Ek3 Civic CVT tranny problem
Posted: August 23rd, 2006, 6:51 pm
by sprout
hey people. i need help, when i shift into reverse the rpm goes to 1500 and gear doed not engage. after about 30 seconds the drive (D) indecator on the dash blinks although the car is still in reverse. the car is a 98 civic LEV the engine is d15b with a CVT trans. any help or advice will be appreciated.
Posted: August 23rd, 2006, 8:06 pm
by r_4sr
Your tranny seems 2 be close 2 d end of his life.(TYPICAL CIVIC CVT TRANNY)..Anyway the blinking drive light means that your speed sensor needs replacing..If u decide 2 get another tranny u will get d sensor wit it..IMO do a conversion!
Posted: August 23rd, 2006, 8:46 pm
by sprout
tanks for the reply but i tinkin bout taking it to Auto Nation when they reopen to get it checked out. i replaced the speed sensor 4 months ago with an original one
Posted: August 24th, 2006, 8:24 am
by Xman
Blinking "D" light means the tranny is going into failsafe mode. It may result from speed sensor fault but the failsafe design is for any problem that may harm the tranny. I have seen blinking D lights result from lack of transmission fluid to the start clutch plate .............I would recommend Chaguanas Auto Supplies as they are tranny specialist.
Posted: August 24th, 2006, 12:45 pm
by 3stagevtec
Good info to keep in mind... Xman, "Blinking "D" light means the tranny is going into failsafe mode."
Posted: August 24th, 2006, 1:14 pm
by Xman
^^^In addition the tranny limits the car to not more than 10 mph.........since the tranny may be harmed by further driving. This slow driving is to allow you to get to a safe point to inspect the problem.
Once you switch off the ignition and re-start the failsafe is cleared and you can drive normal..........but if the problem still persist it will continue to go in failsafe mode again........
Posted: August 24th, 2006, 8:27 pm
by sprout
all yuh really know tings yes. i am grateful for d help so i will call 2morrow. but it drives in forward fine but no reverse at all. plus i have checked the fluid level and it is fine (new Honda Z1 fluid).
Posted: April 15th, 2010, 5:23 am
by jaakkoph
Hello. I am encountering the very exact problem. I know it has been a couple of years back, but can you please let me know what the problem was and what you did to fix it? What were the parts replaced as well....
Thanks
Posted: April 16th, 2010, 12:49 am
by sprout
Aye Jaakkoph
sold d car now but the problem was a malfunctioning pressure solenoid inside the cvt. took it by Jai in Aranguez and he repaired it no problem. also the blinking "D" light means different things. if your car is OBD1 then you need to jump pins (do not try if not sure which pins to jump) to read the codes or if OBD2 then scan it and it will tell you exactly what the problem is.
Posted: April 16th, 2010, 6:38 am
by jaakkoph
thanks, sprout. it helps. so at least i know now that the problem is with the tranny itself and not with something else (ie. loose wires, tranny box, etc.).
Posted: April 19th, 2010, 11:33 pm
by Richard Lakhan
USE D CORRECT HONDA CVT TRANSMISSION FLUID..MAY SOUND STUPID BUT IT DID WORK.
Posted: April 21st, 2010, 2:32 pm
by apool69
CVT transmission 4 sale 4 a honda civic (d15b) it works very good had it in my car ( i went gearbox ) please pm or call 620-9041 (asking $2000 4 it)
Posted: April 21st, 2010, 7:03 pm
by Richard Lakhan
huh i hav d engine and cvt tranny to for dat same price....7782598
Posted: April 22nd, 2010, 12:38 am
by Country_Bookie
sprout,
Where this Jai fella in aranguez located? I've had the blinking D light problem for a while now since I replaced a tranny. Everything else works normal tho.
Posted: May 4th, 2010, 7:34 am
by Turbomk2
Hey guys . Is the Honda Multi matic a Cvt Transmission.. Also what Oil is recomended ???
Thanx much.

Re: Ek3 Civic CVT tranny problem
Posted: July 11th, 2010, 1:36 pm
by lmakaveli
yes the multimatic is a cvt. the recommended fluid to use is the original honda cvt transmission fluid
Posted: July 11th, 2010, 1:41 pm
by lmakaveli
Turbomk2, yes the multimatic is a cvt. the recommended fluid to use is the original honda cvt transmission fluid
Sprout, which part in Aranguez dis Jai fella located?
Posted: July 11th, 2010, 1:52 pm
by bigchief3679
Jai is at JENTON transmissions on the aranguez main road about four blocks before reaching the highway on the right.
Posted: May 26th, 2012, 11:02 am
by richEY
yo fella first your transmittion is going i had that same problem . if you want your transmittion to work in top condition this is what you have to do put a quater bottle of brakes fluid in the transmittion and have it running for 2 weeks what this does it swellls the rubbers in the transmittion and then you change oil regular.If you DRIVE light is blinking its the body trottle because the body throttle sends the signal to the transmittion if you want more info call 745-2777. good luck.
Posted: May 26th, 2012, 10:57 pm
by enigma
richEY wrote:yo fella first your transmittion is going i had that same problem . if you want your transmittion to work in top condition this is what you have to do put a quater bottle of brakes fluid in the transmittion and have it running for 2 weeks what this does it swellls the rubbers in the transmittion and then you change oil regular.If you DRIVE light is blinking its the body trottle because the body throttle sends the signal to the transmittion if you want more info call 745-2777. good luck.
Umm....hoss, yuh notice the date on the posts?

Posted: May 27th, 2012, 12:46 am
by S_2NR
richEY wrote:yo fella first your transmittion is going i had that same problem . if you want your transmittion to work in top condition this is what you have to do put a quater bottle of brakes fluid in the transmittion and have it running for 2 weeks what this does it swellls the rubbers in the transmittion and then you change oil regular.If you DRIVE light is blinking its the body trottle because the body throttle sends the signal to the transmittion if you want more info call 745-2777. good luck.
put brake fluid wey
and yeah this thread is old
Posted: August 11th, 2012, 10:01 am
by jude
brake fluid?anybody haveany other thoughts on this?would this work for a non cvt transmission?