oversized piston rings

carfreak

oversized piston rings

Postby carfreak » November 6th, 2009, 9:01 pm

Yeah fellas i saw dis on statement on d website here an it state dat for the engine build d owner used oversized piston rings. he say dat reason for Over Sized rings is when they break in they will wear back to oem standard size.

daz tru ent i mean i doh no much abt engine rebuilding (which i am learning abt currently)

Postby brams112 » November 6th, 2009, 9:19 pm

sounds like crap to me :P how that fitting on the pistons?

neoise

Postby neoise » November 6th, 2009, 9:47 pm

We used oversized rings when the block had slight wear and a ridge that was honed out. The rings were filed back down to achieve the required clearance in the bore whilst on the piston. This was done to ekkk out some more life out of the block before having to spend money to bore out to a bigger size etc. Old time short cut nah :oops:

Postby wagonrunner » November 6th, 2009, 9:51 pm

brams112 wrote:sounds like crap to me :P how that fitting on the pistons?

[when a face palm just not gonna facking cut it] sigh [/when a face palm just not gonna facking cut it]

Cylinder walls wear over time, so spec rings may not seal properly.
oversized rings help seal better.

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » November 7th, 2009, 9:11 pm

neoise wrote:We used oversized rings when the block had slight wear and a ridge that was honed out. The rings were filed back down to achieve the required clearance in the bore whilst on the piston. This was done to ekkk out some more life out of the block before having to spend money to bore out to a bigger size etc. Old time short cut nah :oops:

or resleeve it im currently faced with this decision

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 15th, 2009, 7:08 am

You still have to hone the cylinders before using oversized rings...and buy a new (EXPENSIVE) gasket kit.
oversized rings (with "standard" pistons) might sound like a cheap fix...
until you have to deal with "piston slap", when cylinder bore wear gets worse, (sooner rather than later.)
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dwRC7qyC9h8&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Oversized rings also tend to suffer from "ring flutter" more so than if they were correctly sized.
You save on the "rebuild" (for awhile)... but spend MUCH more on OIL!
BTW when the 2nd rebuild happens (pretty soon) you have to buy a gasket overhaul kit...AGAIN!

IMHO if you are keeping the car, it's better to get a small bank loan (18-24 months?) and do it right the first time.
More economical (in $$$...and OIL CONSUMPTION) in the long run.

Link--> Fixes for Oil Use and Piston Slap.

My $0.02¢

Wizard

Postby Wizard » November 15th, 2009, 7:31 pm

sanctifier has the answer there

but the original thread post about wearing to factory size is absolutely wrong you cant wear the cylinder walls to get smaller lol

Rayden6

Re: oversized piston rings

Postby Rayden6 » December 10th, 2024, 8:50 pm

Anybody knows the Qg15 cylinder head and cam torque specs?