how to disable the heater catalytic sensor?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

kes_vtec

how to disable the heater catalytic sensor?

Postby kes_vtec » December 18th, 2005, 2:58 pm

i looking to run over the piping on the car, i looking to remove the heater in the catalytic, i am thinking that i just need to add some resistance in the line. Any one knows how much...

ALLMOTOR

Re: how to disable the heater catalytic sensor?

Postby ALLMOTOR » December 19th, 2005, 1:41 pm

kes_vtec wrote:i looking to run over the piping on the car, i looking to remove the heater in the catalytic, i am thinking that i just need to add some resistance in the line. Any one knows how much...

As soon as you find out,let me know.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » December 19th, 2005, 10:58 pm

Try a 4-10 ohm resistor.
(not definate, but worth it)
This is the resistance you supposed to get with the heated o2 sensor.

Postby X2 » December 20th, 2005, 3:14 pm

huh ?

r u trying to trick the 2ndary into seeing the proper ratio ?

Clerique

Postby Clerique » December 20th, 2005, 5:06 pm

^Pops its not a Seconday o2 he has. Some how our cars have just a heated sensor, not a Secondary o2.

Doh worry, he aint trickin' the seconday o2; none to trick.

Wait a sec, Kes ah doh even think yuh have to add a resistor, just weld in the bung for the sensor and screw it back in.

I have no cat and no exhaust light. (D15B Vtec OBDII)

Postby X2 » December 21st, 2005, 1:15 pm

I don''t quite understand what has to be done ? Is it that ur trying to make the ecu ''see'' a working heater on a broken O2 heater circuit ?

dry

Postby dry » December 21st, 2005, 1:24 pm

they're not talking about the rear o2 sensor x2. some cars have a wire going to the cat itself. on some cars it's a grounding strap to prevent the cat from rusting, in others, it's a sensor to tell the ecu when the cat is up to temp.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » December 21st, 2005, 2:47 pm

^What dry said!

Postby X2 » December 21st, 2005, 11:28 pm

A sensor to signal the ecu ?

Where is this on the 4 wire O2's ? 1 signal from O2 (+), 1 Negative for signal (-), 1 Power for heater (+), 1 ground for heater (-). Where's the extra wire Dry wrote about ?

I'm confused....

dry

Postby dry » December 21st, 2005, 11:30 pm

forget the o2 sensor. it's just a wire, totally separate from the o2 sensors. not related to the o2 circuitry... what o2 sensor? o2 who?

Clerique

Postby Clerique » December 21st, 2005, 11:40 pm

Ah find dry know lil too much bout honda.
Cross the floor nah, yuh aint go look too bad in ah AP1 yuh know :wink:
Last edited by Clerique on December 21st, 2005, 11:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dry

Postby dry » December 21st, 2005, 11:41 pm

know thine enemy... :twisted:

Clerique

Postby Clerique » December 21st, 2005, 11:44 pm

Oh ho, is like that!

*truly considering 'D project' now*
:twisted:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » December 22nd, 2005, 8:03 am

dry, im honoured that u think of honda as ure enemy.
i know ure scared on the inside... all u do is hide beihnd that turbo thats bigger then my engine all day long :mrgreen:

p.s. i ran into some problems with the setup... blew up the fmu and all kinda thing, then exams. but its sorted now, so ill check u over the holidays for the wideband.

Postby X2 » December 23rd, 2005, 9:45 am

And just reading a few words from Horsepwrjunkie.....

X2 wrote:I'm confused....

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 23rd, 2005, 3:58 pm

The hearter does not go to the ECU, but there is a light on the dash.
i will try the 10 ohm, weekend....

Clerique

Postby Clerique » December 23rd, 2005, 4:34 pm

I have that same light on the dash, but when I went below the car I aint see no sensor or wire. And is too much horras to trace back that light.

Where does that wire run kes?

Postby X2 » December 23rd, 2005, 6:06 pm

WHOA !!!

What light on the dash are u all referring to ?????

To my knowledge, there's no O2 or heater specific wire to the dash..... all yuh really confusing mankind here... :|

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 23rd, 2005, 9:18 pm

ok x2....
FORGET O2 this has nothing to do the AFR.....

on my CAT there is a heat sensor the reads the temp. of the CAT. if the sensor does not read the the temp it is set for , a red light show up on the dash, even if the sensor is in the piping under 1500 the light will still be on, till the temp comes up to what ever point is need to kill the light on the dash.

for ODB 0 and I uses, this wire does not go to our ECU, only in ODBII, so for us it does not put the ecu in limp mode
the wire is run to the dash, in your case i think the owner redid the piping and just cut off the sensor.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » December 23rd, 2005, 10:51 pm

what is the purpose of the sensor? does it serve as a measure of AFR?

Postby X2 » December 23rd, 2005, 11:15 pm

kes_vtec wrote:ok x2....
FORGET O2 this has nothing to do the AFR.....

on my CAT there is a heat sensor the reads the temp. of the CAT. if the sensor does not read the the temp it is set for , a red light show up on the dash, even if the sensor is in the piping under 1500 the light will still be on, till the temp comes up to what ever point is need to kill the light on the dash.

for ODB 0 and I uses, this wire does not go to our ECU, only in ODBII, so for us it does not put the ecu in limp mode
the wire is run to the dash, in your case i think the owner redid the piping and just cut off the sensor.

1500 deg ? Is a furnace yuh have under the hood or wha ? :lol:

This might be one of those obscure jdm things for early obd1's I've never seen or heard of this on a obd 1 car otherwise. :idea:

Clerique

Postby Clerique » December 24th, 2005, 1:13 am

Ok here, we go...
This is a 1996 Civic Vi with 3stage SOHC VTEC w/OBDII ECU (RORO vehicle)
The 1st pic shows a test pipe with the Heated sensor inplace, this sensor was originally BEFORE the Catalytic converter.

This next pic is when I installed some new headers but the previous header installation was a custom thing so I was left with this gap in the exaust (Muffler shop fix that in two two's).

Because of this gap this light on the dash stayed on as I drove to the Muffler shop (Sound like a damn V8 :mrgreen: )

As soon as the gap was fixed, light came off.
The man at muffler shop didnt know how important the sensor was so he just welded in a bung and put it back.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 24th, 2005, 1:24 am

LOL... that is the dam thing self......... 0X

Return to “HONDA”