Overheating problem in cs2 lancer

soundboi86

Overheating problem in cs2 lancer

Postby soundboi86 » July 26th, 2013, 1:52 pm

yea fellas my cs2 lancer overheating when i climbing hills with d ac on, but when i take off the ac the car working normal, could any one tell me the problem???

Re: Overheating problem in cs2 lancer

Postby rollingstock » July 26th, 2013, 2:45 pm

Check your fans first.

Does the temp climb above normal under load? eg driving wot?

Postby wagonrunner » July 26th, 2013, 2:49 pm

CS3 was doing something similar last year. would overheat under load. regardless of A/C on or off though.

Turned out some of the tubes in the radiator were clogged with sediment. Problem never recurred after a good cleanout of the cooling system.

Postby rollingstock » July 26th, 2013, 2:57 pm

Thinking teh same thing, that's why i asked.

Had a similar problem recently, going over the LYR temp would skyrocket going uphill, goes back to normal once going downhill.

Solution, don't laugh.

Drained rad, disconnected top and bottom hoses, blocked off with plastic bag and tie straps.
Flushed with clean water, then refilled with Toilet bowl cleaner :oops:
Came in a gallon bottle, active ingredient *something* acid.

Let sit for a few hours and then drained, placed garden hose in filer neck and let flush, got large chunks of rust and deposits, looked like flake fish food.

Rad looked polished inside after, no more problems.

Postby wagonrunner » July 26th, 2013, 3:00 pm

active "acid" ingredient in an aluminium rad overnight? that could be recipe for a shutdown.

Im still trying to work out why OP's problem is worse when the AC is on though. As if his A/C switch restricting fans from going into the higher speed.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 26th, 2013, 3:01 pm

There's a radiator flush tablet that dissolves any scale and build up, good to clean a really dirty rad. @ RS - yuh eh easy. Toilet bowl cleaner?

Postby rollingstock » July 26th, 2013, 3:10 pm

wagonrunner wrote:active "acid" ingredient in an aluminium rad overnight? that could be recipe for a shutdown.

Im still trying to work out why OP's problem is worse when the AC is on though. As if his A/C switch restricting fans from going into the higher speed.

Nah just a few hours.

Tried conventional flushes, didn't work.
What really caused my problem was using a bottle of radiator stop leak on an already dirty rad.

Hey don't knock my Mcgyverism :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » July 26th, 2013, 3:16 pm

I eh knock it padna, but just a use at own risk to "I going and try that" :lol: :lol: