DIY help

GameOver

DIY help

Postby GameOver » July 9th, 2009, 10:21 am

I have almost completed my first major DIY job - changed head and block in my P11 (SR20, M6 CVT)
Can the pros give me some heads up with what checks I need to make before I try to start engine up. Any thing a rookie may have overlooked that could prove disastrous...

Really appreciate any advice that is given.

Postby X_Factor » July 9th, 2009, 10:39 am

u used a torque wrench and correct measurements acording to the manual??

GameOver

Postby GameOver » July 9th, 2009, 11:53 am

:oops: ¡no! no tengo torque wrench...

but neither does my mech :shock:

is this really bad?

GameOver

Postby GameOver » July 9th, 2009, 11:54 am

head and block was complete though..

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 9th, 2009, 12:26 pm

GameOver wrote::oops: ¡no! no tengo torque wrench...but neither does my mech :shock: is this really bad?

Sanctifier wrote:Con-rod bolt torque specs should be measured with a stretch gauge (if available) not a torque wrench.
I've never seen one in T&T... I'm going to buy my own.

Cylinder head bolts definately need a torque wrench...

Search "How things work"... Google... etc.

You just bought an old engine and installed it?... What warranty did you get?
If you "open" it, either buy (and use) a NEW torque wrench... or *get a NEW mechanic* (who has one.)

BTW... is this really bad?... Don't know specs for SR20...
but FYI Mitsu engines use "torque to yield" con-rod and cylinder head bolts.

Both are ONE USE ONLY :!: ... Replace with new Mitsu bolts on every rebuild/gasket change... or buy ARP bolts/studs. IMHO check to see if your SR20 is similar.

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on July 9th, 2009, 12:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby X_Factor » July 9th, 2009, 12:37 pm

ohh, if u just changed the head&block and didnt "build" the head and block
and all u really doing is mounting it back into the engine bay, on to the tranny and bolting back the normal bolt on's, the torque wrench may not be necessary for that

Postby Maserati » July 9th, 2009, 12:37 pm

dude get a good torque wrench eg. snap on
and find the specs. for the engine and torque accordingly

Postby X_Factor » July 9th, 2009, 12:40 pm

apparently its just a head and block swap, he didnt assemble the parts in head and block

in that case the torque wrench really isnt necessary

GameOver

Postby GameOver » July 9th, 2009, 1:44 pm

"ohh, if u just changed the head&block and didnt "build" the head and block
and all u really doing is mounting it back into the engine bay, on to the tranny and bolting back the normal bolt on's, the torque wrench may not be necessary for that"

^^^^ thats it... thanks
just never spent so many hours working on my car so I guess it seemed "major" to me.

So just fill up with oil and tumble..? (belts, seals and water pump changed)
everything else (tranny, alternator, power steering pump, distributor, a/c) was from original engine.
What about timing? seeing i removed the distributor and have no reference bolt markings. I dont have a timing gun.

Postby 7143 » July 9th, 2009, 1:55 pm

horse yuh din realli need the torque wrench in your case after all cuz u jus swappin d complete head and block...u not openin it up an ting so no headbolts needed to be taken out or placed in back.....oh an dont top up d d oil dat already in d new block...drain out all d old oil an fill with new one...yuh ent kno how long dat old oil inside dey na....jus be safe.....

Postby janfar » July 10th, 2009, 5:30 am

The distributor should be on a sliding device for adjustment. Easy was to get timing right id to slacken the 2 bolts for the dist. and adjust, on every incremental movement listen to the throttle response by stepping on the acc pedal. The best response should be where u lock the dist in place. If you are not to clear on what i just told you best bet would be to see a pro.

GameOver

Postby GameOver » July 10th, 2009, 9:16 am

^^^^thanks..