WTK. Thermostat installation DIY?

Kes67

WTK. Thermostat installation DIY?

Postby Kes67 » February 22nd, 2011, 12:09 pm

Hi Guys,

My thermostat stuck and a mechanic took it out. After reading about its importance i decided that i am would put one back in.

I bought it, but was wondering is the installation something i can do for myself (DIY).
If so can someone help me out with instructions. Like which end of thermostat faces the engine and which end faces the hoss....and anything else useful... Thanks in advance

BTW. since it out i took the opportunity to do a flush already. So just to install now.

Kes67

Re: WTK. Thermostat installation DIY?

Postby Kes67 » February 22nd, 2011, 12:09 pm

Oh i forgot to mention.....QG15 engine

Postby Morpheus » February 23rd, 2011, 3:47 am

It's rather simple in a CK Lancer. I don't see why it cannot be a DIY for the QG15... See if you can get an engine manual.

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 23rd, 2011, 10:18 am

Thanks man

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 23rd, 2011, 11:19 am

in case anyone else ever wants to do this

http://www.fixya.com/cars/t3360662-repl ... 001_nissan

not exact images but enough to go on.

Postby Morpheus » February 23rd, 2011, 6:37 pm

^^Exactly. Just like the Lancer, make sure the jiggle valve is on top. Is really just a simple install.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 24th, 2011, 6:13 am

OP,if the one u bought wasn't a fail safe, u can remove the the 'valve' or whatever u call it and drill a small hole in its place!

that way if it ever gets stuck again,u run a much lower risk of overheating!

my $0.02

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » February 24th, 2011, 9:52 am

Thanks man....i can't take that overheating again....

So I'm taking the advice from another thread and changing the thermostat every 6 month to yr or so... it was $145 by bobby's not a bad price for piece of mind...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 24th, 2011, 3:20 pm

^^Good call....change the OE valve every year or so....and you should be fine.

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 9th, 2012, 9:27 am

OP did you get through with changing it? Should a gasket maker be used between the inlet and the block? About to replace my qg15de thermostat as well and would like to do it myself.

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » November 9th, 2012, 9:39 am

Yes got through with it.... it was very easy, one thing to be careful with though is making sure you put it in the right direction. Get a good gasket maker with a high temp rating and you good to go. Check the link up top and you should get an idea of the direction

Hope you get through.

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 11th, 2012, 6:36 pm

Well I got the thermostat at The Motorist for $184. Is it just to remove the black piece that the hose is connected to in the pic and pop it in?
WP_000016.jpg

Kes67

Postby Kes67 » November 11th, 2012, 8:11 pm

Yep that's it... Check the site

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 5th, 2012, 1:24 pm

Curious, What Causes the Thermostat to stick?
Coolant contains a lubricant which is for the water pump, won't it help the thermostat from sticking? correct me if i'm wrong