k&n difference?

masterofmindz

Postby masterofmindz » April 28th, 2010, 7:28 am

personally, i experienced nothing to talk about whether my filter is k&n or not...just my opinion

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 1st, 2010, 2:14 pm

well actually for me - the k&n made a huge difference - my van have a conical shape replacement filter - after installing the K&N - i got more top end and i can feel the van breathe better as well as i got better fuel mileage . the K&N worth every penny

masterofmindzchris

Re: k&n difference?

Postby masterofmindzchris » May 11th, 2010, 1:28 am

still no difference

Postby 3stagevtec » May 11th, 2010, 1:35 am

It really depends on the install as well.. Lots of guys use those short ram K&N filters and the benefits of those are usually cancelled out by the hot under hood air hey draw in.

Use the K&N in conjunction with a Cold Air Intake and you should see a more realistic gain (I would say 3-5%).

In turbo charged pickups, you should see a greater increase in power because of how restrictive the stock setup usually is..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 11th, 2010, 6:32 am

^^for true boi - every time i rev the accelerator i can hear the turbo spooling better

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 15th, 2010, 10:54 pm

you can put the biggest k&n filter you can find on your car, chances are your car not going to be sucking in the extra air your filter can pull so chances are you not going to make a difference.

i like it cuz it environmentally friendly

make no difference in my car

my $0.02

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 25th, 2010, 9:39 pm

SiR8081 wrote:i like it cuz it environmentally friendly

not only dat, but it cheapa 2 clean mor often 4 improved fuel efficiency

GO PLANET!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 25th, 2010, 11:39 pm

I was considering buying one of the K + N drop in's for my sister cefiro..
I was willing to try it more as an experiment than anything, if I get more power great.. if not, i could keep reusing it..

Only thing is, I still have some hangups about the alleged reduced filtration with this filter.. Not really a fan of having dirt etc sucked into the engine.. Anyone care to shed some light? Is the risk worth the minimal (if any) gain?

---

Otherwise, what brand air filter do you all recommend locally? I find Sakura cornering the market and I finding it harder and harder to get purolator etc..

ivar

Postby ivar » May 26th, 2010, 7:34 pm

Only thing is, I still have some hangups about the alleged reduced filtration with this filter.. Not really a fan of having dirt etc sucked into the engine.. Anyone care to shed some light? Is the risk worth the minimal (if any) gain?

i will like to the the answer to dat also

Postby bushwakka » May 26th, 2010, 9:48 pm

the difference will be in ur mind

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 27th, 2010, 11:19 pm

Just bought a K&N for the volvo.. Cost $40USD but seeing as this car is in the states im less worried about dust getting through the filter... I guess you could consider this a trial run to determine if I want to/if its worth buying for my Trinidad cars...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 30th, 2010, 5:39 am

Have done some driving with the new K&N drop in on the volvo and honestly.. If there is any improvement it is too small to feel it.. I think that there is a slightly marginal increase in power on the top end but I think that is owing more to changing the air filter than anything with the K+N

I will possibly put my old filter back in and devise some sort of test short of taking it on the dyno... I don't have money to dyno two cars right now...
Anyway, I will keep my K+N but for $40 US I cant think its worth it, and in all likelihood wont be doing this on any of my other cars..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 3rd, 2010, 10:20 am

changing an air filter in a car wont automatically make it feel like it had a turbo kit bolted on.......
K&N has two main selling points.......almost infinitely re-usable, and flows almost the same amount of air clean or dirty..........
normal paper filters can do neither.......a clogged up paper filter is very very restrictive........and of-course a non OEM replacement is $60.......considering i paid $350 for a K&N in 2006, plus 2 cleaning kits for $100 each, and cleaned the filter many many times........its prob covered its initial cost already.......
i WILL buy again.........

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 3rd, 2010, 10:40 am

^^aNY thoughts on the BITOG forum's posts about some folks oil analyses showing higher silica levels after using a K&N drop in etc?

The "talk" was that the filter sacrfices some filtration capacity for a little more flow (supposedly). AS for me, I moved back to OEM, and will probably stick with that, even with the ultra big 1 hp loss I face as the fitler gets a little dirtier.

Just my 2c.....for panel filters anyway. CAI's/SRI's....now that's another story :D :D

Postby A172 » June 3rd, 2010, 11:08 am

cacasplat3 wrote:changing an air filter in a car wont automatically make it feel like it had a turbo kit bolted on.......
K&N has two main selling points.......almost infinitely re-usable, and flows almost the same amount of air clean or dirty..........
normal paper filters can do neither.......a clogged up paper filter is very very restrictive........and of-course a non OEM replacement is $60.......considering i paid $350 for a K&N in 2006, plus 2 cleaning kits for $100 each, and cleaned the filter many many times........its prob covered its initial cost already.......
i WILL buy again.........

you geyin tie up

yuh never hear the typical econobox jivah when dey put in dey drop-in filter? :lol:

worse yet when dey put the k&n stickah on dey car :lol: :lol: :lol:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 3rd, 2010, 1:05 pm

Knight1 wrote:^^aNY thoughts on the BITOG forum's posts about some folks oil analyses showing higher silica levels after using a K&N drop in etc?

The "talk" was that the filter sacrfices some filtration capacity for a little more flow (supposedly). AS for me, I moved back to OEM, and will probably stick with that, even with the ultra big 1 hp loss I face as the fitler gets a little dirtier.

Just my 2c.....for panel filters anyway. CAI's/SRI's....now that's another story :D :D

link to the post? wayyy too many posts on that site for me to find it....lol

if it is true......i'm not really surprised.....
but from an engineering standpoint, a little extra dust ingested into an engine wont be detrimental........and note i said dust, not sand..........
there are way too many variables in everyday driving to attribute a K&N to a higher silica content in oil..........i'm not saying its not true, but lets be realistic........driving around for 2 months and then changing the oil....testing it, and then driving around for another 2 months and testing again isnt exactly scientific......lol
and what exactly are the chemical effects of higher silica content in oil?

i am sure that the K&N sacrifices a bit of filtration for flow, but its not as simple as that, as i posted before, the K&N is oiled, not dry.......so the margin of how well it filters dust compared to paper is not as large and some sceptics make it seem........
pic shows what the filters let pass through after approx 500 miles.
left to right top to bottom:
Jackson racing: foam
Amsoil: Oiled foam
K&N: Oiled cotton
Mazda: paper
Baldwin:Paper
NAPA:paper
http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/airfilter/airtest3.htm
the K&N gives what? about 5%-10% more dust pass through?
for all we know that's all soot and not even dust........ :?

i have noticed that some soot does accumulate on the wire gauze just before the MAF in the cefiro......i attributed that to the soot from diesel engines that i frequently followed on the highway.........i do think that there would be a bit less soot if i was using a paper filter, but after soo many years without a problem, it seems anal to go back to paper/OEM.......i have however used paper filters that were soo restrictive i tossed it two days later...........

oh, BTW i'm using a cone attached to an adapter mounted to the MAF, not a drop in.....ignorance and stubbornness dictated that i go with a cone instead of a drop in........

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 3rd, 2010, 3:01 pm

i do think that there would be a bit less soot if i was using a paper filter, but after soo many years without a problem, it seems anal to go back to paper/OEM.......

It is :lol:

Going from K&N, to a MonsterSport (PowerFilter) then back to OE (for 140 TTD :lol:), I can't feel any difference.

I guess it's paranoia kicking in, but I may very well use the OE next time as well.

A172 wrote:you geyin tie up

yuh never hear the typical econobox jivah when dey put in dey drop-in filter? :lol:

worse yet when dey put the k&n stickah on dey car

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 3rd, 2010, 5:42 pm

This might sound ridiculous but in the few days since I put the K&N on the volvo the on board info screen is showing significantly less MPG than I would normally get...
Once im cruising it settles down, but under any form of acceleration (light or heavy) im getting single digits which is very much unlike my car... despite it being a 2.9l

I will probably do a few runs around the block using OEM vs K&N to see if there is any difference or if its just my mind.. Of course i'll try to make it as scientific as possible.. meaning do it at night when its clear.. I'll try some cruising tests first followed up by some full accel runs from the same locations..
Finally, I can use acceleration from the cruise control as a good standard way of testing before and after... I'll try to get this done this weekend and erase my paranoia..

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » June 11th, 2010, 1:11 pm

Knight1 wrote:
A172 wrote:you geyin tie up

worse yet when dey put the k&n stickah on dey car

i feel personally attacked! :(

neway, as an environmental kinda guy, i have 2 say dat dust is not dat big if an issue in Trinidad GENERALLY

only severe dust-generating activities in an area usually send the levels above USEPA guidelines, as far as i've seen

as such, i don't see d lil extra dust from d K&N bein in sufficeint amounts 2 wreck ur engine

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 11th, 2010, 4:24 pm

^^On the flip side, (talking about a PANEL FILTER!!!), is the minor increase in dust justified for the 0.5 increase in hp (if any at all for that matter) when using a K&N PANEL filter?

Before anyone throws up website claims and dynos....dyno it yourself.

I did - no change (keeping in mind most dynos have a repeatability error of about 3-5 hp).

I don't really think there's anything wrong with it, but in my individual case, I just don't see the point in it for my application. If others do, so be it <shrug>

K&N makes bang-on intakes that make good hp, and I'm all for those as well.

Postby A172 » June 11th, 2010, 7:41 pm

i take off my K&N filter and made 50whp :|

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » June 15th, 2010, 1:13 pm

well, i'm happy dat i can clean it far more regularly (and cheaply) dan a normel OEM filter, regardless of HP gain

masterofmindz

Postby masterofmindz » June 15th, 2010, 2:24 pm

i drive a crappy

then 1 day i decided to get me a k&n filter!

i put in my

and then i was amazed at what i experienced next!!!

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » June 15th, 2010, 3:07 pm

^^^ lol!

how u get dat 2 fit, hoss? ain't ur setup like my CS3A??? u mod it?

masterofmindz

Postby masterofmindz » June 15th, 2010, 4:28 pm

i ran the original intake up until the filter box and left the front half as a heat shield. then installed a short ram intake with the k&n filter. works foine!!!