WHATS THE BEST SYNTHETIC OIL ON THE MARKET?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 19th, 2010, 10:52 pm

To what, Eneos or Pennzoil Platinum, If you asking about PP, 10w-30, and I pay $22 US or so for 5 qt's...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 23rd, 2010, 9:24 am

i changed oil this weekend.....and due to real slackness on my part the change interval was 20,000KM.........i recovered more than 90% of the oil and it wasn't as black as i thought it would be(it used to be more dark when the car was on the highway daily sitting in traffic after 10,000 km changes)......anyway, car runs just fine and it doesn't burn oil.....185,000km on the odo, been using Mobil 1 10W30 in it since around 55,000km........absolutely no complaint except that the damn price went up again......paid $75 for a quart..........i need to buy this by Lange80........the small parts shops killing me :|

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » April 23rd, 2010, 9:37 am

Mobil 1 :mrgreen:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 23rd, 2010, 9:42 am

..........i need to buy this by Lange80........the small parts shops killing me

^^x2 I normally buy my oils directly from the dealer/agents/whatever by the case. Works out cheaper that way.

it wasn't as black as i thought it would be(it used to be more dark when the car was on the highway daily sitting in traffic after 10,000 km changes)

Sludge re-deposition in your engine? Or different type of driving being done?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 23rd, 2010, 1:20 pm

okay, just did a back check it was not 20,000km....it was more like 17,000km before the oil change.........

i doubt there is sludge.......sludge should form after the oil has reached its capacity of suspended particles.......

the car was previously driven over 160 km per day, highway use......morning traffic and afternoon traffic......
now it just cruises around in south.....no traffic and hardly ever over 80kmph...with an occasional highway run.........i suspect its the change in driving habits that affected oil colour........
oh BTW i try to always use Purolator oil filters.........
no smoke, no unusual oil consumption, car still spits a bit of water from the exhaust on mornings(good combustion).........IMO Mobil1 has done very well for my application..... :mrgreen:

Postby bushwakka » April 23rd, 2010, 1:44 pm

^as i understand it, the oil does not really have a carrying capacity for suspended particles, strictly speaking.....particles stay in suspension because of the constant flow and turbulence of that flow...if they were to stay in suspension, that would be a colloid and i doubt oil can form a colloid with that

anyway, the pt is that at any time when the engine isn't circulating the oil, the particles will fall by gravity and stay there until they are picked up by more circulation or they may not be. That's why they tell you run the engine for a little bit before changing oil so it can pick up the depositions

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 23rd, 2010, 3:37 pm

Well you would think that Oil would be cheaper at the importer but not so...

Lange is more expensive for Mobil1 than most shops
Same goes for L+DG for Shell Helix....

Cheapest oil place so far is Mathura's in St. James but shop around and see what you can get..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 23rd, 2010, 3:46 pm

^^^^i got Mobil1 for about $61 when everywhere was selling it for $70.......now its $75 at the small shops.......
will give L80 a call sometime to see how much they have it for now.........

Postby bushwakka » April 23rd, 2010, 10:35 pm

a lot of 'indepedent' surveys/tests on the net rate Amsoil as being the best

so its either they are the best.....or they pay the most ppl to advertise for them

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 24th, 2010, 5:59 am

THere was an "independent" site I came across that showed AMSOIL as being the best too.

"Independent" eh.... :lol: (or so the folks on BITOG forums say).

Either way, I like their gear oils :oops:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 24th, 2010, 7:39 am

call me paranoid, naive, or stupid............but for some reason i just cannot put my trust in the small companies........on more than three occasions i've come across the exact same consumer grade Castrol, Shell and Mobil1 diesel engine oil that u may put into you 2.0 turbo diesel engine being used in 5000bhp+ diesel engines designed to run at full load, continuously. I've yet to see Amsiol/Redline/Royal Purple being used for this..........

and it is confirmed that it is the exact same consumer grade oil.....i personally spoke to the Shell technician who came to do tests on the oils......

if these ppl can trust the oil in these critical multi million dollar pieces of equipment......i cant see why i should think differently for my lil 2.0 putt-putt engine :|

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 27th, 2010, 4:29 pm

sitting in the window seat of a Liat Dash 8 I looked across at the engine nacelle and right there is a big label ..... Use Only Mobil 1 Oil....that's good enough for me :mrgreen:

EM oil is also used by the US Air Force in their fighter jets

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 27th, 2010, 5:33 pm

Then again, is LIAT.. for all you know they running it on coconut oil hahahahahha

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 28th, 2010, 11:58 am

^^ that might be more expensive than Mobil 1 :mrgreen:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 30th, 2010, 10:13 am

what about Eneos...they claim its No.1 in Japan

Postby bushwakka » April 30th, 2010, 12:26 pm

^they say its the oil that comes prefilled in pretty much all japanese vehicles from the factory....buh what good abt that? cuz u hadda change it 1000k after

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 30th, 2010, 2:50 pm

^^That's due to engine break in, not the oil itself. And not many new cars still call for the 1000 km oil change (including teh Swift Sport, but I did mine "independently" anyway).

dmitc

Re: WHATS THE BEST SYNTHETIC OIL ON THE MARKET?

Postby dmitc » January 1st, 2011, 3:49 pm

just paid $330.00 for a gallon of Royal Purple 15-40, is that the going price now for full synthetic?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » January 1st, 2011, 5:05 pm

Nope.

Postby bushwakka » January 1st, 2011, 11:33 pm

usually the price is abt $80 a quart...it prob shudda been like a 10-20 less for that gallon

cacasplat.....i find ur logic flawed....just because the companies small, it doh make them any less good

ur reasoning there will give further credentials to the ''big'''oils....but, it cannot be used to disprove the ''goodness'' of the others

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 3rd, 2011, 3:35 pm

Apparently ExxonMobil is abandoning the Caribbean and therefore the TT market. Lange Trinidad is now replacing it's Mobil line with the Gulf brand

W2J

Postby W2J » January 3rd, 2011, 8:43 pm

ek4ever wrote:Apparently ExxonMobil is abandoning the Caribbean and therefore the TT market. Lange Trinidad is now replacing it's Mobil line with the Gulf brand

Mobile pull out over a year ago bro, Lange us just supplementing the market by importing from Mexico at a higher cost.

Postby Dave » January 4th, 2011, 8:35 am

^^correcto

if lange was to give up the mobil name, is only battery they would sell and not even that would be so popular with so many maintenance free batteries on the market giving same or more warranty and lasting much longer

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » January 19th, 2013, 8:00 am

Finding the right motor oil for your vehicle is now very easy. Just use the Liqui Moly oil guide and it will show you which Liqui Moly Motor Oil is right for your vehicle. You can also bookmark it to your smartphone so that you can access it on the go. Just follow this link to finding the right motor oil.

http://www.liqui-moly.de/liquimoly/web.nsf/id/pa_eng_oil_guide.html

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 20th, 2013, 1:32 pm

provide a voa for the oil u sell prove ur product.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 20th, 2013, 6:19 pm

Last edited by FullStop on January 25th, 2013, 2:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 23rd, 2013, 3:00 am

^^ source?

Now I'm kicking myself for not taking the Amsoil over the valvoline synpower after seeing those detergent numbers :/

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 25th, 2013, 11:48 am

royal purple is d Best of dem all wrt that chart info

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 25th, 2013, 2:47 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ source?

Now I'm kicking myself for not taking the Amsoil over the valvoline synpower after seeing those detergent numbers :/

i searched online forums for blackstone labs voa's and compiled them

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 25th, 2013, 6:01 pm

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ub ... er=2377569

liqui moly looks kinda lame compared to the big guns on the chart...

will add their info to the chart.