WTK: Suspension Parts Corolla Altis

Injected_1

WTK: Suspension Parts Corolla Altis

Postby Injected_1 » April 19th, 2025, 10:38 am

Basically I have access to a 1NZE-121R corolla altis, but it due for suspension change (and I eh joking when I say DUE, i talking about engine mounts, bushings/bearings and shocks). Right now what I seem to get is that:
third party parts nowhere near as durable or reliable as the Toyota Original.

But right now I just don't have that kind of change to put out. Nor do I think I will get to build up that change soon.

So I trying to pull on the forum experience with the third party parts market from the general autosupply parts sellers. I have to drive on some particulary wavy/patchy roads at least 80kph regularly. And even some particularly bumpy roads where is like a game just trying to choose the LEAST bumpy path (gosh boy, just thinking about it make me sick with Trinidad roads yes). Like how much life I could really get out of these third party parts with these general driving conditions. Allyuh recommend any particular brands to check or what to look out for?

If possible and I could squeeze my living to maybe get some decent coilovers to smoothe out some of these bumpy roads. I ain't a racer, but is not like I can't drive fast. I looking for a balance between softening those bumps without being all wobbly (which I suppose the stock shocks would have done siggghhh.... :( ). But any feedback would be welcome at this point.

Tired Driver...

kamakazi

Re: WTK: Suspension Parts Corolla Altis

Postby kamakazi » April 20th, 2025, 4:35 pm

Note: I don't have this vehicle and this is just general information for Jap vehicles

555 for most suspension/steering components

Kyb(a bit stiff), Monroe(a bit soft), tokico(might be a bit more expensive) for shock absorbers.

Almost all aftermarket rubber bumpstops and dust boots(shock buffer) will fail in 6 months.

If money is tight you don't mind a little more NVH, you can clean and fill the voids of engine mounts, partially or fully, with window urethane sealant or silicone sealant.

Get the tallest tyres you can fit without touching or rubbing (more rubber between rim and road; you are going to sacrifice steering response).

Injected_1

Postby Injected_1 » April 24th, 2025, 9:19 pm

Thanks for the feedback kamikazi. I was real bust so didn't get the time to respond.

Noted about the shocks. Have heard the name tokico but didn't see them pop up that much when i was trying to search. I generally seeing the Munroe shocks popping up.

About the bumpstops and etc. yuh real depress mih there yes.... almost break mih.... wuh the hell 6 months going to do? How they successful selling those aftermarket parts if they only last so short?

As for the taller tyres I honestly don't think I have that much play to try that. I fairly positive I will end up rubbing with anything bigger. I know the same tyre dimensions can come in different stiffness based on what I've read. You have any recommendations concerning that?

I ent think I will try that window sealant you talking about. I feel that will basically be like cheese compared to the aftermarket rubbers in general.

Either way I appreciate the feedback. At least I have a starting point. On a sidenote the third party replacement gaskets and thing does be good, or same short life you call out for the rubbers? Thanks again.

kamakazi wrote:Note: I don't have this vehicle and this is just general information for Jap vehicles

555 for most suspension/steering components

Kyb(a bit stiff), Monroe(a bit soft), tokico(might be a bit more expensive) for shock absorbers.

Almost all aftermarket rubber bumpstops and dust boots(shock buffer) will fail in 6 months.

If money is tight you don't mind a little more NVH, you can clean and fill the voids of engine mounts, partially or fully, with window urethane sealant or silicone sealant.

Get the tallest tyres you can fit without touching or rubbing (more rubber between rim and road; you are going to sacrifice steering response).

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 25th, 2025, 11:05 pm

Just for clarification... When I say the shock buffers fail, the acordian part normally breaks away from the bumpstop part in a very short space of time.

Gaskets are generally decent once installed correctly. ajusa is a good aftermarket brand.

Sports tyres tend to have stiffer sidewalls than your all season or Eco tyres and generally ride worse on our less than smooth roads.