impossible to remove water stains on my car glass...HELP!!

scoobert_doo

impossible to remove water stains on my car glass...HELP!!

Postby scoobert_doo » February 17th, 2011, 4:05 pm

have a foreign used ae 110 and there are some water stains on the side mirrors, front and driver side and passenger windows and my rear windscreen..ive tried stain removers, rain off, vinegar, soap water, sand paper (on a tiny spot to c if it worked), purple blaster and nothing seems to work....there is a car detailing place right in aranguez close to the highway says they can remove it for 250.00 but id like to remove it myself and save that cash....can anyone help me out here its really frustrating i can barely see through the rear windscreen at night.

Re: impossible to remove water stains on my car glass...HELP

Postby cinco » February 17th, 2011, 4:11 pm

clay bar

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » February 17th, 2011, 4:16 pm

clay bar??? elaborate please!

Postby cinco » February 17th, 2011, 4:19 pm

try it
go in any car shop and buy a clay bar and try it on th eglass
google it buddy

Postby Dave » February 17th, 2011, 4:21 pm

as simple as a good glass cleaner would remove it
even rubbing compound and polish would do the trick

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » February 17th, 2011, 4:29 pm

tried the glass cleaner.....it failed miserably.....water marks stand up strong like a bull!
where can i get this clay bar?? someone point me in a direction please!!

Postby cinco » February 17th, 2011, 4:31 pm

read meh post nah
ANY CAR SHOP
once they sellin polish dey go have it

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » February 17th, 2011, 4:32 pm

doh pong me nah breds....ah real green in dis car ting.....thanks fuh d info!!! much oblige!

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » February 17th, 2011, 10:10 pm

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » February 17th, 2011, 11:09 pm

AUTORAMA in el socorro has the Mother"s clay bar kit

Seeker

Postby Seeker » February 21st, 2011, 10:57 am

Very good info

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 21st, 2011, 11:22 am

yep, I'm also thinking about the autoglym glass polish.
Will give the clay bar a shot on the back glass - water stains galore!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 21st, 2011, 7:16 pm

didn't know this removes water stains from glass......my rear winscreen is saved yay!!!!

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 22nd, 2011, 10:16 am

on cipero street in sando there is a place called Hercules Holdings that sells car accessories...go there and ask them for a bottle of "Glass Scrub", the brand is "Glass Science" its about $40 for the bottle...its a white cream with very mild abrasives that you hadda massage into the glass (with some elbow grease) then washed off thoroughly with water...it works well IMHO...jus make sure whatever glass you apply the cream is not dry...apply with water b4...

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » February 22nd, 2011, 10:49 am

thanks for the heads up!! much appreciated!

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 22nd, 2011, 12:13 pm

Try the polish as dave said.....works for me

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 24th, 2011, 3:11 pm

Dave wrote:as simple as a good glass cleaner would remove it
even rubbing compound and polish would do the trick

Rubbing compound will most likely work, but you run the risk of inducing fine scratches in teh glass if it's too aggressive.

A clay bar (like was said above) should help....but may not reomve everything completely.

tried the glass cleaner.....it failed miserably.....water marks stand up strong like a bull!

Sounds like the salts in the water (hardness salts) may have etched the glass....how the hell did that happen?????

If so, then try a good glass polish. If not that, something like Meguiars Scratch X 2.0 may do the trick.

As with every thing....try the product in a SMALL INCONSPICUOUS area FIRST to make sure you're happy with the results.

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » February 24th, 2011, 4:04 pm

thanks man....i have bought the clay bar, will make time this weekend to test it out, will update soon!

Postby cinco » February 25th, 2011, 7:26 am

btw the clay bar on the glass will look milky at first so dont be worried
wash it off when you are done and you can apply some rainx or any other glass protector

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 25th, 2011, 10:04 am

scoobert just curious....how much you got the bar for and where?

thanks

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 25th, 2011, 10:33 am

From my professional experience the clay bar, compounds and glass polish would just lighten up the water stains, but it would not remove it. What you would need is a chemical that is specifically designed for this job.

I would recommend to STOP wasting your $$ on getting products that would not solve the problem. In the long run it would cost you more. Cause you would buy various products and some of these products may actually damage the glass.

From what you listed below i am sure that you may have already damaged the glass or the areas around the glass...

This is a problem that needs a professional.

Let me know if you are interested in getting the water stains removed.

Karim Khan
784-9290

scoobert_doo wrote:have a foreign used ae 110 and there are some water stains on the side mirrors, front and driver side and passenger windows and my rear windscreen..ive tried stain removers, rain off, vinegar, soap water, sand paper (on a tiny spot to c if it worked), purple blaster and nothing seems to work....there is a car detailing place right in aranguez close to the highway says they can remove it for 250.00 but id like to remove it myself and save that cash....can anyone help me out here its really frustrating i can barely see through the rear windscreen at night.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 25th, 2011, 3:19 pm

@Karim, what chemical would that be and what guarantee can you offer that it will do the job as opposed to a DIY with a named product?

-n

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 26th, 2011, 8:57 am

^^^what he said.......

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 26th, 2011, 3:55 pm

I lookingall over for a clay bar fellas......anyone know where i can get one...pref. a set like the mother's or the turtle wax ICE..

Thanks in advance

Postby cinco » February 26th, 2011, 10:25 pm

automotive art usually carries the mothers line of products

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 26th, 2011, 11:28 pm

thanks cinco

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » February 28th, 2011, 7:38 am

i was in automotive art saturday...they carry the meguiar's line . they did have the meguiars clay tho . and autorama has the clay bar kit

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 28th, 2011, 7:53 am

i was in automotive art saturday...they carry the meguiar's line . they did have the meguiars clay tho . and autorama has the clay bar kit

Checking them today...... Thanks Trendseta

scoobert you got a chance to do the clean?

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 28th, 2011, 8:24 am

http://www.amazon.com/Meguiars-Complete ... 244&sr=8-2

Check this out...Looks like a good deal.

just in case anyone looking to order. :lol:

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 28th, 2011, 9:02 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:@Karim, what chemical would that be and what guarantee can you offer that it will do the job as opposed to a DIY with a named product?

-n

Vexx, To remove water stains from your car glass, i would recommend you visit a professional, there are alot of DIY applications you would find on the net, but IMO they dont give me the results that i want. It may lighten up the damage but would not remove it.

I am all for the DIY process and i would be glad to advise anyone on how to do something, But in this case i would recommend you just go to a professional to have it done. it will be economically viable in the long run.

I see some you recommending compound to be use to fix the damage. But the first question you should ask yourself is : Is this product designed to be used in this application! - and the answer is No. Yes it may remove it but what is the side effects - alot of very fine scratched in the glass. you many not see it the day , but when you are driving in the night it will show up with the on coming lights of another car. So you may end up spending more in the long run.

The process i use is a combination of chemicals and technique. the chemical is specially designed for this propose but with out the proper technique you may not get the desired results.

Remember if you mess up you paint you can alway get it sprayed, but if you mess up glass you will have to replace it.

Which do you prefer???