CARBuretor problem PICS ADDED!!!!!

Sundar

Re: HELP ME!!! IM MISSING MY 1 BOUNCE START ;( ;(

Postby Sundar » January 9th, 2015, 10:44 am

check yuh ground on d block, wrt to d carb, it supposed to have gaskets where all the sections bolt together. Start d engine, den spray sum wd40 around d joinings n see if its being sucked in or if d car idles better momentarily... if it does den that area not being sealed off properly and the gasket needs to be changed. if not den carb may need to be serviced, when last yuh change your fuel filter?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 9th, 2015, 10:52 am

Carburetors vary quite a bit in design and complexity. The simplest possible one is essentially a large vertical air pipe above the engine cylinders with a horizontal fuel pipe joined onto one side. As the air flows down the pipe, it has to pass through a narrow kink in the middle, which makes it speed up and causes its pressure to fall. This kinked section is called a venturi. The falling pressure of the air creates a sucking effect that draws air in through the fuel pipe at the side.

The air flow pulls in fuel to join it, which is just what we need, but how can we adjust the air-fuel mixture? The carburetor has two swiveling valves above and below the venturi. At the top, there's a valve called the choke that regulates how much air can flow in. If the choke is closed, less air flows down through the pipe and the venturi sucks in more fuel, so the engine gets a fuel-rich mixture. That's handy when the engine is cold, first starting up, and running quite slowly. Beneath the venturi, there's a second valve called the throttle. The more the throttle is open, the more air flows through the carburetor and the more fuel it drags in from the pipe to the side. With more fuel and air flowing in, the engine releases more energy and makes more power and the car goes faster. That's why opening the throttle makes a car accelerate: it's the equivalent of blowing on a campfire to supply more oxygen and make it burn more quickly. The throttle is connected to the accelerator pedal in a car or the throttle on the handlebar of a motorcycle.

The fuel inlet to a carburetor is slightly more complex than we've described it so far. Attached to the fuel pipe there's a kind of mini fuel tank called a float-feed chamber (a little tank with a float and valve inside it). As the chamber feeds fuel to the carburetor, the fuel level sinks, and the float falls with it. When the float drops below a certain level, it opens a valve allowing fuel into the chamber to refill it from the main gas tank. Once the chamber is full, the float rises, closes the valve, and the fuel feed switches off again. (The float-feed chamber works a bit like a toilet, with the float effectively doing the same job as the ballcock—the valve that helps a toilet refill with just the right amount of water after you flush. What do car engines and toilets have in common? More than you might have thought!)

How a carburetor works.

In summary, then, here's how it all works:

Air flows into the top of the carburetor from the car's air intake.
When the engine is first started, the choke (blue) can be set so it almost blocks the top of the pipe to reduce the amount of air coming in (increasing the fuel content of the mixture entering the cylinders).
In the center of the tube, the air is forced through a narrow kink called a venturi. This makes it speed up and causes its pressure to drop.
The drop in air pressure creates suction on the fuel pipe (right), drawing in fuel (orange).
The throttle (green) is a valve that swivels to open or close the pipe. When the throttle is open, more air and fuel flows to the cylinders so the engine produces more power and the car goes faster.
The mixture of air and fuel flows down into the cylinders.
Fuel (orange) is supplied from a mini-fuel tank called the float-feed chamber.
As the fuel level falls, a float in the chamber falls and opens a valve at the top.
When the valve opens, more fuel flows in to replenish the chamber from the main gas tank. This makes the float rise and close the valve again.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 10th, 2015, 1:28 pm

Thats a GREAT writeup sundar.. i got a new issue here. and Ive also noticed something with the carb..
New issue: When i put the AC on the car idles higher(which is normal) and when i turn it off, it doesnt revert back instead it Revs slightly higher??? IF i switch car off and start right back it revs NORMAL??? what electrical issue is that!?

Noticed: okay theres TWO plugs that links/connects to carb. one of them if you unplug car will cut off...and the next one if car is cold..you unplug the engine wont shake as much as when it is plugged??!? weird.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 12th, 2015, 4:55 pm

i quoted that from how stuff works lol, none credit for me. Stepup for d extra load d compressor puts on d engine, is it mechanical linkage vaccum controlled? solenoid?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 13th, 2015, 11:06 am

im not sure ;(
im 80% think its vacuumed cus theres a vacuum hose attached to where the stepup is located...so yeah vacuumed

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 14th, 2015, 2:33 pm

well im not sure if ur stepup has a mechanical linkage to push the throttle a little wen the ac is switched on. service ur stepup n see if it helps

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 14th, 2015, 3:26 pm

ok ill do that. for the while i bought some carb spray and ill give she some good soaking tonight :D
i like to do it when its HOT ;D

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 15th, 2015, 5:00 pm

OMG IM SOOO DUMB LOL...i mixed up the hoses for the stepup thats why..the hose from stepup connects to an electrical thing with another hose attached on....switched the both and and works..lol
but im still nowhere near a good start yet :(
sundar...do u know anyone that can do this for me? litterally FIX it? all the worries?? Please you MUST know :( lol
;/
Hey... sundar..what about what i said earlier about the carb plug? read other post ^^^
OH and when i spray carb spray when it was running(air filter hose was out so it rev slightly higher)
i spray right around all round carb and when i reach in front...it had a LITTLE SLIGHT change in idle at ONE POINT...BUT after i kept spraying it STOPPED :O???
Could it not be sealing properly?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 16th, 2015, 3:10 pm

well it is a possibility at that point, did it idle better? wen yuh service the carb did you replace all the gaskets? i cud recommend a mech but he from south, idk if he still does carb jobs thou.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 16th, 2015, 3:19 pm

i cant remember if it idled higher or lower but remember i did it when car was HOT so idle is good..lol
but yaah it did had a change in idle for a second

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 16th, 2015, 3:20 pm

heard theres a good mechanic in balmain couva on de main road..but im from mayaro. i need a number and name lol

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 19th, 2015, 9:59 am

well, there's the guy ryo tech, check him, he's on tuner just pm him!

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 19th, 2015, 3:51 pm

how do i know if he's good with carb?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 20th, 2015, 1:34 pm

:idea: ummm, ask him na dude, he shud tell u if he can handle upfront.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 20th, 2015, 2:04 pm

all de guys who "serviced" my carb before said aye... i fixing that and so by so. and NOTHING lOl
but okay. :

Sundar

Postby Sundar » February 2nd, 2015, 10:43 am

did u get thru?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » February 2nd, 2015, 12:03 pm

not yet
but the problem IS DIFINITELY in the choke mechanism... inside that its not hooked up properly....

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » February 7th, 2015, 9:41 am

UPDATE: hey sundar...the reason why the butterfly sticks open is that when the car gets hot the spring retracts to make butterfly open. and the stepup goes down it sticks it there...so when car gets cold it still stuck there unless gas is press to reset the choke ;(

Sundar

Postby Sundar » February 11th, 2015, 10:45 am

hmmm, return mechanism not workin? is it possible to look at another carb setup on another car and see if it looks the same or somethin outa place or missing?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » February 11th, 2015, 11:14 am

i got an old carb but its out of an engine and its the same lol...

Sundar

Postby Sundar » February 12th, 2015, 12:03 pm

return spring?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » February 16th, 2015, 10:20 am

FINALLY i took pics to explain!!

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » February 16th, 2015, 10:28 am

omg lol let me explain
4: thats the Choke that controls the butterfly positioning..
5: sets the adjustments for when its cold for how HIGH/FAST u want car idle.
3: Stepup for the idle speed when cold.
2: thats the thing when gas pedal is pressed it goes down. otherwise it goes up and touches number 3...when its HOT, the damn ting goes at the arrow number 1 points and sits there...so when car is cold and butterfly closes...the damn stepup where arrow number 3 is....is where the number 2 supposed to be on top but since its stuck at number 1 you got to push pedal down and it releases the tension and drop from one and the choke (arrow 3) goes forward so number 2 could be sitting on top of arrow 3(stepup)....thats the problem

NB: that picture i had my finger pulling the throttle thats why its like that btw...

Re: CARBuretor problem PICS ADDED!!!!!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 16th, 2015, 1:42 pm

Try Laro in Freeport (685-2044). He is supposed to be good with carburetors from reviews that I have read on this website.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » February 17th, 2015, 9:56 am

THANKS ill give him a call after carnival

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » March 11th, 2015, 6:29 pm

I FINALLY WENT BY LARO!!!!!
You guys wuoldnt BELIEVE!!!!!
he said it WASNT the carburetor!! :O LOL that was a bust!!!
he said it was the advance timing that was bad (located on the distributor)
IM LIKE WTF!!!!! right loL
this is whats bad:
its connected to the DISTRIBUTOR :(
when i get one ill tell you guys if it worked :D

HONDA spoilboy

Postby HONDA spoilboy » March 12th, 2015, 1:29 am

so I got one of those from an old distributor my prob Is I hav that problem to ! Lol bt I hav an ae92 corolla so you can hav it ( I'm NOT mixing niss with toy) 3260527 If you want de part you could take de whole thing never though somebody would've needed this ....

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » March 12th, 2015, 8:42 am

LOL! YOU TOO.....
but i dont think it cud work on nissan distributor :O

HONDA spoilboy

Postby HONDA spoilboy » March 12th, 2015, 10:50 am

Yeah I check it this morning , turns out one of my hose was damaged , fix that bt still not a smooth idle A ! Car I tell yuh! Btw the one I hav is from a b13 , it's a 13 distributor I changed from a past car