Has anyone used DBA Street Series Rotors

turbo_beast369

Has anyone used DBA Street Series Rotors

Postby turbo_beast369 » August 12th, 2010, 10:05 am

If anyone uses these rotors or knows anyone who uses them please post the pro's and con's...I'm thinking of installing a set on my car but I need some feedback...
Last edited by turbo_beast369 on August 12th, 2010, 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Has anyone used DBA Street Series Rotors

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 12th, 2010, 12:16 pm

running the DBA 4000 XS, and i love it.
No probs to date, coupled with hawk pads and ATE superblue fluid and it holds pretty good.
The hawk pads take some time to break in properly and are sorta shitty when cold. After 2 of regular driving (read: 2-3 short stops) thy are fine.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 12th, 2010, 12:17 pm

...but that is a pad issue, not rotor.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 12th, 2010, 2:12 pm

How much are the DBA rotors and where you buying them? That would determine if I reccomend it or not...

Its a reputable brand, so if the price is right go for it! Don't forget to use a quality pad, fluid, and lines if you have the money for it....
Prioritise in that order..

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » August 12th, 2010, 4:22 pm

I think one side of the front is around $100 US on d net

AWD Motorsports brings them in as well...

i thinking of coupling my setup wth either Hawk or OEM disc pads...I just want the look basically...but at the same time I want a quality product that doesnt warp like OEM Mitsubishi ones...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 12th, 2010, 5:49 pm

Well, what size is the stock rotor on the car? That could have a lot to do with the warping issue than the actual quality etc...
Never warped my mitsu rotors on the pajero but that could be due to their size...

Don't forget to use a high quality brake fluid no matter what you decide.. No yellow bottle lockheed crap..
Castrol GT-LMA should be your base, or anything above that

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » August 12th, 2010, 7:57 pm

the stock CS3 rotors are about 10.1" but I changed to the 5 lug from the ralliart wagon which is 11" in the front and 10" rear disc in the back...warped rotors is a common problem on the stock CS3 lancers...

brake fluid I using now is a yellow bottle but its not lockheed...is Delphi DOT 3 brake fluid that Lenny Sumadh sells which is bout $40 a quart...I will look into Castrol brake fluid...or maybe some Motul 5.1

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 12th, 2010, 8:50 pm

Well, 11" is a good start, very respectable sized rotor for a comparatively small vehicle..
I personally like the Hawk HPS but expect quite a lot of dusting from them and as was mentioned earlier, they don't really perform any better than stock unless they have a little heat in them..

for rotors, personally I prefer Brembo Sport over the DBA just because of price, no other reason in particular. Not sure if you will get it in your exact application or not..

While Delphi is a good brand, DOT3 has a relatively low boiling point and as such you should be thinking to upgrade.
The Castrol cost me about $35 a bottle last time and has done well to keep remarkably clean in the pajero.. I rate it as the excellent value choice..
Motul is a superb brand and you are doing well to think in that direction, but 5.1 is just DOT4 with an extended boiling point.. If putting out that kind of money you should look into DOT4 racing which has reduced compressibility.
Best price/performance in this category is ATE SuperBlue ($~15USD per Litre), best one I have ever used is Motul RBF600 but that is about $20 USD for a half litre
The ATE can be bought locally so look into it...

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » August 12th, 2010, 9:13 pm

alot of dusting? and to imagine hawk advertises it as a low dust brake pad...
there is a video I was looking at on youtube where they did a brake comparison with a Evo IX using stock brakes then they changed the rotors to either DBA 4000 or 5000 slotted rotors, Hawk ceramic racing pads and goodridge braided brake lines...and the car stopped better with the aftermarket setup...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVT9d7eVUP8

whaz d big difference in the Hawk HPS and the PC pads...

the thing is, I want slotted rotors because I like how they look, I was aiming at brembo but I can only get brembo slotted for the rear discs...the front comes only cross drilled...so is either DBA or EBC rotors which are made in the UK and supposed to be good stuff as well...I hear that slotted rotors wear your pads faster, is that true?

on amazon the motul RBF600 is $15 US tho....do u know who sells the ATE locally?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 12th, 2010, 9:29 pm

Well, the HPS might advertise as low dust but it definitely isnt.. I should clarify though.. Its not so much that it produces a lot of dust, its just it produces a disgusting brownish dust that just seems to make your wheels look vile... Easy to clean but quite ugly while on there

Concerning HPS vs Hawk Ceramic, I vote for the HPS anyday as it is more of a performance upgrade.

Slotted rotors DO actually wear the pads a little but faster, but I don't consider it enough to put me off purchasing.. Only thing that would put me off purchasing drilled or slotted would be if I had a small rotor (eg fools in the AD wagons driving around with bottle-top sized drilled and slotteds) whereby you lose too much of an already lacking contact area..
In your case, dont worry cause you have good sized rotors.

The racing fluid is a perfect match to Goodridge G-Stop lines (which I have) but lines are more about pedal feel than actual performance increase...

Concerning ATE in Trinidad, I think Garvin's in St James but some sellers here have it as well.. Give it a quick search and see

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 13th, 2010, 10:23 am

dont have a lot of dusting on my rims with the Hawk HPS.

Postby crazybalhead » August 13th, 2010, 11:05 am

Me neither, the hawks hardly leave any residue. I have powerslots though, so can't comment on the DBA, but I think they are good based on reviews.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 13th, 2010, 11:21 am

No dust with HPS here.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » August 13th, 2010, 1:43 pm

I am seeing alot of good things being said about the DBA rotors and Hawk Pads....

right now I don't have a need to upgrade the brakes as yet seein that I bascially just did a bigger brake upgrade...I don't have the need for serious brakes becuz my car is basically stock...I like the big brake look....the setup I have on right now hardly has much wear on the rotors neither the pads which are still the OEM ones...so I think I would rally thru with this setup for d time being becuz dont get me wrong, the ralliart brakes hold very well considering that I am using the stock booster and master cylinder....I guess it because of the OEM pads...

CD4Accord and the rest of you fellaz, much thanks for allyuh input...greatly appreciated!!

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » August 13th, 2010, 6:32 pm

use DBA on all my cars, pretty much the best aftermarket rotors in their price bracket you can get

Gopaul

Postby Gopaul » September 19th, 2010, 9:09 pm

replaced the front stock rotors and pads on my forester one month ago and running DBA's and HPS pads, bought it at AWD Motorsports, and there's no dust at all on my rims, and i'm running white & chrome RSGT's

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 20th, 2010, 3:18 pm

i'm thinking about getting the HPS pads, but i'm reading conflicting statements on the dust generated.
really don't like the dusty look (especially since i don't wash my car often), and i'm hoping to use them on slotted EBC rotors (even more dust generation). anyone ever used the EBC Green or Red Stuff, and where'd you get them???

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 20th, 2010, 9:12 pm

www.horsepowerfreaks.com has some nice reviews of products... I always see the HPS as being rated higher than anything that EBC offers.. Not saying its bad pads, just better can be had for around the same price...
Concerning HPS dusting, I think its just me really, no one else seems to have too much trouble.. The accord rims just seem to be designed to collect dust, along with my serious lack of wahsing doesnt really help and probably compounds the effect