WHATS THE BEST SYNTHETIC OIL ON THE MARKET?

JDL
Location: as the man say in the papers...South of Caroni bridge

WHATS THE BEST SYNTHETIC OIL ON THE MARKET?

Postby JDL » September 28th, 2006, 1:39 pm

Can you guys give me an idea on whats the best synthetic oil on the market? :?:

Postby ronsin1 » September 28th, 2006, 1:57 pm

Quakastate

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » September 28th, 2006, 2:51 pm

ronsin1 wrote:Quakastate

HAVE YOU TRIED ANY OTHER OIL ?
http://www.caranddriver.com/article.asp ... le_id=3631

Last edited by mitsugdi on September 28th, 2006, 3:39 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby gt4tified » September 28th, 2006, 3:21 pm

*best* is a relative term....in my 2ning life, I've used NP, Shell Helix, Redline and Castrol and so far I'm happiest with the Castrol syntec.

JDL

Postby JDL » September 28th, 2006, 3:45 pm

well righht now I am using castrol. Howvere I came across an advert. for a japanese oil call Eneos and was wondering if anyone out there ever heard of it. Seems to be the oil that comes OEM from Japan in all new vehicles

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » September 28th, 2006, 3:56 pm

The "best" can only be determined by the age of your car, the way you drive your car, and your personal preference. There is a wide market of synthetics to choose from so try all that you want and see which gives you the best life I guess

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 28th, 2006, 4:44 pm

im usin Castrol syntec. in a nissan turbo engine wrks real best ..........

Terran

Postby Terran » September 28th, 2006, 5:11 pm

Well, most of you here who know me long enough would know where I stand: Shell Helix Ultra.

Developed and proven on the formula 1 race track for Ferrari, time and time again. It is also the choice of most major engine manufacturers including Toyota, Mitsubishi, Hyundai, BMW, Benz, Porsche and Jaguar. You really can't go wrong with it. It is locally available in two grades: 15W-40 and 5W-40.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 28th, 2006, 5:16 pm

Terran wrote:Well, most of you here who know me long enough would know where I stand: Shell Helix Ultra.

Developed and proven on the formula 1 race track for Ferrari, time and time again. It is also the choice of most major engine manufacturers including Toyota, Mitsubishi, Hyundai, BMW, Benz, Porsche and Jaguar. You really can't go wrong with it. It is locally available in two grades: 15W-40 and 5W-40.

Isn't the full synthetic Shell in the grey bottle? I have only seen this in 5W-50. The semi-synthetic Shell in the blue bottle comes in 15W-50. Where are you getting the Shell oil with those weights?

Anyway, right now I am trying the NP Ultra-Tec, 5W-50, in a car with 332,000 km on the odometer (re-built engine at 230,000 km) and am getting no burn-off whatsoever after 5,000 km which is when I change the oil as per the vehicle manufacturer's recommendation.

katurbobeast

Postby katurbobeast » September 28th, 2006, 5:29 pm

i've used castrol syntec, mobil1 and redline......
persoanblly i dont like castrol syntec, redline and mobil1 is very good....for sure...

also i think on some review castrol was rated as one of the more unsyntec synthetic oils.....most other syntec oils where up on top.. redline, mobil1, quaker-state. penzoil...etc

Rx

Postby Rx » September 28th, 2006, 9:19 pm

mobil 1 full synthetic
'

I'm hearing a lot about amzoil ....

W2J

Postby W2J » September 28th, 2006, 9:47 pm

we went over this already Amsoil is the best there are many test to show this.

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » September 28th, 2006, 9:50 pm

Shell Helix Ultra....best oil.....no complaints yet....but i thining about tryin the kendel oil....what allyuh think?

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » September 28th, 2006, 9:52 pm

^^^ yup Amisol usually good for 30K km, the flilter has to be changed at every 5K due to particle plugging.

to prove it they drove a semi 400K plus miles on a single fill of amisol, only doing filter changes, based on oil analysis the oil was still good... :shock:

W2J was the price ofr ah quart of amisol these days???

JDL

Postby JDL » September 28th, 2006, 10:52 pm

OK, I get the drift, leaning more to Mobile one. Have anyone heard anything about this Japanese oil called Eneos?

W2J

Postby W2J » September 28th, 2006, 10:57 pm

I have amsoil around $70 a qt I think :lol: I was doing a check the other day and I think we had it cheaper than Castrol Full Syntec which should not be so :lol:

turbo master

Postby turbo master » September 29th, 2006, 12:38 am

everything w2j said...
amsoil supposed to be the most expensive afaik
is that what u use in yr lancer btw w2j?

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » September 29th, 2006, 12:41 am

KENDELL!!!! best oil i've used in trinidad!!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 29th, 2006, 7:40 am

W2J wrote:I have amsoil around $70 a qt I think :lol: I was doing a check the other day and I think we had it cheaper than Castrol Full Syntec which should not be so :lol:

$70 a quart ain't much more expensive than the Castrol Syntec which selling $55-$60 a quart now... :roll:

Using Mobil1 10W30 right now.

Terran

Postby Terran » September 29th, 2006, 8:43 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Terran wrote:Well, most of you here who know me long enough would know where I stand: Shell Helix Ultra.

Isn't the full synthetic Shell in the grey bottle? I have only seen this in 5W-50. The semi-synthetic Shell in the blue bottle comes in 15W-50. Where are you getting the Shell oil with those weights?

Anyway, right now I am trying the NP Ultra-Tec, 5W-50, in a car with 332,000 km on the odometer (re-built engine at 230,000 km) and am getting no burn-off whatsoever after 5,000 km which is when I change the oil as per the vehicle manufacturer's recommendation.

Yes, Helix Ultra is a fully synthetic blend, in the grey bottle, and is available in the grades I mentioned; NOT 5W-50. Helix Plus is a semi-synthetic blend in a dark blue bottle and comes is available locally in two grades: 15W-50 and 10W-30.

You can get the Shell Helix oils - any grade - from Laughlin & De Gannes, and I also saw them available at ESAS/The Village.

W2J

Postby W2J » September 29th, 2006, 9:32 am

turbo master wrote:everything w2j said...
amsoil supposed to be the most expensive afaik
is that what u use in yr lancer btw w2j?

Yup only the best for my baby.

Postby X_Factor » September 30th, 2006, 7:48 pm

so while using a particular brand of oil...what do u look for as to compare it when u change/try another?

johno

Postby johno » September 30th, 2006, 9:28 pm

want to know too
Last edited by johno on January 18th, 2018, 7:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 30th, 2006, 10:31 pm

so while using a particular brand of oil...what do u look for as to compare it when u change/try another?

I use Royal Purple 20W50 Synth.

I look at the basetock oil from which the Synth oil is made. Basestock grades run from Grade 1 (low) to Grade 5 (high).

Mobil 1 and Castrol Synted use a grade 3

Redline and Royal Purple Synth Oils use a Grade 4 basestock....higher quality than the M1 or the Syntec.

MOTUL and others may use either 4 or 5...not sure.

havokkk

Postby havokkk » October 1st, 2006, 1:08 am

groups i-iii are the mineral oils, petroleum distillates refined by hydro-treating, solvent extraction etc... group iv are the polyalphaolefin synths, which include m1 and amsoil, and group v the diesters and polyolesters, used in redline and royal purple, for example. :)

dunmor

Postby dunmor » October 1st, 2006, 9:38 am

anyone ever heard of LIQUIMOLI syntethic motor oil?Not sure the spelling is right but it sounds the same.

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » October 1st, 2006, 10:56 am

Whhhaaa "LIQUIOMOLI" ....sorry dude never heard of it..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 1st, 2006, 12:42 pm

its Liqui Moly - just like its rearview 8-)

Dragonaire

Postby Dragonaire » October 1st, 2006, 1:56 pm

Amsoil good for 30,000 Miles or one year on a Non Turbo engine but the filter has to be changed every 12,000 km. Works great.

Postby Dave » October 1st, 2006, 2:01 pm

wait nah, allyuh comparing amsoil to castrol, ROFLMAO :lol: