Looking to go diesel =)

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2008, 10:44 am

cant a gearbox from another similar engine fit up on these?

did you ask any1 from in de bamboo bout if that can be done?

I honestly havnet seen any of the engines with gearbox around so I dont kno if it hav such.......

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 20th, 2008, 11:26 am

did you ask any1 from in de bamboo bout if that can be done?

i was on d phone jed...

I honestly havnet seen any of the engines with gearbox around so I dont kno if it hav such.......

:evil: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :evil:

toyocorolla

Postby toyocorolla » February 20th, 2008, 11:41 am

one question abt diesel engines, why is it so blasted expensive to convert.

toyocorolla

Postby toyocorolla » February 20th, 2008, 11:41 am

one question abt diesel engines, why is it so blasted expensive to convert.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 20th, 2008, 11:59 am

toyocorolla wrote:one question abt diesel engines, why is it so blasted expensive to convert.
it is?
all i cud think of is yuh hadda:

clean out gas tank
probably change pump
might have to change exhaust system

anything else?

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2008, 12:01 pm

toyocorolla wrote:one question abt diesel engines, why is it so blasted expensive to convert.

and maintain :wink:

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2008, 12:03 pm

well if is stick shift yuh want - consider one of dem mazda bt 50 or b2500 engine then, yuh gettin turbo and sure tuh get gearbox fuh dat :twisted:

I hope yuh hav the cash..........

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 20th, 2008, 12:09 pm

d BT-50 does ony reach 5000rpm... 4500 redline :sick:
and dat forkin engine go be heavy

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2008, 12:12 pm

I'm assuming yuh never ride in one :roll:

try & run one ah dem on de highway with yuh charmant nah, if yuh cetch him I buy the engine for you !!! CASH!!! :twisted:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 20th, 2008, 12:17 pm

I'm assuming yuh never ride in one

My father owns one... that's how I know.

try & run one ah dem on de highway

I hit 175 in it...

if yuh cetch him I buy the engine for you !!! CASH!!!

den ah ketch mehself an slow down... yuh owe meh ah engine

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2008, 12:26 pm

doh make meh spam yuh thread eh.........

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 20th, 2008, 1:22 pm

slacker_jack wrote::lol: :lol: :lol:

doh make meh spam yuh thread eh.........
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 20th, 2008, 1:26 pm

But seriously... tell me if I miss anything here:

Engine + tranny = $4000
2.5" Exhaust = ~$2000 (w/barrel?)
Electric = ~$500
Install = 1 Case of Stag :D

Would I need a high or low pressure fuel pump?
Have I missed anything?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 21st, 2008, 12:51 pm

well... i just heard about an in cabin heater...

5fwd

Postby 5fwd » February 23rd, 2008, 8:10 pm

i think a cd20 is abt $5000 now, add a $500 if u buyin a complete swap,

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 26th, 2008, 12:07 pm

^nope $4000 engine and tranny
what u mean by
add a $500 if u buyin a complete swap,

Postby *KRONIK* » February 26th, 2008, 2:01 pm

DJ Q wrote:^nope $4000 engine and tranny
what u mean by
add a $500 if u buyin a complete swap,

he mean that u may have to get the shifters, pedals, clutch resevoir if M/T, and all the other miscellaneous parts u will get headache to find during ur install.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 26th, 2008, 2:29 pm

shifters, pedals, clutch resevoir if M/T,

tranny :(

and all the other miscellaneous parts u will get headache to find during ur install.

like...

Postby *KRONIK* » February 26th, 2008, 3:24 pm

DJ Q wrote:
shifters, pedals, clutch resevoir if M/T,

tranny :(

and all the other miscellaneous parts u will get headache to find during ur install.

like...

well if is A/T

just make sure u consult with ur mechanic and get everything.... engine, mounts, tranny, axles, shifter cables and wat ever duz come with it, alternator, A/C compresor, just make sure u get it complete so u eh go be running round looking for parts....

and make sure u get some kinda warranty on the engine cuz u mite get a week warranty and it take 2 weeks to install and ur warranty void during dat time so when it cant start.... u still cant get ur money back....
dem kinda ting nah...

and

and find out bout wat going on with ur fuel system.... tank, pumps, lines, etc.

me eh know too much bout gas to diesel conversions... just letting u know wat i know!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 27th, 2008, 7:46 am

rel ting dey boy... wayyy

Postby nervewrecker » February 27th, 2008, 8:09 am

i saw the cd20 advertisin in de express classifieds fuh $4000.00.

buh cater fuh a lil more as that will be the lowest priced one they hav and it might not be the best one they have, one in better condition might be a lil more.......

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 27th, 2008, 12:10 pm

$1500 for an install is robbery?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 28th, 2008, 8:25 am

DJ Q wrote:$1500 for an install is robbery?

probably!

but at the end of the day........

good thing eh cheap and cheap thing eh good......

remember u eh replacing a old engine with a new one!

u changing it completley!

cater for new mounting positions, axles, fuel system etc

so yes 1500 is too much but doh expect to get it done 4 500!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 28th, 2008, 11:28 am

ok thanks. das bamboo price na...

Postby *KRONIK* » February 28th, 2008, 10:48 pm

so u find ah engine yet??

Postby cinco » February 28th, 2008, 11:00 pm

wais d difference in weight between the engine u have now and the diesel
keep in mind dem diesel heavy eh
you need suspension upgrades to keep the weight properly distributed and yuh car eh split open like ah villa ting

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » February 29th, 2008, 4:31 am

If allyuh find $1500 for a CONVERSION, is robbery, allyuh could suck a big one!! why allyuh does fight-down tradesmen so??? Yes, it have plenty 'smart-men' out there, but allyuh hadda know who's who, how to deal straight with yuh mechanic. i will never take $1500 to convert some stinkin-a$$ rover to diesel; man hadda lie down under d car and take burn from welding-up mount brackets, build axles or sub-contract the job to a machine shop (that alone is $1500), do fuel system and cooling system, possibly A/C, exhaust, then electical. by the way, WHAT give allyuh the idea that a diesel engine needs an external fuel pump?, the injector-pump pulls fuel on its own! Anyways, mechanics doh eat big-stone and grass yuh know fellas. this fuggin website is for people who jus LIKE cars, not true enthusiasts who could approach this field with a sensible mentality. Allyuh real friggin cheap dread; spend yuh fuggin money and get something good done and when allyuh get a fair $1500 worth of conversion, allyuh vex and want call the mechanic a smart-man. Worse-yet is some pile-of-$hit Rover a man doh want to pay not even $1500 to convert...... the next time somebody come in the garage and fight-down the usual $2500 Conversion cost, i think i just might crack them some busy slap!!.

That said, FWD diesels:- 1) Nissan CD17/CD20/CD20T: CD20Turbo is a beast, Eng&box goes for around $6500

2) Nissan LD20-II (from the U13/U14 bluebird)- Around same price as CD20, a bit harder to find.

3) Toyota 2C: nice engine, kinda scarce in FWD form

4) Mitsubishi 4D52T* (can't remember if '52' is the correct#) : this came from the CB3/CB4 model Lancers/Liberos. Most powerful, fastest FWD diesel i ever came across. this turbo-diesel performing like what you'd expect from a MIVEC engine. not sure of the price, of if it can still be found.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 29th, 2008, 8:02 am

If allyuh find $1500 for a CONVERSION, is robbery, allyuh could suck a big one!! why allyuh does fight-down tradesmen so???

Before anyone makes assumptions about me... I don't know the prices for these things... that's why I asked.

i will never take $1500 to convert some stinkin-a$$ rover to diesel;

All you have to do is state your price, not your feelings. I don't care what you think about the car, I just want the job done. Rudeness is no part of the contract.

Allyuh real friggin cheap dread; spend yuh fuggin money and get something good done and when allyuh get a fair $1500 worth of conversion, allyuh vex and want call the mechanic a smart-man.

I am not cheap, sir. I just want to get proper value for my money instead of blatantly being robbed as most women do whenever they go to a mechanic. In case you haven't realised, this is my research.

Worse-yet is some pile-of-$hit Rover a man doh want to pay not even $1500 to convert......

Now I personally think you went overboard there. I ask a simple question because I don't know how these things work and what they cost. I never said I wouldn't pay to do it. If that's the price... that's the price. I don't want to rush down the thing and then later on find out I should have only paid $500 for something that cost me $2,000.

the next time somebody come in the garage and fight-down the usual $2500 Conversion cost, i think i just might crack them some busy slap!!.

Well now I know the cost! It was as simple as that. There was no need to insult me or any of the fellow tuners. *KRONIK* (just like me) probably thought that it was a simple slip-out-slip-in kind of job.

OldSkoolRule, don't get me wrong, I'm not trying to disrepect you in any way by quoting you; it's just that your attitude is not very pleasing and I shudder to think of how your dealings are with your customers. Honestly, with this preview you've displayed of your behaviour, I wouldn't doubt if you lose many customers, because you're sure as hell not getting me to come by you.

That said, thanks for the other information but there are some details lacking that I need to find out:
- Specifications
- Availability
- Average price

Before you start to curse and disrespect yet again, I have used Google to try to find some information but I don't seem to get much.

Thank you.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 29th, 2008, 2:17 pm

OldSkoolRule wrote:If allyuh find $1500 for a CONVERSION, is robbery, allyuh could suck a big one!! why allyuh does fight-down tradesmen so??? Yes, it have plenty 'smart-men' out there, but allyuh hadda know who's who, how to deal straight with yuh mechanic. i will never take $1500 to convert some stinkin-a$$ rover to diesel; man hadda lie down under d car and take burn from welding-up mount brackets, build axles or sub-contract the job to a machine shop (that alone is $1500), do fuel system and cooling system, possibly A/C, exhaust, then electical. by the way, WHAT give allyuh the idea that a diesel engine needs an external fuel pump?, the injector-pump pulls fuel on its own! Anyways, mechanics doh eat big-stone and grass yuh know fellas. this fuggin website is for people who jus LIKE cars, not true enthusiasts who could approach this field with a sensible mentality. Allyuh real friggin cheap dread; spend yuh fuggin money and get something good done and when allyuh get a fair $1500 worth of conversion, allyuh vex and want call the mechanic a smart-man. Worse-yet is some pile-of-$hit Rover a man doh want to pay not even $1500 to convert...... the next time somebody come in the garage and fight-down the usual $2500 Conversion cost, i think i just might crack them some busy slap!!.

That said, FWD diesels:- 1) Nissan CD17/CD20/CD20T: CD20Turbo is a beast, Eng&box goes for around $6500

2) Nissan LD20-II (from the U13/U14 bluebird)- Around same price as CD20, a bit harder to find.

3) Toyota 2C: nice engine, kinda scarce in FWD form

4) Mitsubishi 4D52T* (can't remember if '52' is the correct#) : this came from the CB3/CB4 model Lancers/Liberos. Most powerful, fastest FWD diesel i ever came across. this turbo-diesel performing like what you'd expect from a MIVEC engine. not sure of the price, of if it can still be found.

truly!

u shouldnt have replied in such a harsh manner!

i was trying to help and giving info i had form ppl who had done such already! and gave me there costs! NOT URS!

and why u bashing ppl cars! u is one ah dem ppl who duz drive the best car in the world! ent?

and nobody ready 4 u?

u is the best mechanic around?

only u could swap engines?

only u could weld brackets?

well soldier keep ur attitiude and ur non-helping info off this thread cuz he looking for help and advice not ur BS!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 29th, 2008, 2:37 pm

^So you got a conversion done for >$1500?