Best fix for yellowed/ discoloured headlights?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 19th, 2007, 10:02 am

bhagan, i had no problems with light output, but then again i dont think there are any stock headlights as bright as those on the P11 prims. i think that is one of the reasons my lights used to get brown so fast. the lenses were always very hot when the lights were on so i figured the heat used to bake on the dust. and that same heat caused the clearcoat to peel

Postby nervewrecker » January 6th, 2008, 6:03 pm

I used some auto glym super resin polish as my head & tail lights werent so bad.
I'll repeat the process next week with the sand paper to take out the little marks & small digs here & there on the head lights. now my lights are rather glossy though.
(for who thinks my lights look ok, well thas how my car does look wen it dirty in the pics, so Imagine how I want my lights to look)
excuse the green look in my lights, thas the bush in the foreground.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 7th, 2008, 2:57 am

noice pics slacker_jack, but were your lights yellow or brown to start with?

none the less, its good info to prevent such an occurence from happening

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2008, 6:52 am

That looking sweet SJ. U used a bufffer or polish by hand? How much for the autoglim?

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2008, 7:59 am

auto glym is $75.00 for the small bottle & I did it by hand with an old rough piece of blanket (ah jus cetch a vaps cuz meh bumper had a scratch too that I was gettin rid off). the auto glym does wonders on your paint as well.

my lights werent brown or yellow @ all, jus hazy.

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2008, 9:11 am

I don't suggest using the sandpaper, I did an I regret it. The scratches from the sandpaper makes gouges deeper than the mild platic polish (At least with the mother's) penetrates to and I think will shite up the final finish. I using the Mothers about once a month sparingly untill I get the sandpaper scratches out. It have some pits and thing that I doubt will ever come out because of how deep they are. I hear a professional high speed buffer actually melts a thin layer with the combined friction of the pad and the polish on paint and glosses over the surface. I hope the same principle holds for headlights and want to use a buffer on it.

P.S., where you buy the autoglym? They selling the paint treatment too?
Last edited by RBphoto on January 7th, 2008, 9:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2008, 9:12 am

$75.00 tt i pay for the 325 ml

http://www.ciao.co.uk/Autoglym_Super_Re ... h__5654123

Autoglym your car!
Review of Autoglym Super Resin Polish by lindsayjayne
Advantages: Makes your car shine, easy to apply.
Disadvantages: More expensive than other brands.

Autoglym Super Resin Polish is a polish for the exterior of your car. It used to only available to people in the car trade, but is now available for the public too. It can be bought in many supermarkets, as well as places like Wilkinsons, Motormania and Halfords. Prices vary between shops, but a 325ml bottle cost me £4.99 in Wilkinsons. *What does Autoglym Super Resin Polish do?* It gives a high gloss shine to your car (you can also use it on motorbikes) ...

...*Directions* Before using Autoglym Super Resin Polish, you need to wash and thoroughly dry your car. Once dry, put some polish onto a clean cloth and apply using a light circular motion, ending up in straight lines to give even coverage. You can increase your pressure to remove any scratches. You can do the whole vehicle at once, or a panel at a time, and once finished lightly buff your car with a clean cloth. *Tips* Always apply Autoglym polish ... Read review

Ciao members have rated this review on average very helpful
very helpful

Sparkle Sparkle little car
Review of Autoglym Super Resin Polish by donf18
Advantages: Superior shine
Disadvantages: Still needs a bit of elbow grease

Autoglym is a car polish that is pretty readily available at all good car shops and in some supermarkets. At a cost of about £2.99 for 375ml it is a bit more expensive than some other leading brands. It is best used in conjunction with its sister product Autoglym Car Shampoo; well that's what it claims on the bottle. I have used various shampoos and can't say that I notice any significant difference when the sister product is used. As with most polishes ...

...with a soft cloth. Obviously if you are using this during the summer the dry cloth might easily be omitted. LOL The product is applied in a circular motion until you have covered about 1.5 square metres. The reason for this is so you can do the whole polish and shine in stages rather than do all the application then all the buffing. Once you have applied enough product to the area, using a very soft clean cloth buff half the area you have just covered ... Read review

Ciao members have rated this review on average very helpful
very helpful

Super shine!!!
Review of Autoglym Super Resin Polish by daviemac
Advantages: Great shine.
Disadvantages: Elbow grease still needed.

Autoglym is a car polish that is pretty readily available at all good car shops and in some supermarkets.At a cost of about £3.00 for 375ml it is a bit more expensive than some other leading brands.It is best used in conjunction with its sister product autoglym car shampoo,well thats what it claims on the bottle.I have used various shampoos and cant say that i notice any significant difference when the sister product is used. As with most polishes ...

...with a soft cloth.Obviously if you are using this during summer the dry cloth might easily be omitted.Lol. The product is applied in a circular motion until you have covered about 1.5 square metres.The reason for this is so you can do the whole polish and shine in stages rather than do all the application then all the buffing.Once you have applied enough product to the area,using a very soft clean cloth buff half the area you have just covered with ... Read review

Ciao members have rated this review on average helpful
helpful

Wax On, Wax Off.
Review of Autoglym Super Resin Polish by priory
Advantages: No hard rubbing
Disadvantages: None really

Autoglym car care products are among one of the best out there. I've picked this one because I find this particular one extremely good. It really is SUPER. The packaging in my opinion gives it that upper class look, and if you find a store that has a display, it does look pretty good. Although the price of some of the other products does seem a little expensive compared to other on the market, the Sper Resin Polish is comparable to other polishes. ...

...Used in conjunction with other Autoglym products the results are excellent. ... Read review

Ciao members have rated this review on average helpful
helpful

Bring the shine back to your vehicle
Review of Autoglym Super Resin Polish by wegiephill
Advantages: Easy to use and works a treat
Disadvantages: Could be a bigger bottle

As a proffesional car valeter, I have had the experience of using many products from Auto Glym and other companies. While working i use many products from Auto Glym. There interior dresser and window polish is among the best products on the market. I use products from Auto Glym on all cars from Golfs to Porsches and their products are the best on the market. If you are inexperienced and need to clean your car up then pick up Auto Glym products. ...

...have washed your car you just apply with a clean dry cloth with pressure. If your car is dull then you can add more pressure and soon your car wil have its showroom shine back again. Its quick and easy and you will be amazed by the results. ...

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » January 7th, 2008, 9:59 am

MODS STICKY This :twisted:

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2008, 10:05 am

^^^^It is already stickied but under best of tech I think.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 7th, 2008, 10:21 am

but bhagan, i used sandpaper....2500 ah think...de same type ppl does 'color sand' dey paint job with

i jes use PLENTY water

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2008, 10:29 am

Try the mothers after and see if you aint see the gouges of the sandpaper. I used really fine sandpaper with water, I think that same 2500, been a while. Maby is the type you used, as it was an automotive sandpaper give better results? I try all kinda shite, including toothpaste, baking soda, No.7 compound and sandpaper ( most recent first) and the mothers beat back all.

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2008, 11:13 am

i've heard of mothers car polish giving some good results on man car too (well on the paint nah, so it supposed to work good on the headlights too).

I'll check to see what else we stock at the garage that can work just as well.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 7th, 2008, 12:40 pm

bhagan wrote:Try the mothers after and see if you aint see the gouges of the sandpaper. I used really fine sandpaper with water, I think that same 2500, been a while. Maby is the type you used, as it was an automotive sandpaper give better results? I try all kinda shite, including toothpaste, baking soda, No.7 compound and sandpaper ( most recent first) and the mothers beat back all.

but all de car care products i does use is mothers, and i didnt see any gouges. but ah feel ah know wha happen. it was fine sandpaper but it wasnt brand new; it was lil dead. so maybe dat is how i get away. but like i said, i did it ah good few times cos de lights used to always get back brown in 2-3 mths time. and my lights neva look scratched

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2008, 12:51 pm

I think the car wash detergent use has something to do with it too. Some ppl by me only use squeezy, and they lights clear for days. The car washes maby have a formula to prevent stripping of waxes and thing, so maby they have some chemical reaction or wax that builds up on the lights. I use the zip wax and it say it have all kinda nice stuff in it, but that could be for paint potection, not nesescarily good for the plastic on lights.

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2008, 1:19 pm

it was mentioned to me that squeezy damages the paint

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2008, 1:27 pm

all you need is here
http://www.performancemotorcare.com/aca ... oglym.html

Autoglym Bodywork Shampoo Conditioner 500ml

Regular washing helps to preserve the finish of car paintwork.

Household detergents can have a detrimental dulling effect when used on vehicle paintwork. Bodywork Shampoo Conditioner gently removes traffic film and surface contaminants and assists in preserving overall the finish and appearance.

Additional ingredients form a glossy, water repellent barrier, which protects and extends the effect of Autoglym polishes.

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2008, 1:29 pm

^^^True that, but what I am saying is that though it is good for the paint, perhaps it causes waxy bildup on the headlights
"Additional ingredients form a glossy, water repellent barrier, which protects and extends the effect of Autoglym polishes
.". I wonder what would happen if you pass a welding torch flame over it briefly just after polishing it? Melting the surface and making it look super clear?

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2008, 1:41 pm

:? :? :?

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2008, 1:47 pm

:roll: why the confusion?

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2008, 1:51 pm

de welding torch scene, isnt that a lil extreme

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 7th, 2008, 1:58 pm

that's why I say autosol!!!!!!

Yep. Autosol works wonders on those yellow lights. :wink:

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2008, 2:00 pm

No, I saw it on a foreign motor home forum about how they try fix plexi windows in they RV with surface cracks, you know when it real old and yellow?

ryansouthman

lights

Postby ryansouthman » January 7th, 2008, 4:26 pm

Yeo wrote:I wet sanded lightly with 600 grit wet-or-dry sand paper followed by 1000 grit until I could no longer feel or hear the pitting under the sand paper.

Then polished with ultra-fine grit white polishing compound, followed by standard car polish (McGuire's).

NOTE
The trick is to sand left to right. Do not sand in a circular motion.
Use PLENTY of CLEAN water; don't be sparse with water, keep the surface and the sandpaper wet. It should glide under your fingertips; there should be no real dragging after the first few seconds.

When you think you're done, you're not, keep going until you feel nothing under your fingers. Then change to the finer grit paper and do it again.

this IMHO is the most effective i have done this already, but i borrowed a partner buffer and it worked like a charm....... 8-)

323_wagon_dude

Re: lights

Postby 323_wagon_dude » January 8th, 2008, 7:32 am

ryansouthman wrote:
Yeo wrote:I wet sanded lightly with 600 grit wet-or-dry sand paper followed by 1000 grit until I could no longer feel or hear the pitting under the sand paper.

Then polished with ultra-fine grit white polishing compound, followed by standard car polish (McGuire's).

NOTE
The trick is to sand left to right. Do not sand in a circular motion.
Use PLENTY of CLEAN water; don't be sparse with water, keep the surface and the sandpaper wet. It should glide under your fingertips; there should be no real dragging after the first few seconds.

When you think you're done, you're not, keep going until you feel nothing under your fingers. Then change to the finer grit paper and do it again.

this IMHO is the most effective i have done this already, but i borrowed a partner buffer and it worked like a charm....... 8-)

I did this also. The light looks brand new after.

Postby RBphoto » January 8th, 2008, 7:41 am

^^^^^^^Hoss, if you look back in the ched, you will see I thought that all them things was the best thing when I tried them until I was convinced that toothpase is the real thing. They do get the lights clear and clean, but the Mothers gives a shine that looks like a fesh clear coat. I am sure the pics we see hre cannot convey the slick gloss as compared to just being "clear".

Postby nervewrecker » January 10th, 2008, 2:04 pm

here are some pics of the headlights b4 I sand dem down & polish them this upcomming sunday, you guys can see there is still a lil hazyness remaining and some of the stone marks are showing on the headlights.

I had to darken the contrast on my phone alot to show the hazyness etc cuz it hardly showing with the lights on....

jeeze my lights looking yellowish wen i darken the phone contrast

Postby RBphoto » January 10th, 2008, 2:17 pm

It will look yelow in the pic if you have normal halogen bulb. That last pic showing up some swirls, the autoglim cause that? Did you buff it out properly?

Postby nervewrecker » January 10th, 2008, 2:54 pm

was jus a quick ting I did.

this comming sunday I will be doin de real thing. I want it like brand new.........

de lights does look white normally

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » January 15th, 2008, 8:51 pm

I had this problem wit my ride i used mothers plastic polish ...works rel bes

Postby Greypatch » January 17th, 2008, 1:13 pm

so far the polish lookis like the best bet eh peeps den the colgate...

me eh really believe in eating down the headlight with sandpaper