Apparent Radiator Problem *

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » April 24th, 2009, 10:23 am

buzz wrote:for the uninformed a transmission is a transmission weather it be automatic transmission or manual transmission :arrow:

low transmission oil could be the culprit

x1bazeeelion!

lexic

Postby lexic » May 19th, 2009, 6:54 pm

yuh car woking like sheit and yuh have a problem when i trying to sell mine. get yuh facts right then judge people. that is y u have problems!!!!!!

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 19th, 2009, 7:00 pm

lexic wrote:yuh car woking like sheit and yuh have a problem when i trying to sell mine. get yuh facts right then judge people. that is y u have problems!!!!!!

Okay champion

krack korn

Postby krack korn » May 20th, 2009, 8:22 am

Where do you have the sensor for the gauge installed? The oem sensor location is on the return side after the thermostat. This would give you the temp of the water returning from the radiator after being cooled, typically it should range from a min of the opening temp of the thermostat to a max of about 100 deg C. If you have it installed on the water outlet side then I think your temps are normal.

The increase in coolant temp is normal on the outlet side under heavy load like going up hills, hard acceleration on flat, or taking shouter baptists on an excursion.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 20th, 2009, 8:26 am

krack korn wrote:Where do you have the sensor for the gauge installed? The oem sensor location is on the return side after the thermostat. This would give you the temp of the water returning from the radiator after being cooled, typically it should range from a min of the opening temp of the thermostat to a max of about 100 deg C. If you have it installed on the water outlet side then I think your temps are normal.

The increase in coolant temp is normal on the outlet side under heavy load like going up hills, hard acceleration on flat, or taking shouter baptists on an excursion.

The sensor is installed on the outlet that runs into the radiator. While there are some on this thread who say the water temperature is normal, i am still uncomfortable as to these readings. Im doing over a 3 core radiator this week.

A little History - This present radiator was originally in a 626 and cooling was excellent. However, when i did the transplant, the garage cut the top and shortened the radiator for it to fit into a b-14 spacing. A couple weeks after that - this is where this "heating" problem started.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » May 20th, 2009, 9:07 am

don't make sense that the problem would happen a few weeks after, it should happen immediately if the radiator or the modification to the radiator is the culprit.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 20th, 2009, 10:39 am

The issue is not about making "sense" or not. Perhaps the problem developed as it was put into service and could not hold the PSI needed for effective cooling. Note: this problem was only noticed after going uphill.

Im no raditoar expert, all i can do is give a practical account on whats happening.