Info needed on Diesel vehicles

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 26th, 2006, 10:19 am

Yes yes... as I talking I going to get a bottle for meself again... :)
:twisted: :twisted:

Val

Postby Val » July 26th, 2006, 10:49 am

group buy!! :D

Postby pete » July 26th, 2006, 11:09 am

How often do you need to put in that treatment? is it like the one for gas engines where ya have graduations of 10 gallons on the side or is the whole thing used one time?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 26th, 2006, 6:32 pm

^^^ not too sure, but i think its all at one time, into a full tank of fuel.
another thing about diesel engines, i know some ppl use kerosene in their fill up, IMO it should not be done, kerosene has a lower flash point than diesel oil, therefore if too much is added your engine could start knocking. (not a nice thing in a diesel engine), many parts can suffer as a result of this, especially the pistons and rods.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 26th, 2006, 9:47 pm

pete, yeah, it has the graduations on the bottle....

redline is a waste of time i find now. the amsoil diesel fuel modifier is the real deal now for me.

Postby wagon r » July 27th, 2006, 6:56 am

^why do you say that....?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 28th, 2006, 8:46 am

equipped2ripp wrote:pete, yeah, it has the graduations on the bottle....

redline is a waste of time i find now. the amsoil diesel fuel modifier is the real deal now for me.

Oh snap! It have graduations on the bottle? I use the whole thing for a tank full. Use it once a month or, sooner if need be.

And where yuh getting the amsoil? I just might try it next...

Postby equipped2ripp » July 28th, 2006, 11:51 am

wagon r, with redline i only saw increase in mileage during the treatment and about 1 or 2 full-ups after the treatment. with the amsoil on the other hand, i am getting better mileage throughout after using it about 8 full-ups ago.

for the amsoil, pm me.

Val

Postby Val » July 28th, 2006, 1:51 pm

For Amsoil products, call Joe @ 350-6401.

Tell him Valmiki put you on to him.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 28th, 2006, 1:52 pm

equipped2ripp you're right there... The Red Line gives better mileage and performance during and a few fill ups after. But I only fill diesel once a week so that's why I put one in every month.

Is that Amsoil the 24 oz Black bottle?

Postby wagon r » July 28th, 2006, 4:36 pm

thanks for the info there equipped2ripp.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 28th, 2006, 11:26 pm

nah, not the amsoil in the 24oz bottle..... 24oz is too much for one of those bottles lol

and this ain't the 'cetane boost' or 'diesel fuel additive' ones in the black bottle. this is the 'automotive diesel fuel modifier' in a clear bottle with a nozzle on it... 16oz

The_Unknown

Postby The_Unknown » July 30th, 2006, 11:09 am

I have a LD20-II in a 910 bluebird. How important is leaving the engine to idle after a run. How long should it be left and what effect would there be if it is not left running at all. Does this cause the turbo to smoke?

Personally, the engine has not given much trouble except for the water pump going bad a couple of times, however, sometimes i find the noise and vibration a bit too much to bear.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 30th, 2006, 3:02 pm

the reason for leaving the engine to idle is for the turbo to cool down, if it wasent done, the oil that remained in the turbo would be scorched by the high heat of the turbo, causing a breakdown of the oil, i dont know if there are other reasons for it, but there probably are.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 30th, 2006, 3:51 pm

A turbo timer is a device designed to keep an automotive engine running for a pre-specified period of time in order to automatically execute the cool-down period required to prevent premature turbo wear and failure. After a period of driving when a turbocharger has been working hard, it is important to let the engine run at idle speed for a period of time, allowing the compressor assembly to run down in speed and cool from the lower gas temperatures in both the exhaust and intake tracts. At the same time the lubricating oil from the engine is able to circulate properly so the turbine won't burn the lubricating oil that would otherwise be trapped within the charger with the turbine rotating at high speed.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 30th, 2006, 4:04 pm

^^^^ and there u have it.
good info.

Val

Postby Val » July 31st, 2006, 9:28 am

When you've just changed the fuel filter, cleaned out the strainer, changed oil, air filter etc., does it make sense to use a fuel treatment in your next tank of diesel, or is it not necessary?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 31st, 2006, 10:48 am

Val remember crappy fuel will ALWAYS be there :)

I use the fuel additive as a part of regular maintenance... Our diesel is really poor...

Postby Greypatch » July 31st, 2006, 11:00 am

good info fellas...keep this thread going like solo and some others I WILL be joining the club real soon.

Val

Postby Val » July 31st, 2006, 11:44 am

bleedingfreak, true info there. I put in the treatment just to be safe.

Damn van still smoking when I push it above 4000 rpm though :|

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 31st, 2006, 2:48 pm

^^ What yuh using? The Red Line or the Amsoil?

Postby equipped2ripp » July 31st, 2006, 10:50 pm

treatment can be used at anytime, even when u change filters etc

The_Unknown

Postby The_Unknown » August 1st, 2006, 11:36 am

Is a diesel turbocharger meant to increase speed or power? or both? Sorry for the noob questions, just looking to educate myself.

Also, what are some symptoms that appear with a damaged turbo?

Postby equipped2ripp » August 1st, 2006, 12:53 pm

diesel turbochargers are meant to provide faster acceleration and power as well.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 1st, 2006, 2:44 pm

now i going to ask ah noob question, if u wanted to raise the boost of turbo diesel, how high can u raise it, on the stock engine? i know diesel engines are made a lot stronger than normal gas engines, but how high can the boost be raised if the stock boost is, lets say 8 psi on a 3.0l dohc. that is without mods of any kind except fuel. :|
i always wanted to know this. so plz doh be harsh. :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » August 1st, 2006, 5:35 pm

yeah the boost can be raised.

but i knew of someone who toyed around with the boost on his 2.5 frontier and flecked up the engine.

imo, don't raise the boost in a stock turbo diesel engine.

venum

Postby venum » August 1st, 2006, 10:36 pm

good info

keep it coming

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » August 2nd, 2006, 8:36 am

question where do u'll service .. adn whats an ave cost for a regular service.. ie the 3/4 filters ( nissans have 2 fuel) & oil??

or rather what does ur regular service entail and how much does it cost u?

Val

Postby Val » August 2nd, 2006, 2:33 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:^^ What yuh using? The Red Line or the Amsoil?

neither, I using Jectron right now.

Regular service - oil, oil filter, air filter, fuel filter, clean strainer - every 8000~10000kms.

imo, don't raise the boost in a stock turbo diesel engine

For sure

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 2nd, 2006, 4:24 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:now i going to ask ah noob question, if u wanted to raise the boost of turbo diesel, how high can u raise it, on the stock engine?

Diesels are stronger cause they have to withstand magnificent compression ratios. A non turbo Mazda is 21.8 and the turbo is 19.x Imagine turning up the boost with THAT kinda compression.

Turbos boost TORQUE more significantly. Gains can be 60-80 lb-ft while power gains can be 30-40 hp... Dont quote me on this eh...

Easiest solution - get a bigger engine. Well easier said than done I would imagine :roll: :roll: