Last edited by Vtec Vigilante on February 13th, 2014, 11:26 am, edited 2 times in total.

Vtec Vigilante

Re: DIY : IACV vacuum leak fix and cleaning

Postby Vtec Vigilante » February 13th, 2014, 9:12 am

fixed :oops:
Last edited by Vtec Vigilante on February 13th, 2014, 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

enigma

Postby enigma » February 13th, 2014, 10:49 am

IACV on the back of the manifold applies to certain models.

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » February 13th, 2014, 11:24 am

my bad...my engine is a B16A

enigma

Postby enigma » February 14th, 2014, 11:45 am

enigma wrote:IACV on the back of the manifold applies to certain models.

My mistake. Not a matter of models but years. When it was manufactured. I don't remember the exact dates but I will post it as soon as I find it.

Return to “HONDA”