Aftermarket filter Questions - Installation

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 4th, 2005, 10:47 am

Yes mrboxman......that sounds feasible. I would have gone with the adapter......but since they're not made for every application, you can drill a hole in the piping and replace the Air temp sensor.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 4th, 2005, 2:30 pm

ayee how do u know if your filter is pre-oiled?
cause i brought my set up as a whole; ie intake piping, filter, bracket n mounts.
so it was jus basically bolt on everything. Would the filter be pre-oiled?
Its a pilot set up.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 4th, 2005, 2:47 pm

it should be marked on the box as "pre-oiled, or it feels a bit greasy, or you can look for the model on the net to make sure. If not, you can get a oiling/cleaning kit eg K&N about $80

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 4th, 2005, 2:49 pm

well meh filter said it pre-oiled and it actually oily too.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 4th, 2005, 2:50 pm

oh crap......flat beat to it!!

Xman

Postby Xman » February 4th, 2005, 3:17 pm

My K&N filter came in a a plastic wrap that had PRE-OILED printed all over it......and "ready for direct installation"...otherwise i would not have known..

Stixer7

Postby Stixer7 » February 4th, 2005, 4:12 pm

what kappens if it's not oiled????

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 4th, 2005, 4:27 pm

it won't be as effecting in trapping dust, etc, which can get into your engine....kinda like running w/o a filter

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 4th, 2005, 4:28 pm

Then its doesn't effectively filter particles and they get past the filter.........the combination of the filter and the oil is what works. Never put on an un-oiled filter.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 4th, 2005, 4:30 pm

^BWAHAHAHAHA, i beat u again :P

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 4th, 2005, 4:46 pm

^^^^^youuuu slimmyyyyyy.......twig dogding.........laptop carrying........pc whoring....... :evil: :lol:

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 4th, 2005, 9:34 pm

ah crap i cyah remember if mine had pre-oiled on it:S
sheit :?

WadadliX

Postby WadadliX » February 5th, 2005, 2:02 pm

i did not know about filters needing to be pre-oiled...now i can go show off my newly gained knowledge :)

plex

Postby plex » February 5th, 2005, 9:08 pm

i learn something here , i did not know that the better air filter is pre-oiled i should check mine out.. good infor... :D

Xman

Postby Xman » February 6th, 2005, 1:49 am

Yeah pre-oiling is a must....found dat out too.....

Seanf3000 hear this nah............U see how those pics had the original black hose from the throttle body to the filter........i was informed to get the 3 inch aluminium/steel/chrome (whatever it is) elbow pipe.....cause it would be more effective than the black hose and it had pre-drilled holes for the air sensors.

Is it better to put that or keep the original....remember i want to hear some noise :mrgreen:

or anybody else!!!!!

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 8th, 2005, 2:00 pm

Depends man........the air flow in the alu. pipe may give yuh some resonance. I guess intake plumbing is like exhaust plumbing.........diameter, length and air velocity will affect how it sounds.

I usually doh care how it sound........hp/trq is what i looking for!!.....but to each his own. I think the elbow may give yuh a better mounting point for th sensor in the end.

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » February 8th, 2005, 2:10 pm

that is y when men come wid they story about how they mechanic organising their intake for much less i does tell them go ahead

i will stick to the pre-fab stuff i sell that comes wid everything, even d hole for d air sensor

Xman

Filter

Postby Xman » February 8th, 2005, 11:08 pm

Installed it this weekend...I went with the short ram setup :onfire:

Last edited by Xman on February 8th, 2005, 11:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

plex

Postby plex » February 8th, 2005, 11:13 pm

i install my filter but i used back the original fittings which is the black hose..will it make a difference if i used the steel fittings instead?? :?:

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » February 9th, 2005, 1:46 am

nice job x man 8)

Xman

Postby Xman » February 9th, 2005, 10:55 am

If u look at the tip of the K&N you will see an opening.....this leads to cool air from the out side. Its the OEM air intake....I left this part to bring in cold air to the filter. See how close up I sent it....and furthest away from the engine block.

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » February 9th, 2005, 11:04 am

does wrapping the extractors make a really big diff in heat containment?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 9th, 2005, 11:21 am

yes mrboxman, but it can supposedly weaken the extractors and cause them to rust, which is why mine is still unwrapped...anyone can shed some light on this?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 9th, 2005, 12:10 pm

^^^ isn't there some kind off paint ceramic paint or paste that does the same thing??? It think i see that on some recent jobs in SCC.

probably cost an arm and a leg.....and sold by nasa!!!

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » February 9th, 2005, 12:30 pm

what if i use high heat resistant paint and then wrap them? then would that reduce rusting and so forth?

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » February 12th, 2005, 9:23 pm

x-man what engine is dat?

plex

Postby plex » February 12th, 2005, 10:19 pm

Xman, nice job with the intake..

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 12th, 2005, 11:14 pm

heat wrapping the extractors influences rusting.
The wrapping causes condensation between the pipes and the wrappin. With time this condensing causes the pipes to rust n weaken.
And the extractors gets reaaaaaaalll hot i dont think any paste would stay on.
Heat resistant paints werent made to stay on hot objects rather than trap heat? (jus asking)
I heard bout ceramic coating causin the pips to rust the same way heat wraps does. Dont know how true that is.
Pacesetter have a coating they put on their headers. Its called "Armor Coat" i think. Dunno how effective it is though.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 12th, 2005, 11:15 pm

oh n great job mr boxman. ure install lookin WHEYYYYYYYY better than mine :|
i jealous lol

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 12th, 2005, 11:40 pm

who does ceramic coating locally?