tyres

CD4Accord

Re: tyres

Postby CD4Accord » May 26th, 2010, 9:50 am

That Hankook is a good tyre, but try calling up tyre centre to see if they have.. They have some serious stock issues for the past 2 years I find.. Also, their prices a bit too high for what you getting.. But still give them a call and see

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 26th, 2010, 3:04 pm

Yokohama S.Drive
Got these on my RORO subaru recently
Pretty impressed with them so far.
Haven't pushed them though
Good traction wet and dry
Low noise
Comfortable.
No tyre squeal on corners that I've noticed

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 26th, 2010, 5:21 pm

S Drive is a pretty popular summer Tyre here in the US... Pretty good reviews and was almost neck and neck with the Kumho SPT we been talking about... It beat the Kumho for comfort but the Kumho beat it on absolute grip..

Nonetheless I enjoyed Yokohama when I had them (AS 430's) but after moving to Continental.. I can't say i'll look back

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 26th, 2010, 5:53 pm

in this kinda weather u need some serious uhp tyres cant afford to get a tyre with not so good traction and grip my nanks almost pick up a skid this morning and i wasnt even going 60!!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 26th, 2010, 8:25 pm

I guess that justifies me trying to steer you away from Nankang.. I don't rate Nankang, Nexen, Roadstone etc... not something I would put on my car personally..

Anyway, what did you find out about the Ventus? call them yet?

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 26th, 2010, 8:57 pm

actually i work not too far from them so i was thinking of checking them but between work and school these days hardly ne free time but as soon as i get onto them ill post up something cd4 :!:

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 27th, 2010, 9:16 am

novastar1 wrote:Haven't pushed them though

No tyre squeal on corners that I've noticed

dat's why u don't get a squeal, push harder! :lol:

CD4, are d Kumho's really DAT good?! :shock:

Renaldo25, i don't tink UHP tyres r built 4 wet traction, tho... :?

FYI: i saw QuickService has sale, but i din check 2 see wot dey're offerin...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 27th, 2010, 9:26 am

Renaldo25, i don't tink UHP tyres r built 4 wet traction, tho...

Yes they are :?

Tyre classes are:

Summer = dry / wet traction

All season = dry /wet & winter/cold temp traction

The MAIN difference, being winter traction/cold traction. Most UHP tyres handle well on wet conditions, even moreso than most lower grade tyres. MHP class tyres generally surpass that.....but some EPS tyres may have sketchy wet traction (Ecsta MX for examplly).

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 27th, 2010, 9:38 am

This is the test I was referring to.http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tests/tes ... sp?ttid=97

That said, the kumho is still an above average tyre but it doesnt move it up into the excellent category.. The price is right however and that makes it a good buy.

EVA, from my experience "Sale" is a relative term when it comes to quick service.. give them a call and see that their prices are now... You might be shocked to hear the price they calling for tyres..

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 27th, 2010, 9:49 am

Knight1, what i meant is dat d UHP's r usually meant 4 betta grip & brakin 4 sport(y), not necessarily betta wet traction 4 normal everyday drivers

CD4, i saw a sign outside sayin d 195/60/15 passenger tyres are $350 or thereabouts (+ VAT, i assume), which isn't dat bad.. will check dem if i hav time, callin 2 ask 4 tyre specs is like askin 4 direction 2 d end of a rainbow

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 27th, 2010, 1:20 pm

Knight1, what i meant is dat d UHP's r usually meant 4 betta grip & brakin 4 sport(y), not necessarily betta wet traction 4 normal everyday drivers

Actually, they ARE better at wet traction than other tyres....even for normal drivers under wet conditions.

Take a look at Tire Rack's review scores (all their scores are comparitive), UHPS tyres score better wet traction (which is a benefit that can be had at any speed in the wet) in T-Rack's reviews, than say, an HPS or HPA class tyre.

Maybe you're confusing UHPS tyres with, say, MPS or EPS tyres? Both MPS and EPS are generally stickier in compound, and have larger tread blocks......some EPS (and some MPS too!) tyres can suffer under wet traction at any speed.

Some examples:

UHPS = Potenza RE040 / RE050, SUmitomo HTRZII, Potenza RE760 Sport

MPS = Potenza S-02

EPS = Ecsta XS

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 27th, 2010, 2:20 pm

maybe i am confusin dem... wuz neva good wit d alphabet, more of a numbers person really :lol:

nehoo, i'm gettin mor & mor pissed wit my Direzza's (d so-called UHP *steups*), ne suggestions 4 a good 205/60/15 tyre?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 27th, 2010, 2:33 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:maybe i am confusin dem... wuz neva good wit d alphabet, more of a numbers person really :lol:

nehoo, i'm gettin mor & mor pissed wit my Direzza's (d so-called UHP *steups*), ne suggestions 4 a good 205/60/15 tyre?

You at least check the proxes yet?
What happening to the DZ101's now?
You think that you driving too close to the max speed rating?

We have to go pricemart to get those car mats you were showing me.
Saturday = 1roadtrip
but quick because I have a lot of work to do

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 27th, 2010, 2:54 pm

nova, dem DZ101's sh!t, just like guy sed earlier. i tort wuz jes me & d set i hav, but d fackin tramlining will send me crazy or 2 d my grave! and no, my tyres r 88V, so i :cool:

i goin DM 2 service in d morn, so rong lunchtime shud b good. i go call yuh...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 27th, 2010, 3:35 pm

^^You sure the tyres not defective? I had gotten one defective one from a certain dealer in chag......off centre wobble mind you. You could consider the HTR ZII as an economy alternative. Not a bad tyre all in all.

Postby X_Factor » May 27th, 2010, 4:08 pm

how come u all using DZ 101 and having soo much probs?...about 4yrs ago when they were new to the scene i had them on my car and they worked dammn good...hydroplaning was minimum and grip was pretty good for a daily driven tyre not to mention it was the best tyre for under 500$(15")
tirerack tests and reviews showed while it wasnt the best...it was good for the price!

i mean what do u all really want for 500$?..its far better than triangle, nankang and nexen
u all seem to want everything out of it...if u really do try spending 7-800+ for a tyre!

u all talk about tramlining but watch at our roads!!...almost all tyres will tramline!! not to mention when u hav aged/worn/bad suspension parts and improperly lowered vehicles

i hav potenza's Re01-R's on my car for the past probably 1.5yrs and u dare not drive tru a puddle of water!! not to mention driving the extreme left lane heading to south...u talk tramline...

wit that said...what would u all say is the best 15" tyre under 500$? presently

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 27th, 2010, 4:38 pm

Eva1, you shopping the same exactly size as me, and trust me I called around everywhere...

It quite hard to get good tyres down here in 205/60/15 short of custom ordering some Potenza RE960's...

The best I have found price/quality is Kumho SPT (KU31) but its in 205/55/15 if you don't have a problem with that... Its actually closer to my stock (195/60/15) than running 205/60...

It should be about $530 including VAT each and you will struggle to find that sort of quality at that price...

If you have $$ to spare Toyo T1R, but then you talking $880 or so each...

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » May 27th, 2010, 5:07 pm

good point x-factor i work st aug and have to pass through tunapuna some of them backroads will kill you. literally! not to mention the odd pot-warphole that will appear suddenly out of nowhere in convenient areas like the highway.......

Postby bushwakka » May 27th, 2010, 5:32 pm

yup X_Factor has got it right...u get what u pay for, personally the Direzza doesn't fit my driving style so i use the SP Sport Maxx which is $775......but for an average joe everyday driver, i've recommended them to a couple of my friends and they are quite comfortable with it.....esp given the warranty on them from tyre clinic

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 27th, 2010, 6:28 pm

novastar1 wrote:You at least check the proxes yet?
What happening to the DZ101's now?
You think that you driving too close to the max speed rating?

I checked up on the Proxes in his size.. I think the closest you will get is 205/50/15... Will cause a bit of a speedo issue...

Also, it is HIGHLY unlikely you will drive close to the max speed of the DZ101s because as far as I know all the DZ101' are V rated.. AKA 149mph and mad props to you if your car can reach/exceed that.. especially on Trinidad roads..

Might sound ridiculous to some of the DZ101 fans here, but I honestly felt better grip out of my sister's Nexen N3000's and everyone here knows that I don't rate Nexen AT ALLLL. Yes the 101 sells for a good price, but think of the other things in the pricerange eg. Kumho SPT or Sumitomo HTR ZII etc... I would much rather either..
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/surveyres ... p?type=UHP

Also a nice comparison here
http://www.1010tires.com/tire.asp?tireb ... %28KU31%29
vs
http://www.1010tires.com/tire.asp?tireb ... ezza+DZ101

My point is, just because you want a good cheap tyre, doesnt mean you need to settle for below average...

novastar1 wrote:
EVA Unit-01 wrote:We have to go pricemart to get those car mats you were showing me.
Saturday = 1roadtrip
but quick because I have a lot of work to do

When next either of you plan to go pricesmart can you take a look at synthetic oil prices down there? Been years since I went inside pricesmart and have no idea what they selling these days..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 27th, 2010, 11:08 pm

To ghostbusters.. when you make it to this thread...

What is your take on the SPT from experience? A few of us here been thinking about purchasing recently.. What size you running and what branch did you check for stock?

Concerning falken.. Don't have experience with their car tyres but had them on the Pajero and it cut ridiculously badly with extremely uneven wear... Something I haven't faced with any of the other brands used on that vehicle... Nonetheless I have heard positive car reviews..

http://www.1010tires.com/tirebrand.asp?brand=Falken
http://tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Falken/

What prices in comparison to the Kumho?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 27th, 2010, 11:15 pm

the spt's are great man, the traction rating is AA, i bought them in south laughlin and de gannes, they just have a couple SPT run flats in my size, 205/45/17, they have a pair of 225/45/17 as well, but those would rub in my car.

the traction in the spt's so good, i raised off my back right side tire from the road once and didnt even hear tire squeel on any of the other three, the ride quality is good and the only other tire i have experience with in this segment is the dunlop direzza dz101, which i think cant compete with the spt.

Since i cant find the spt's and i need tires this weekend i thought i'd try the falken ziex, i heard couple good reviews on mazdas247.com about them, anyone know who sells these locally?

south out of stock , I asked them to check north, the guy checked some book and said north also doesn't have.
Last edited by FullStop on May 27th, 2010, 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 27th, 2010, 11:16 pm

i usually pay about 500-600 for 16's and a bit over 700 for 17's thats for the ecsta spt.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 27th, 2010, 11:25 pm

Do yourself a favour and call north cause normally south never knows whats going on up there... They have SPT's in stock up north for 3 weeks now in my size but south still doesn't have.....

Definitely follow that up yourself..
Also, I don't really see the point of run flats... It has worse traction, is louder and generally numbs out the performance of the tyre.. Yes it is run flat which makes it safer if you get a flat, but I would never be content knowing I didnt get the most performance out of a particular tyre..

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 27th, 2010, 11:32 pm

yup, thats what I'm saying, i dont use the run flats, i use the straight up spt's, which part in north they located, i figure I'll go tomorrow, need tires asap.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 27th, 2010, 11:35 pm

Honestly, I cah remember offhand where they are in north but thas what phonebook is for.. I out the country right now, so give them a call and check the situation...

While you there if you dont mind doing me a favour, can you ask about 205/60/15 or 205/55/15 in the SPT's? ie. if they have, what price etc

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 27th, 2010, 11:39 pm

no probs, will check that out tomorrow...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 28th, 2010, 5:55 am

[quote]Since i cant find the spt's and i need tires this weekend i thought i'd try the falken ziex, i heard couple good reviews on mazdas247.com about them, anyone know who sells these locally?/quote]

WHICH ZieX's?

I used to use the ZieX 512 on one of my cars. Not a bad tyre, but go noisy near the end-of-life.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 28th, 2010, 8:07 am

CD4Accord wrote:The best I have found price/quality is Kumho SPT (KU31) but its in 205/55/15 if you don't have a problem with that... Its actually closer to my stock (195/60/15) than running 205/60...

actually, both sizes are about the same difference from stock, one's taller and one's shorter. currently running 205/55/15 DZ's, but i'd prefer more rubber for comfort (both physical and mental)

X_Factor wrote:u all talk about tramlining but watch at our roads!!...almost all tyres will tramline!! not to mention when u hav aged/worn/bad suspension parts and improperly lowered vehicles

not exactly true. i had Bridgestone Turanza's dat came wit d car: dey were so perfect i neva even tort bout doin neting 4 dem & wore d front pair down 2 deth. neva had a SINGLE problem wit dem, & i'm drivin d same (or betta) roads now. & my stock car is <2yrs old from the firm, so it's not d odda issues u mentioned...

ghostbusters wrote:Since i cant find the spt's and i need tires this weekend i thought i'd try the falken ziex, i heard couple good reviews on mazdas247.com about them, anyone know who sells these locally?

X2!!!
venum sed his experience wit d Ziex on his Lancer was nothing but good, so i'm def interested...

Knight1, i guess ne kind of Ziex we CUD GET locally!

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 28th, 2010, 8:24 am

The best I have found price/quality is Kumho SPT (KU31) but its in 205/55/15 if you don't have a problem with that... Its actually closer to my stock (195/60/15) than running 205/60...

It should be about $530 including VAT each and you will struggle to find that sort of quality at that price...

where is this available?