Page 1 of 2

Oil Catch can between PCV and intake.

Posted: November 7th, 2005, 6:06 pm
by ZORT
Get one ... talk done. Even for a stock engine. This is not even is discussion about where to put it or where you should tap.

Basically leave everything else stock and Put one between the PCV and intake manifold.

Posted: November 7th, 2005, 7:23 pm
by Silvermike
And where would one get an oil catchment can to buy?

Posted: November 9th, 2005, 3:55 pm
by ALLMOTOR
Silvermike wrote:And where would one get an oil catchment can to buy?

Check Garvin

Posted: November 9th, 2005, 4:08 pm
by Silvermike
who is this garvin?... have a #?

Posted: November 9th, 2005, 7:16 pm
by HondaB20B
i made mine!!! Use the chrome looking power steering bottle and buy some S/S brillo pads (pot scrubs) and fill the bottle and jus hook up de ting. every 2/3 wks i emty it. before i put it in i used to get some serious detonation. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: . i think its on this same forum on D.I.Y stuff.

Posted: November 9th, 2005, 7:33 pm
by ZORT
made mine!!! Use the chrome looking power steering bottle and buy some S/S brillo pads (pot scrubs)

Same thing i did with a crome water over flow bottle. Question thought if the line going into the bottle becomes submerged in oil do you think that will be a problem.. or it will bubble the fumes?

Posted: November 9th, 2005, 8:01 pm
by HondaB20B
remember that the hose that comes from the block goes on the lover section of the can and the other hose exits from the top going to the PCV and then to the intake. if you realy pack it tight with the brillo only fumes will be coming out.

Posted: November 9th, 2005, 11:44 pm
by X2
Hondab20b... us still running a PCV valve with that setup ?

I am getting oil in meh mixture so I need to put on in too....

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 12:45 am
by De Dragon
Same thing i did with a crome water over flow bottle.

Where selling these?

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 8:06 am
by ZORT
Ok this is now a discussion.LOL ... X2 wouldn't the pcv not really make a difference as it is just a one way valve?

Also b20 what i meant is say the bottom of the catch can get really full and the hose is now blocked by oil? i fully understand that fumes will come up throught the top hose.

dragon, i got mine at auto villiage.

Guys you should have seen my manifold after installing one. basically next to no gunk build up and for the boosted and high revers no oil on the intake manifold gasket or ports..

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 8:21 am
by dry
Post some pics of the install nah. You and HondaB20ABCD... lets see what you made, and how you installed it.

Just for reference, here's the original thread: http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=36036

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 1:19 pm
by Val
why would u want to put an oil catch between the pcv and the intake? pardon my ignorance

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 1:49 pm
by X2
vfp... the pcv system vents gases from the crankcase to the intake manifold to be burnt in combustion (the gasses are toxic/poisonous and also cause cancer) On some cars (very rarely on stock cars) the crankcase pressure can build up so much that the pressure actually spits gas AND oil out to the manifold... oil in the mixture of EFI cars will muck up all kinds of things as well as increase the chances of detonation.... a catch can inbetwen the mani and PCV will trap the small amounts of oil, but still allow the toxic gasses to go the manifold for combustion.

ZORT wrote:Ok this is now a discussion.LOL ... X2 wouldn't the pcv not really make a difference as it is just a one way valve?

Well the presence of the PCV valve does restrict the system somewhat as it's not always open or fully open. I've run a catch can system before on that completely eliminated the PCV valve... adn it works fine. Some ppl might even argue that it frees up the crankcase a bit (I'm on of them).... which is why I'd use a system w/o the PCV on a weekend racer or full out race car (if you're not investing in crankcase evacuation system. BUT... there is a downside to running no PCV valve and the big downside is the possibility of getting moisture in the oiling system. Since the PCV is a one way valve, it naturally can stop moisture from entering the crankcase... and hooking up your emissions system to a catch can does increase the chances (Increases A LOT) of moisture making it all the way to the PCV box....

If u have no PCV... the moisture gets in and over time, this could affect your bearings and seals !

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 1:58 pm
by Val
fooorrkkk..... and to think I had no pcv for a while not knowing what it was till I checked andy!!!

but as my car is stock X2, and it has a brand new PCV valve with the short ram intake piping, I should not need the oil catch can right?? (I hope)

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 2:02 pm
by X2
No, you SHOULDN'T need one on a stock car... but all engine's are different, so you should periodically check your PCV system to ensure it's functioning properly.... as the valves can go bad rather quickly...especially if you drive hard often.

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 2:09 pm
by Val
especially if you drive hard often.

I drive hard X2, but it's a weekend car, so it's not driven often. How do I check the system?, I really doh want to pull out the hose while the car on and smell carcinogenic gases.

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 2:19 pm
by Jimbo
take it out and shake it when the car is off :mrgreen:
If it rattles then toss it.

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 2:24 pm
by Val
alright thanks, but it is a new PCV, I assuming it should last for a while

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 2:47 pm
by X2
I would check up on the valve every 10-12k miles. The easiest way to check is pull the hose going to the manifold and stick a q tip in there... unfortunately you will almost always find a small mist of oil there from the gases settling, so it's kinda difficult to discern.

Shaking the valve itself in your hand as Jimbo suggest is the best way... but unless you have a top mounted PCV valve like on the b18b... it'll be hard to get to as the valve is often behind the engine block and hard to reach from above.

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 2:50 pm
by Val
it's a top mounted PCV valve X2, it's on the H22A, so I'll shake and bake I guess.

Thanks very much for the info guys.

Posted: November 10th, 2005, 9:18 pm
by De Dragon
For the non DIYers, how much would one of these cost?

Posted: November 11th, 2005, 8:20 am
by ZORT
Well the presence of the PCV valve does restrict the system somewhat as it's not always open or fully open. I've run a catch can system before on that completely eliminated the PCV valve... adn it works fine. Some ppl might even argue that it frees up the crankcase a bit (I'm on of them).... which is why I'd use a system w/o the PCV on a weekend racer or full out race car (if you're not investing in crankcase evacuation system. BUT... there is a downside to running no PCV valve and the big downside is the possibility of getting moisture in the oiling system. Since the PCV is a one way valve, it naturally can stop moisture from entering the crankcase... and hooking up your emissions system to a catch can does increase the chances (Increases A LOT) of moisture making it all the way to the PCV box....

If u have no PCV... the moisture gets in and over time, this could affect your bearings and seals !

Good stuff X2..

Posted: November 11th, 2005, 9:36 am
by Silvermike
i heard instead of packing the catch can... insert a fatter piece if tubing, which is packed just before the catch can... this way ull be able to see the amount of oil in the can and empty it easier.

Posted: November 11th, 2005, 9:48 am
by Val
u heard? ppl, is this more appropriate for high compression ratios and turbo engines where octane is more crucial?

Posted: November 11th, 2005, 12:32 pm
by X2
Silvermike wrote:i heard instead of packing the catch can... insert a fatter piece if tubing, which is packed just before the catch can... this way ull be able to see the amount of oil in the can and empty it easier.

I don't quite understand what ur saying to do here ?

As far as emptying the can... catch cans typically don't collect more than a small sno-cone cup's worth of oil between oil changes (approx 3k miles).

Yes, high compression and boosted or nitroused engines would be at the top off the list for a catch can setup... as they produce more dynamic compression and get more of the gas build up in the crankcase than normally aspirated, lower CR engines.

Posted: November 11th, 2005, 2:07 pm
by Val
i got 10:1, does that classify as high?

Posted: November 11th, 2005, 2:15 pm
by X2
I would say yes... but on cars that come with that stock... the PCV size is usually determined by the engineers... so the stock system should be able to handle it. Stock integras, SiR's, Celica GT-S's and the like come with as much as 10, 11, almost 12:1 compression, no catch can from factory... the black box PCV housing normally can handle the pressure. But nuffin is written in stone... :oops:

BTW.. dragon... replacing a PCV valve is REALLY easy on the list of things u can do yourself... consider doing it if you have a chance... it's easier than changing ur oil and less tiring than changing a tire... :wink:

Posted: November 11th, 2005, 2:25 pm
by Val
the PCV size is usually determined by the engineers... so the stock system should be able to handle it

that is what I was thinking X2, I leaving that engine stock, I trust Honda Engineers (being an engineer myself, I know the rigorous testing that these cars would have to go through during quality control). I just do not agree with the crankshaft turning in the same direction as the crankshaft pulley bolt slackening, I just think that's stupid for such high revving engines, ah well.

replacing a PCV valve is REALLY easy on the list of things u can do yourself

Yup that's right, simply pop out the old PCV valve (with a pliers, don't use too much force) and pull out the hose and stuff (in whatever order is most convenient lol) and pop in the new one and reconnect the hose.

Posted: November 11th, 2005, 5:50 pm
by HondaB20B
[quote="De Dragon"]For the non DIYers, how much would one of these cost?[/quote

the can = bout $125
hoses an h/clips = $75
beers = depends on how much you want to drink
doubles = depends again :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Posted: November 12th, 2005, 9:36 am
by De Dragon
BTW.. dragon... replacing a PCV valve is REALLY easy on the list of things u can do yourself... consider doing it if you have a chance... it's easier than changing ur oil and less tiring than changing a tire...

I was asking the price of a store bought catch can. HondaB me eh 'fraid dat :lol: