STI on pee pee gas

turbo master

Postby turbo master » November 24th, 2005, 10:35 am

oh btw..trinidad octane levels in the premium not bad..though super not much off from premium in terms of octane levels

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » November 24th, 2005, 10:36 am

off topic, but if your car supposed to use premium only,and you put super, what will happen? or what are the side effects

Postby X2 » November 24th, 2005, 10:51 am

turbo master... many gas stations sell boosters, but they are not all equal... some don't do crap for the octane level of premium.

Stephenweaver, if ur car is supposed to use premium, it means you will need at least 91 octane. Our 'premium' is listed at 95, but we've asked around and some ppl at 2nr came to the conclusion that our 'premium 95' is likely close to 90 or 91. If you run super (around 87 or 89 octane) what may happen is that your engine might *ping* (uncontrolled combustion sparked off by excessive heat igniting the gas in the chamber before and/or after the spark plug does) Pinging or detonation is the sound of 2 or more flame fronts in the combustion chamber colliding (they often burn in different directions). If you have a newer car (after 1995 or so), the car's computer may have a knock sensor that can detect pinging and the ecu will retard/delay your ignition timing to save the engine. IF your car is not ecu operated or does not have a knock sensor... watch out, the only thing that will save it is your ears and a good octane booster...lol

sss

Postby sss » January 26th, 2006, 1:07 pm

i have tried 108 octane boost in the yellow bottle and u do feel a differance there is also 108 extreme yet to try that one once i put two bottles when i was filling up MY LORD the car was pulling great jus my 2 cents

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 27th, 2006, 8:32 pm

Yeah fellas. If yuh was looking around, would you buy a STi? Or "normal" WRX??? How de detonation scenes is with our sheit gas?

Lets look at it this way - Neal and Massy can non longer market the Sti here in T'dad cuz the car is supposed to run on higher than 95RON gasolene (according to them)...running it down here I guess will void the warranty I guess....

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 14th, 2006, 1:14 am

I think you should be fine if you add an octane additive and keep your boost stock. If you want to raise your boost, you better fork out the cash for an aftermarket engine management system in order to aviod detonation and other problems (IMHO).