so all this talk about k20 swap etc

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

so all this talk about k20 swap etc

Postby SR » February 23rd, 2006, 9:01 am

has anyone built a b16a properly as yet???

good set of cams valves springs etc and some head work
re chipped ecu to properly map for the cams

lets compare the cost of doing thios as opposed to the cost of building a frank or doing a k20 swap

Postby crazybalhead » February 23rd, 2006, 11:17 am

Well SR, I think that is what Ryan did before the K20.

B16B with Toda spec 3 cams and standalone management
then the B18 and then the K20.

I dunno if he tune the sheit out of the B16 though, I doubt it.

Postby SR » February 23rd, 2006, 11:21 am

i know ryan went this way before but i am not sure if it ever got tuned before he did the k20 swap

i guess no one else has done it before on this forum

Postby X2 » February 23rd, 2006, 11:23 am

SR... why u doh build your own (on paper) and see where u come to ! 0X

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 23rd, 2006, 1:49 pm

lol, i wish i had money... i do th most with what i have... which isnt much.

just wait awhile

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 23rd, 2006, 3:02 pm

Silvermike wrote:lol, i wish i had money... i do th most with what i have... which isnt much.

just wait awhile

ent you have some family called JACKSON :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby X2 » February 23rd, 2006, 3:34 pm

BTW... I dunno details about Ryan's old setup, but I was told about some of the major parts and lemme say... there is NO WAY that engine was tuned the way it should have been.

Judging by his best runs and the parts list... he should have been at least 0.5 faster than he was with the b18 bottom end.

Postby crazybalhead » February 23rd, 2006, 3:43 pm

It was a work in progress.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 23rd, 2006, 3:50 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Silvermike wrote:lol, i wish i had money... i do th most with what i have... which isnt much.

just wait awhile

ent you have some family called JACKSON :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

yea, on uncle STFU side

Spyrogyra

Re: so all this talk about k20 swap etc

Postby Spyrogyra » February 23rd, 2006, 4:04 pm

SR wrote:has anyone built a b16a properly as yet???

good set of cams valves springs etc and some head work
re chipped ecu to properly map for the cams

lets compare the cost of doing thios as opposed to the cost of building a frank or doing a k20 swap

what you looking for, becasue that's the question you need to ask befo u build.

me personally I would go for a N/A setup focusing on the headflow and the strength/blalnce of the bottom end at high RPM becasue after spending $40,000 on building an engine to my specs, I don't want to have to replace it in a hurry.

Key thing to consider is that no matter how well you build, you have to run the car on 92 PON gas, this will limit many parts of the build, also at 9500 RPM the power stroke is affected becasue the piston is moving down the cylinder at the same speed the flame is, resulting in a loss of power in the power stroke.......this is all of course if you ONLY plan to use pump gas and this engine is going to spend it's life in a daily driver.

The K20 in my opinion is still a bit to expensive for most tuners to go freaking with. In addition to which the amount of research that has been done on the K engines cannot compare to the amount that's been done on the B series engines.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 23rd, 2006, 4:13 pm

^^^ as i said, the k is a new motor, let me hear you in 5 yrs from now.... :mrgreen:

Re: so all this talk about k20 swap etc

Postby X2 » February 23rd, 2006, 4:26 pm

Spyrogyra wrote:Key thing to consider is that no matter how well you build, you have to run the car on 92 PON gas,

BAHAWHAWHAWHHAWHAWHAWH...

He said 92 PON...

ROTFL !!!

hehehe.... some of us currently believe it's more like 91PON eh...

X2.... still pinging on premium and stock timing.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 23rd, 2006, 4:53 pm

^ push more fuel....

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 23rd, 2006, 5:07 pm

more fuel = running rich = loosing power mike.. it aint FI! :wink:

Val

Postby Val » February 23rd, 2006, 7:39 pm

X2 --> Water Injection.

all motor

Postby all motor » February 23rd, 2006, 7:48 pm

bottomline...TALK is CHEAP.

Most so-called Honda tuners won't invest on the most hp per dollar i.e. camshafts and the rest of the valvetrain.

We should stop talking so much about K-Series since we haven't even began to explore the potential of the B.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 23rd, 2006, 8:06 pm

well said man........................................ :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 23rd, 2006, 8:45 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:more fuel = running rich = loosing power mike.. it aint FI! :wink:

too little fuel= predetonation=blown up engine

either
1. pull back timing, or
2. push more fuel

its always best to sacrifice the last 5-10hp for safety... especially so on tnt sh1t gas

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 23rd, 2006, 9:18 pm

some good Skunk2 cams...................... US $6-700 (Depending on which one)
skunk2 valve springs.............................US $250
skunk2 tit/retainers...............................US $150
skunk2 cam gears.................................US $200
US $1200-1300

den yuh onn!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby X2 » February 23rd, 2006, 9:24 pm

eH HEh... but cams don't make power like magic... u need to have them adjusted and tuned... carefully !

As all motor said... most people can't even fathom going beyond basic bolt ons (i/h/e)... so talking about changing cams and pistons and stuff is like screaming bloody murder. THose same ppl will fall down dead when u tell them how much a K swap REALLY costs. (downtime included) :wink:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 23rd, 2006, 9:34 pm

^^^ ah not in de ground yet :twisted:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 23rd, 2006, 9:35 pm

yeah but forget them...
we talk about the real honda who really into speed...
as b20 said...
skunk2 valve springs.............................US $250
skunk2 tit/retainers...............................US $150
and that is wah i does till every honda man is see when i tell them if i have to start work on ur hard start there...
and the first thing i does hear, wah hp i gettin from them add ons....
peace of mind, if u ever mis-shift and hit a 9000 to 10,000 rpm...
after you wah rise the rev limit to 8900...

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 23rd, 2006, 9:37 pm

they sell them thing for the d15? how much rpm i can pull on the d15b head stock?

hmm and are there cams for the d15b 3 stage vtec head?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 23rd, 2006, 9:38 pm

when i an kes worked out how much to go K, it was like :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

cause is engine, harness, gearbox, ECU, Hasport mounts and then conversion harness, then installation costs then extras................................... what, 30-35K (ball park)

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 23rd, 2006, 9:41 pm

there are NA and turbo cams for the d15, i let you know more when i try a set
stock, i can't recall, look @ my dyno chart in readers ride and see

Postby SR » February 24th, 2006, 2:27 pm

gimme a couple months and we will see what i can squeeze out of the b16a n/a

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 24th, 2006, 2:38 pm

Getting after market pistons, and or cams? good luck, please enlighten me when you tune, who tuned you and some dyno charts also a/f ratio's when your done.

btw what you gonna get tuned with? hondata? uberdata? crome? something else? does the person have atleast one running tuned car making some good power not pinging often if at all? ( doesn't need to be full race)

Clerique

Postby Clerique » February 24th, 2006, 6:00 pm

Silvermike wrote:they sell them thing for the d15? how much rpm i can pull on the d15b head stock?

hmm and are there cams for the d15b 3 stage vtec head?

Here's a tip: Any cam made for the D15/D16 vtec will work on the D15B 3 stage vtec (which is two stages by the way, not 3).
They both carry the same 20 lobe cam with the only difference being; the Vi's cam has 3 different cam lobe profiles for the intake lobes while the EG D15B has 2.

Heck, you can even take a cam from a regular D15B SOHC Vtec and try it. You will lose your lean burn 'econo' mode though (All 16 valves will open instead of the 12).
ZEX 59300 D16Y8 street/strip cam is a winner in these engines I hear.
I recently returned two stock D15B Vtec cams to Mr. Fixables, check him if you want one.

ZEX 59300 D16Y8 street/strip cam is a winner in these engines I hear.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 24th, 2006, 7:43 pm

^^^^ i hear that
i try to get my hands on the of their turbo cam...
d15 the underdog,

ALLMOTOR

Postby ALLMOTOR » February 25th, 2006, 12:10 am

Listen to me,don't question it (K20 all the way)...........

Return to “HONDA”