tyres

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 21st, 2009, 3:29 pm

Chemical Darryl wrote:Taken off Triangle's web site....

Triangle has also become an important supplier of OEM tires for some of the best known vehicle and equipment manufacturers the world over.

Having obtained a leadership position in the domestic tire market in China

Sooooo....Wingles, Sailors, Dong Fengs etc come with Triangle Tires? :lol:

Here's a tire description from their website

PASSENGER CAR TIRE / NEUMÃ

Postby bushwakka » December 24th, 2009, 8:25 pm

^wat he said....wud u buy a car solely based on what the salesperson tells u? done talk

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 25th, 2009, 7:53 am

^^There are people that do. :?

Hence why some folks ended up buying Lada Riva's back in the later part of the 90's, and some folks (of similar mental capacity) use Nexen and Triangle tyres today.

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » December 25th, 2009, 8:42 am

Kumho supra 912 all d way,tried toyo,cooper zeon,pirelli,nexxen etc,kumho is d best bang 4 d buck street tyre avaliable,impressive grip especially on wet roads,milage has them

Postby X_Factor » December 25th, 2009, 9:57 am

^^ price and size?

Postby bushwakka » December 25th, 2009, 7:19 pm

Knight1 wrote:^^There are people that do. :?

Hence why some folks ended up buying Lada Riva's back in the later part of the 90's, and some folks (of similar mental capacity) use Nexen and Triangle tyres today.

yea.....buh i givin de man de benefit of de doubt

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 29th, 2009, 4:40 pm

X_Factor wrote:^^ T1-S is a sweet tyre

is that what you got?

indeed!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 30th, 2009, 5:05 pm

Well, I am not usually one to ask broad openended questions, but what do you all consider the best AA tyre for the price...
205/60/15

I was thinking Toyo Proxes but Mileage Mack has a bit of a markup on them..

Looking for other ideas..

If not AA, an excellent A tyre which gives great grip without being TOO soft.. too soft being, under 320 or so..

Postby X_Factor » December 30th, 2009, 9:18 pm

^ wat budget?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » December 30th, 2009, 9:27 pm

i believe dat Tyre Clinic hav d local dealership. whoeva interested cud check dem in Couva, d girl dey real nice

she real help mih wen i wuz havin mih X-Files issue wit mih DZ's (which ROCK, btw)

Postby wagonrunner » December 31st, 2009, 1:05 am

X_Factor wrote:
Triangle seems to be pretty good for the price...IMO its better than Nexens as Nexens have a very soft side wall & @ highspeeds (120km) its pretty unstable

u ever felt the side wall of those triangle tyres?...about 1mth ago i went with my cuz while he was looking for some rims n tyres....the shop wanted to sell him the triangle tyrs with the rims..really great price eh..
wen u press the sidewall...it feels REALLY REALLY soft...if u hit a small pothole im pretty sure that tyre gonna burst or get badly damaged when compared to even a direzza dz101 which i still think is the best 15" tyre for 500-525

there is a reason why some tyres are cheap and some cost more

Marketing!!! ENT??

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » December 31st, 2009, 1:32 am

De tyre shop next to Tyre clinic in Montrose sells Triangle. They don't know where it comes from and the price just $25 less than a sumitomo, same size.

De sales girl had me wait while she ole talk with she frien' on the phone. Then had no answers about the tyre. I had to inspect it for myself to see its 'specs'.

I went next door.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 31st, 2009, 2:20 am

I would probably be willing to go up to $800 a tyre for my AA quest...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 4th, 2010, 5:17 pm

Was doing some more reading on the Kumho Ecsta ASX, apparently a good tyre but with not so good wet traction, something I consider quite important..

Looks like I will keep on searching..

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 4th, 2010, 6:03 pm

^^ that was my main reason for going Toyo over the Kumho, Dunlop and Sumitomo for my size.

Postby cinco » January 4th, 2010, 6:05 pm

honestly im not impressed by toyo fzr's noisy and no good in the wet
sumitomos are pretty nice and quiet and grippy for a budget

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 5th, 2010, 3:44 am

Who sells the sumitomo and who is the best place to call for dunlop?

I'm also looking at some other options cause quickservice have bf goodrich and michelin 25% off right now... I NOT putting touring tyres on this car though, has to be something sporty if im going that route..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 5th, 2010, 5:41 am

^^Tyre Clinic in Chag is the agent for both Sumitomo and Dunlop.

I'd look into the Dunlop Sportmaxx if I were you........
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on January 5th, 2010, 8:00 am, edited 2 times in total.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 5th, 2010, 7:53 am

^^^yeah, check dem. dey warranty is d bomb!

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2010, 8:25 am

X_Factor wrote:
Triangle seems to be pretty good for the price...IMO its better than Nexens as Nexens have a very soft side wall & @ highspeeds (120km) its pretty unstable

u ever felt the side wall of those triangle tyres?...about 1mth ago i went with my cuz while he was looking for some rims n tyres....the shop wanted to sell him the triangle tyrs with the rims..really great price eh..
wen u press the sidewall...it feels REALLY REALLY soft...if u hit a small pothole im pretty sure that tyre gonna burst or get badly damaged when compared to even a direzza dz101 which i still think is the best 15" tyre for 500-525

there is a reason why some tyres are cheap and some cost more

Marketing!!! ENT??
a classic example I remember from my ACL days was the fact that Triangle truck tyres were about half the price of goodyear truck tyres
why?
cheaper labour? no
economies of scale? no
Inferior construction...some of them had half the number of plies in their construction compared to a Goodyear.....
and these are tyres that are meant to carry load
and now they are making passenger tyres
*shudders*

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 5th, 2010, 10:31 am

Knight1 wrote:^^Tyre Clinic in Chag is the agent for both Sumitomo and Dunlop.

I'd look into the Dunlop Sportmaxx if I were you........

as far as i remember (i could be wrong)

the only 15" sportmaxx tire is the 195-50-15.....

been using them for the past 3 years ... great tire

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 5th, 2010, 11:02 am

Knight1 wrote:^^There are people that do. :?

Just because T&T had no support for Lada makes it rubbish. It gained acceptance in other parts of the world.

It is listed as one of the top selling cars of ALL TIME

http://nvkumar.wordpress.com/2008/05/15 ... cars-ever/

but I still dont like it :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2010, 11:07 am

yup
and it goes waaay back to FIAT origins.....
trinis just don;t know
A Lada kicked rass in the Paris Dakar too eh

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 5th, 2010, 11:50 am

^^No. You assume that only you are the "non-avg" trini who knows about "zee auto" :lol:

So what if the Lada did well in rally.

Citroen was all the rage in WRC.........and I've always liked the 2CV (I had a lovely Corgi version way back....that's teh reason why).

But...at the end of the day..... they're still all crap IMHO.

Case in point.....who in their right mind was going to buy a car which featured a SINGLE barrel carb.......NEW...... in the late 90's?

Ah yes.....Lada Riva....how I laughed at thee.

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » January 5th, 2010, 5:22 pm

bridgestone potenzas work really fine, but its the ZR/R Compound, for Best Grip and street performance, its works like a Street and strip.. But It wears out fast and its expensive.....

Some of the best quality of tires on the market are : Kumho, bridgestone Turanza, Nexen3000, Dunlop sports 01, Michelin and Pirelli to name a few...

And Well there is Foreign news as they Are CHEAP.....

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2010, 8:12 pm

Knight1 wrote:

Case in point.....who in their right mind was going to buy a car which featured a SINGLE barrel carb.......NEW...... in the late 90's?

some of the Liberos came with a single carb which looked like an SU carb turned on its side............go figure

Postby X_Factor » January 5th, 2010, 9:00 pm

bridgestone potenzas work really fine, but its the ZR/R Compound, for Best Grip and street performance, its works like a Street and strip.. But It wears out fast and its expensive.....

which one is that dread?....what causes it to wear out fast?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 5th, 2010, 10:02 pm

Went to Ramrattan M on PAP road in sando today, and told me that I could get the Sumitomo HTR 200 or the Dunlop Direzza for 550 each,.. still trying to push them to order some of the Potenza Re960 Pole Positions for me though...

Also stopped into Quick Service or whatever the michelin people are called.. even with 25% off, the prices on both BF Goodrich and Michelin are too inflated..

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 5th, 2010, 10:08 pm

Tyre clinic will have almost cheapest prices on Dunlop and sumitomo simply because they supply most of the other tyreshops. Plus you get discount for buying full sets. :mrgreen:

minipresident

Postby minipresident » January 6th, 2010, 8:11 pm

yeah, they are the suppliers for these brands and if you buy directly from one of their delivery vans it is usually much cheaper.