wtk a diesel turbo on a car

azoturbo

wtk a diesel turbo on a car

Postby azoturbo » December 18th, 2009, 4:40 pm

always wanted 2 know like if u take a turbo off say a nissan caravan those small hitachi turbo and put it on a car what would happen pros and cons plz

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 18th, 2009, 5:02 pm

this is my concept eh if a diesel turbo can pull those heavy vans imagine your car (if u can get traction)

Swifted

Postby Swifted » December 18th, 2009, 6:21 pm

typical diesel engines rev no more than 5,000rpm, so imagine that on a similarly sized petrol engine revving to, say 7,4000rpm. Turbo is gonna over speed and grenade!

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 18th, 2009, 7:10 pm

Swifted wrote:typical diesel engines rev no more than 5,000rpm, so imagine that on a similarly sized petrol engine revving to, say 7,4000rpm. Turbo is gonna over speed and grenade!

shuxxxxxxxx

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » December 19th, 2009, 8:28 pm

unless if maybe you can have an electric exhaust cutout with a twin turbo setup - small diesel turbo for instant spool and a bigger turbo, maybe a T3/T4 at the same time, then at 4500 the small turbo will "switch off" via the electric cutout so all the exhaust air would go to the already partially spooled T3/T4. sounds cool, dont know if tis practical

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 19th, 2009, 8:48 pm

redsupra101 wrote:unless if maybe you can have an electric exhaust cutout with a twin turbo setup - small diesel turbo for instant spool and a bigger turbo, maybe a T3/T4 at the same time, then at 4500 the small turbo will "switch off" via the electric cutout so all the exhaust air would go to the already partially spooled T3/T4. sounds cool, dont know if tis practical

i heard people tlking about that idea spunds cool in deed men men turbo max at say 5000 rpm the next one go take u to heaven

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 20th, 2009, 12:02 am

...or locate a turbo off of a larger capacity diesel engine :wink:

Click me for a diesel turbo

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » December 20th, 2009, 3:39 am

Conrad yuh ass!....LOL

Postby Rooki3 » December 20th, 2009, 12:37 pm

Swifted wrote:typical diesel engines rev no more than 5,000rpm, so imagine that on a similarly sized petrol engine revving to, say 7,4000rpm. Turbo is gonna over speed and grenade!

But does the turbo attain peak PSI @ 5000 RPM

I've seen alot of single cam hondas on youtube with holset turbos making ridiculous power

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 20th, 2009, 12:38 pm

Rooki3 wrote:

I've seen alot of single cam hondas on youtube with holset turbos making ridiculous power

Shhhhh... don't want the prices of them to go up further :lol:

Postby Rooki3 » December 20th, 2009, 2:22 pm

^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Rooki3 » December 20th, 2009, 2:23 pm

I know of a Tuner who buys turbos from PTSC bus garage

sigma-turbo

Re: wtk a diesel turbo on a car

Postby sigma-turbo » December 20th, 2009, 4:26 pm

azoturbo wrote:always wanted 2 know like if u take a turbo off say a nissan caravan those small hitachi turbo and put it on a car what would happen pros and cons plz

while the diesel wont rev alot diesel turbos are un gated and run max boost all their life

so even though the engine is only pulling 4500-5000 rpm the turbo could be pumping 20-40+ psi of boost

Postby Rooki3 » December 20th, 2009, 4:59 pm

diesel turbos are un gated

No Wastegate?

Postby bushwakka » December 20th, 2009, 7:18 pm

u cannot simply link the rpm of the diesel engine to what revvs the turbo wud be making on a car.....its not a supercharger......what you have to take into account is the flowrate of exhaust gases from a diesel engine compared to a petrol engine

my guess is it would not be efficient for a car application

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » December 20th, 2009, 10:05 pm

jus take a qd3.2 turbo and ur in the game...

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 20th, 2009, 10:26 pm

sigma-turbo wrote:
azoturbo wrote:always wanted 2 know like if u take a turbo off say a nissan caravan those small hitachi turbo and put it on a car what would happen pros and cons plz

while the diesel wont rev alot diesel turbos are un gated and run max boost all their life

so even though the engine is only pulling 4500-5000 rpm the turbo could be pumping 20-40+ psi of boost

i have a diesel turbo at home from a caravan and it has a waste gate

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » December 21st, 2009, 2:14 am

azoturbo wrote:
sigma-turbo wrote:

i have a diesel turbo at home from a caravan and it has a waste gate

Some diesels have them

biggreen

Postby biggreen » December 21st, 2009, 11:56 am

then, does that mean it can work? ^

Swifted

Postby Swifted » December 21st, 2009, 1:54 pm

Rooki3 wrote:

it will most definately! the problem is that with such a small turbine inlet, there just isn't enough hole to flow the air that the higher revving petrol engine would be flowing, hence the pressure ratio would soon go thru the roof ultimately leading to burnt exhaust valves & turbo failure.

...and it has always ammused me that ppl jus 'put ah turbo' on an engine without any thought into proper selection. It's not a black art, there are some simple calculations required to select the correct Turbo for your application. :wink:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 21st, 2009, 2:30 pm

Swifted wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

it will most definately! the problem is that with such a small turbine inlet, there just isn't enough hole to flow the air that the higher revving petrol engine would be flowing, hence the pressure ratio would soon go thru the roof ultimately leading to burnt exhaust valves & turbo failure.

...and it has always ammused me that ppl jus 'put ah turbo' on an engine without any thought into proper selection. It's not a black art, there are some simple calculations required to select the correct Turbo for your application. :wink:

:?

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 21st, 2009, 4:09 pm

Swifted wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

so in your estimate how do u choose d correct turbo

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » December 21st, 2009, 7:25 pm

ah tell ur just buy an ignis sport an relax urself na boy hahaha......u will never get fedup...

Postby Rooki3 » December 21st, 2009, 7:30 pm

ah tell ur just buy an ignis sport an relax urself na boy hahaha......u will never get fedup...

people say zuki only good for delivering ice cream

listen to ppl

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » December 21st, 2009, 11:51 pm

aye aye mr rooki ...i aint agree wid the second comment ur highlight eh we go fall out for that :lol:

star323

Postby star323 » December 23rd, 2009, 11:16 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... php?t=1381

^^^ read this first...

It's not all about RPM, it's displacement and exhaust flow as bushwakka said. A large deisel engine will flow more exhaust at a lower RPM than a small 4-cylinder engine running at a higher RPM

Turbochargers are fundementally the same whether they are on a gas engine or diesel engine, only the sizing varies. Diesel turbo's will usually be larger like the 50 trim variety and up.

The trim size will give u an idea of the flow rate the turbo was designed to handle