PREMIUM OR SUPER UNLEADED

Postby Hook » January 28th, 2007, 7:59 pm

my 20V runs on both Super and Premium without pinging...but the good ole butt-dyno feels that 100whp kick on Premium

Terran

Postby Terran » January 29th, 2007, 11:54 am

Hook wrote:my 20V runs on both Super and Premium without pinging...but the good ole butt-dyno feels that 100whp kick on Premium

And what oil and filter are you using?

Postby Dave » January 29th, 2007, 11:59 am

call 663-1917 and ask for Andy..he's the local WYNN's agent and does a chemical decarbonize...by appointment only
aye the man name is Nick eh :lol:
this system works great, did on 2 vehicles already

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 29th, 2007, 1:32 pm

i have a b16a in an eg8.

super pinged like hell.

switched to premium, along with regular gas treatments and she running smooth since.

Postby Hook » January 29th, 2007, 1:47 pm

aye the man name is Nick eh

oh gorm! so where I get "Andy" from jed? an ah see him on d road weekend gorn too! good ting ah didn't hail him out :lol: he woulda watch mih funny :lol:

Terran, iz regular Castrol 20W50 and a fram filter...gonna be running Havoline Formula3 20W50 from this week

Postby X_Factor » January 29th, 2007, 1:57 pm

Castrol 20W50 and a fram filter...gonna be running Havoline Formula3 20W50 from this week

i heard by switching oils there is the possiblilty of the car starting to smoke..ne one ever experienced this before?

Hook,considering its the same 20W50 oil ..what made/makin u change brands?

Postby Dave » January 29th, 2007, 2:13 pm

^^some truth since not all manufacturers make their same grade like others
once there is no real issue with the engine then no probs but let one oil settle in a few changes before trying something else

2ren

Super or premium.

Postby 2ren » January 30th, 2007, 9:32 pm

No kidding man. 13.5 km/l..... work out the maths.... and that is with the a/c working full time; traffic, moderate driving. 8/2001 roro y11.

2ren

Postby 2ren » January 30th, 2007, 9:39 pm

eitech man, ur b15 shud have same qg15 not so? I recently changed all fluids.
Shud it get better?

truth is I don't even know what "pinging" is.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 31st, 2007, 11:12 pm

^^^assuming that's with premium fluid then that what is expected..............*$1 premium ought to yield a wee lil bit over 4km driving with a/c on standard road conditions........

*not referenced to intensive traffic situations, in terms of traffic jams.........

In my driving scenario, $1 premium enables me to travel just a tad bit over 4 km with a/c................

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 31st, 2007, 11:15 pm

Dave wrote:call 663-1917 and ask for Andy..he's the local WYNN's agent and does a chemical decarbonize...by appointment only

whats the cost of this?

Postby Hook » February 1st, 2007, 9:35 am

can't remember nuh...yuh go hada call

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 1st, 2007, 9:47 am

If u pinging, use WI :)

premium is around 91pon
super 87-88pon
regular 85pon

my d15b pings on premium from peaks station. And if u have a 20v and its not pinging on super then u have problems

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 1st, 2007, 12:10 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
Dave wrote:call 663-1917 and ask for Andy..he's the local WYNN's agent and does a chemical decarbonize...by appointment only

whats the cost of this?

I called earlier this week (you all have me asking for Andy). For a mitsubishi lancer they would charge around $175.00.

Postby X_Factor » February 1st, 2007, 1:39 pm

yeah the chemical de. carb. stuff sounds good..but i called and he said its wise to do it jus b4 u do ur oil change cause the carbon n stuff my get in the oil

Postby Hook » February 1st, 2007, 5:37 pm

^^^ yup always advisable to change your oil soon after any sort of engine treatment

And if u have a 20v and its not pinging on super then u have problems

explain :?

Postby X_Factor » February 1st, 2007, 6:30 pm

soo after i change timing belt, tensioner bearing, tranny fluid and de. carb. the engine..then i'll put my mpg...cause right now it eh nice!!

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 1st, 2007, 7:24 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ yup always advisable to change your oil soon after any sort of engine treatment

And if u have a 20v and its not pinging on super then u have problems

explain :?

a 20v should breathe well and should ping on super, should even ping on premium. If ure not pinging, ure not breathing as u should. assuming ure timing is stock ofcourse and not retarded a good deal.

Postby Hook » February 1st, 2007, 10:27 pm

nah, well timing is 11 DBTDC and I know I have breathing issues...intake is not a prob, but exhaust is stock AE101 1.75" with crush bends

so you're saying that if I increase my exhaust pipe diameter, I get better exhaust scavenging and more juice but at the expense of pre-detonation?

thas a shitty trade-off :(

Postby Dave » February 2nd, 2007, 7:53 am

wow, price went up but just like anything, i got mine done for free when i did it :mrgreen:
a 4age totally stock from factory not supposed to ping on super (assuming 92ron)

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 2nd, 2007, 10:31 am

^ ah, but its not.. it not :mrgreen:

a black top is factory tuned for 98 not so?

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » February 4th, 2007, 4:09 pm

Val wrote:
i know put 3-4 moth balls ever so often in the tank.

Is that safe? How much does this raise the octane by?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Mothballs in gas tank Debunked by MythBuster in 2006 This was covered in and re-aired in the month of March 2006.

Dr. Jim Davis, PhD., of the chemistry labs Harvard and a guest speaker on CAR TALK Sirius Satellite Radio

Dr. Jim has concluded that this mothball story is basically a bunch of SH!eT.

"There are several different types of mothballs on the market, none of which, to his knowledge, do anything to improve the performance of gasoline. They WILL burn, so you will get some power out of them. But since mothballs are more expensive than gasoline, this is not a very economical way to get to work.

If there were some magical performance-enhancing mothball, don't you think Exxon and Mobil would be selling it to us as an expensive gasoline additive i.e. "Mobil Super ... Now with Mothballs!"

naphthalene a major component of some mothballs not all. For those chemical engineers reading today, it's C10H8, and it looks like two benzene rings fused together.

Another type of mothball which COULD potentially hurt things is made of dichlorobenzene. That won't improve your car's performance either, but since it throws chlorine into the mix, it can produce HCl as a byproduct when burned. HCL is hydrochloric acid which basically burns anything it touches.

Not to mention what it does to; a) the people who happen to be breathing anywhere near the end of that exhaust system, b) your catalytic converter, and c) your manufacturer's warranty.

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » February 4th, 2007, 4:29 pm

All JDM (Japanese Domestic Market) cars are tuned for 98Octane therefore the lower the octane count of the fuel the more the engine's ECU is going to pull back timing hence less power, lower fuel economy and more emissions (for the environmentally conscious ;) )

In fact most post MY99+ motors are designed for and run more efficiently with 96+ Octane but will operate on lower octane fuels as per international convention for owner/operator use... and blah blah blah...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 8th, 2007, 12:24 am

^^^I beg to differ wrt that recommended octane count.......... however I cannot recall the website that provided detailed information wrt JDM vehicles of all sorts, but I do recall many of them having a lower octane requirement upon perusal of the vehicles displayed there......... it gave info as to manufacturer's exterior colours, fabric interior, engine sizes and other various configurations dependant on the model of vehicle.........

What's the website plz anyone who remembers

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » February 8th, 2007, 8:27 am

The EPA recommends 87 Octane as of 1993 baseline fuel, however Phase I, II and III Reformulated exist since that time with significant research data as to reductions in emissions and motor performance.

http://www.sae.org/technical/papers/950782

http://www.epa.gov/docs/fedrgstr/EPA-AI ... l.txt.html

This is aside from engine manufacturers recommended min octane of 87 as opposed to optimal octane for stringent emissions standards...(hell U cyah get less than 95 octane in Japan)

then again it is recommended that the USER may fill on the lowest octane fuel just before Knock occurs with fuel prices as they are. If Knock is detected go up one level until knock stops...all engine conditions being equal.

I ping like $#!+ on Super according to Enginuty and ECUExplorer when ah mash-out...no ping if ah drive like a Granny.

On that note I must say that no engine needs Primium...but...As a rule, I understand that the higher the Octane level in the fuel, the more the protection that your engine's combustion chamber has from detonating / pre-igniting /' pinking'

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 8th, 2007, 11:58 pm

I hear yuh dude.... I believe I misread your initial message........apologies. :)

eitech

Postby eitech » March 6th, 2007, 12:45 am

hmm. so long ah ain post on dis topic. anyways, ah full up with some super las week, did about d same kind of drivin i usually do and believe it or not, by d time my needle hit d 1/4 mark, i done get 400km :shock: . in essence i got 25km extra. normally wit da premium i would get 375km. u be da judge :roll:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 6th, 2007, 6:28 am

FELLAS I HAVE AH VVT FAMILIA AH DOH KNOW EEF AH DOES DRIVE LIKE AH C*$%#T BUT DE MOST AH EVAH GET IS LIKE 360KM ON AH TANK AH SUPER DE WORKSHOP MANUAL RECOMMEND NUTHIN LESS THAN 91 OCTANE FUH DE SMALLER ENGINE AN NUTHIN LESS THAN 95 FUH DE LARGER ONE

dismer

Postby dismer » March 6th, 2007, 9:32 pm

A Gas station attendant buff me up for putting super in my Accord. She say doh come and tell her nuttin when my engine mash up

I think she knows best

:roll: :mrgreen:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 7th, 2007, 11:24 pm

^^I disagree.............the super shouldn't be detrimental to the motor.......if it's auto timed then it would organise itself to suit............she musbe just wah ah zamee!!!!!!!