MSD ignition setups???

Postby Razkal » June 7th, 2004, 2:33 pm

um..need some advice here fellas...
mih pops have a old model laser in real good condition an ting..and i started doin some n/a mods on it..(ported/shaved head, extractors, dual carb..basic stuff..) and well i was planning to hopefully have it running at least 16 sec by this summers end. i just needed some advice on an msd ignition set up..is it recomended for a carburated car? has any body done it on such a small engine before with good results?
if it's worth doin does anybody know where i could source a used one.... (is ah kinda low-low- budget project nah)..thanx for any help fellas

Postby Dave » June 7th, 2004, 2:41 pm

they work really well esp when it's a points style system you are upgrading from since spark tends to fall off at high rpm's.
increased spark energy, less plug fouling and better fuel economy are just some of the benefits. since they increase the fire from th plug, the plug gap can be opened up and more air/fuel mixtures injected and thus more combustion and more power. this would put a drain on the coil however and you should get a msd coil like the blaster 2 or ss for the msd box.

if in fact the distributor is a points style then you first need to convert it to electronic and then use the msd box
the crane xr3000 or the xr 700 work really well to convert the signal.
honestly, unless you are using a cam, not too sure about that 16's time you want.

Postby Razkal » June 7th, 2004, 2:50 pm

thanx for the info dave....i gettin a full race cam and some high compression pistons soon..thats why i askin bout de msd nah....de distributor is electronic already...and we usin ngk platinum plugs so will i need just the setup or other hardware ..like new wires etc.?.....what is a safe compression to run with the mild mods i do?

Postby Dave » June 7th, 2004, 2:55 pm

all u will need is the msd box, high output coil( if u on a budget get the cifero or the sr20de old model coil) msd coil and some spiral wound plug wires and the ngk ones are great.
safe compression will be determined by whether you decked the head and if the rods were modified, only the person who built the engine will be able to tell you safe comp.
you should run a 6 ngk plug seeing that you will be high reving this engine unless it's a race cam u are getting

powdedd

Postby powdedd » June 8th, 2004, 10:29 am

Dave, well executed infomation. hope Razkal put it to good use. its times like this we need to appreciate the wealth of information that is being shared by everyone using the forum, at the end of the day we all end up learning a thing or 2

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » June 8th, 2004, 11:13 pm

we all end up learning a thing or 2

fo sheeeeeezzzzzzzzzy

Postby Razkal » June 10th, 2004, 1:02 am

ay thanx a million-billion jedz!.....dat stuff was like powdedd said 'well executed'
i got jus one more question ...will de coil from de cefiro or sr20de work on the laser application?
and most likely its a full race cam i'm gettin...if u guys could recomend a race cam frm some other engine that will be applicable to my situation it'll be appreciated..cause i'm not sure if i'ts a laser or old model323 cam this guy gettin

Postby Razkal » June 10th, 2004, 1:07 am

wha happen with the head is that de dumb a$$ went an shave de mudders arse ting right dong!...den ask if we wanted it port...well of course it couldn't be done...so we got a new head thats being sent to do over now...any ideas on optimum porting techniques or good shops in the north??

Postby Dave » June 11th, 2004, 8:35 am

yup that external coil from the old model sr and cifero would work easy
combustion chamber porting may not be able to be done but the exhaust and intake port and some valve swirling can still be done. ensure also that the intake and exhaust ports match the respective manifold flange also.
intake should be limited to about no smoother than 220 grit or so.

Postby Razkal » June 11th, 2004, 1:31 pm

cool man..thanx a lot dave...i guess if all goes well i'll be on the line up on the 1/4 instead of spectatin by september!....... :mrgreen:

Fred45

Postby Fred45 » June 12th, 2004, 7:28 pm

yo razkal.... as support for what dave has already said....

in my laser i'm using an MSD BLASTER 2 coil that i bought brand new.
i changed my original coil to a lucas coil and now i'm using the MSD blaster 2.
it's rated for 45,000 volts (i don't know how that compares to the cifero coil) and it works with either MSD 6 or MSD 7 ignitions.
i got mine from "garvin performance" on long circular road.....
since upgrading to the blaster i've definitely noticed a difference in acceleration.

also,
for plug wires, i only use NGK brand, which i got from central auto spares a while back.... alot better performance and durability than any other i've used in the past.
never, never use those "platinum brand" wires in the blue&white box :!:

hope i helped a bit....