CD3 Accord

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Zalos

CD3 Accord

Postby Zalos » January 15th, 2021, 11:16 am

Hey tuners

Have a CD3 Accord that sitting for some years that I want to fix up.
The main relay and fuel pump bad so will have to change that before I can test start, F22B engine.

How hard is it to get parts for this model car and engine? Previous owner had stop driving it due to some overheating issue also...

CD4Accord

Re: CD3 Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 24th, 2021, 10:50 am

There are PLENTY of parts available for the F22B engine , especially online since this engine was sold in the US in most accords there.

You would need to determine if you have the F22B1 (VTEC) or F22B2 (non-VTEC) for some of your part specifics.
Most parts also are the same as the F20B2 which came with locally sold accords (like mine). You can always check out partsouq.com to get part numbers and compare them to what is on sale in the US on sites like RockAuto.,

What I will say, is with the right cooling, these engines are extremely reliable, but you will have to determine how much damage was done by the previous driver overheating it multiple times. In my case, repeat overheating was solved by changing head gasket, skimming/machining the head, new thermostat, rebuilding/rodding out the radiator, and making sure the electric fans are working. Also, please use coolant and not water, since water can damage the aluminium engine parts.

Final thoughts, having spent money modifying my engine and adding all the usual bolt ons (intake, header, exhaust etc) it is NOT worth the money. Just get the engine back to stock and enjoy a good engine for what it is.
If I could do my accord all over again, I WOULD upgrade the brakes like I did, but would probably leave the engine alone, or save up for a h22/F20B(bluetop) swap.

Good luck!!!

Zalos

Postby Zalos » February 25th, 2021, 2:39 pm

Thanks for the info!

Its a f22b vtec single-cam.
Will start on it soon, finishing up another project.
Also have to change the front driver balljoints and an axle seal....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 1st, 2021, 2:37 pm

The F22 Vtec is more desirable than the non-vtec since you get an extra 15hp, so you are off to a good start there.

Before you do any work or buy any parts, I would pull off the head (not too hard on these) and carry it to a good machine shop like Mustapha's in Chaguanas and get them to pressure test the head. Once you know the head is good, then you can see if it needs machining, then you can look into head gaset, thermostat etc etc.

Fel-pro gaskets are very good (from experience) and much cheaper than buying local, even with the online tax and skybox fees etc. Check www.rockauto.com for those.

Re ball joints, can never go wrong with genuine 555 if you sourcing local.

good luck

Zalos

Postby Zalos » March 2nd, 2021, 8:46 am

Was thinking to compression check the engine 1st before anything else.

Suspension stuff better to import than get local?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 2nd, 2021, 2:06 pm

Compression check doesn't always show up head gasket problems. Mine compression tested fine, but the head gasket was allowing coolant to leak into the combustion chamber, and leading to overheating.

Either way, it is a start if the price is reasonable.

Re suspension, up to you, but I have had very good experiences with 555 parts and Tokico shocks. The KYB shocks they sell locally are rubbish compared to the tokico.
Re the suspension bushings, I changed all of mine to polyurethane (Prothane Black) and have no regrets about doing it, but I had to order that online.

Whatever you do, get a proper allignment place to handle the final alignment after fixing the suspension. The CD accord has a surprisingly advanced double wishbone fully independent suspension set up that requires people who know what they are doing to set it right. Mileage Mack is excellent for this. Get the suspension sorted and it is one of the best handling "regular" cars you will ever drive.

Final advice, keep the accord on 15" rims. it'll accelerate faster, and will ride better than people who upgrade it to 16 or 17"

Zalos

Postby Zalos » March 2nd, 2021, 2:35 pm

You know plenty!
I have a compression test kit already.

Will update on what I find

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 2nd, 2021, 2:55 pm

I eh know plenty na. I just know about this specific car because we have one for 25 years and it is still going strong, original engine after 350,000km. At some point i've worked on almost every part of the vehicle, so from experience I have a good idea of what the vehicle needs to keep going.

If you have the rear disc brakes on yours, you get lucky! I had to convert my rear to disc from drum. Was a nice upgrade but plenty work, and I sure those parts harder to find now than when I did it.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » March 3rd, 2021, 8:23 am

Think the rear is drums...
Have a civic with drums, they dont lockup as well as the disk brakes on my nze
plus I've taken them down to adjust countless times already

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 3rd, 2021, 11:42 am

The rear drums are fine inno, it is just that I got the whole rear set up for mine for about $800 in the bamboo at the time if I remember (2011) with good rotors and pads included. As a matter of fact, it is still using the same rotors 10 years later even though I had bought new ones for it.

Anyhow, let me know how it goes. I haven't been active on tuner much over the past few years, but I'm interested on how this goes for you with the accord. Hope to see it up and running again.

Oh, if when you finally finish your engine work you are not getting spark, check your ground connections (battery to body, engine to chassis) before you buy a new distributor or anything like that. I get take a few times with that before.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » March 9th, 2021, 3:57 pm

I see a cd5 in the scrapyard by me. F22b vtec with rear discs

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 9th, 2021, 6:49 pm

If you decide to do the rear disc swap I could offer you some advice for it. Did mine in 2011

It pairs up well with working on your fuel pump, cause you have to take out the rear seats and all to change the handbrake cable.

Can find out the price of some scrapyard parts for me? Will PM you

Zalos

Postby Zalos » March 9th, 2021, 6:55 pm

to me for the fuel pump i have to drop the tank, its not under the seat :/

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 9th, 2021, 8:00 pm

You don't HAVE to drop the tank if I honest, you can do it like this fella https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1mq-w62O-KM

Anyhow, if the car been parked for a while might be best to clean out the tank anyway

Zalos

Postby Zalos » March 21st, 2021, 2:14 pm

I get 30 40 50 120 psi from compression test :shock:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 26th, 2021, 12:41 pm

Buh wah de jail. That is a major disparity between all, not to mention being below spec in all cylinders

from haynes manual (found online for f22 engines)

Std 178 psi
Min 135 psi
Max variation between cylinders 28psi

Looks like you have some engine work to do if you want it run properly. Could be as simple as head gasket, but could easily be valve seals bleeding pressure, rings, or worse, a cracked head etc.

Up to you your next move, but the engine parts themselves cheap, but the time and headache of chasing problem is pressure. Sometimes easier just to pull down everything and change all the service parts.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » March 28th, 2021, 2:07 pm

Yea studying the time needed to chase problems, I might get a f22b complete for 4500

Tried a wet compression test yesterday
Got 50 120 90 50

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 29th, 2021, 12:50 pm

Zalos wrote:Yea studying the time needed to chase problems, I might get a f22b complete for 4500

Tried a wet compression test yesterday
Got 50 120 90 50

Sounding kinda steep for a F22 to be honest, but i am comparing to prices from 10 or 12 years ago, been so long since I been looking at all.

It would be interesting to hear the price of a f20b (DOHC) or h22 to compare.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » March 29th, 2021, 12:52 pm

I've heard a F20b is 9-10k and a h22a is 15k

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 9th, 2021, 4:16 pm

Didn't realise they were so expensive now yes. presha! Well man, keep us posted on how things going with the accord

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 7th, 2021, 11:13 am

The head gasket for the F20/F22 is on clearance at rockato now (Fel-Pro brand, which is the one I'm using)

https://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/hon ... asket,5412

Good price, about 1/5 the usual price. I would order from them and skybox it in and send in any other obvious parts you might need

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 22nd, 2021, 11:54 am

Just a hail out to see how things going with the accord

Zalos

Postby Zalos » July 27th, 2021, 11:14 am

I now notice this

Got the scrap car since April but mechanic rel running me around to do the swap.
Got another mechanic this week, so hopefully by next week should be starting

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 27th, 2021, 6:07 pm

Sounding good. Hope you gyehtru soon and have it running happily on the road

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 27th, 2021, 6:10 pm

Sounding good. Hope you gyehtru soon and have it running happily on the road

Zalos

Postby Zalos » July 28th, 2021, 1:19 pm

Yea, mechanic took them yesterday. Say by next week so.
Will let you know how it goes

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 5th, 2021, 2:31 pm

Yeah man, glad to hear you getting through. Post pics when you done!

Zalos

Postby Zalos » August 6th, 2021, 2:58 pm

So it start today
and the timing belt buss...

Zalos

Postby Zalos » August 17th, 2021, 11:51 am

Running

Just the master cylinder to fixup. The CD5 cylinder bolt pattern different, so had to swap the booster too. And then the brakes lines for that is a 10+12, original was 10+10....

Rad Fan also have to check, intermittent
And I find I getting a low idle...

Zalos

Postby Zalos » August 28th, 2021, 10:31 am

Mechanic find the rear disc rotors thin so dont want to swap...

Also cuts off when hot, might need a distributor

Return to “HONDA”