WTK: Mufflers Mufflers Mufflers

VDub

WTK: Mufflers Mufflers Mufflers

Postby VDub » December 1st, 2006, 10:56 am

I'm looking for a muffler for my VW Golf mk4

But i doh wanna go putting any old noise maker on my baby. How do you choose the right muffler for your car?

I've been told that once its a freeflow i would get a slight increase in performance ranging from about 8 - 10 horses...

Is this true?

I have also been told that some mufflers may ever choke the engine and decrease your performance...

Is this true?

Help out a youngen in the game...

Postby Dave » December 1st, 2006, 11:04 am

u need good resonance, meaning good resonators cause most them the barrels out there are fart cans

Strauss

Re: WTK: Mufflers Mufflers Mufflers

Postby Strauss » December 1st, 2006, 11:25 am

VDub wrote:I'm looking for a muffler for my VW Golf mk4

But i doh wanna go putting any old noise maker on my baby. How do you choose the right muffler for your car?

I've been told that once its a freeflow i would get a slight increase in performance ranging from about 8 - 10 horses...

Is this true?

I have also been told that some mufflers may ever choke the engine and decrease your performance...

Is this true?

Help out a youngen in the game...

8 - 10 horses?

More like 2-5 horses if it's properly done.

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » December 1st, 2006, 12:47 pm

I suggest GREDDY EVO catback or axle back ,my cousin has one on his and it sounds good without being ridiculous

VDub

Postby VDub » December 1st, 2006, 12:49 pm

scene

where do i get those? do u have any suggestions?

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » December 1st, 2006, 12:53 pm

i'm noy sure about sourcing it locally but maybe you can support the local economy if a power seller can get you one.

VDub

Postby VDub » December 1st, 2006, 2:44 pm

IMPREZZING wrote:I suggest GREDDY EVO catback or axle back ,my cousin has one on his and it sounds good without being ridiculous

Could you talk to your cuz and find out where and how did he get his?

Much appreciated

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » December 1st, 2006, 2:50 pm

he ordered it on the net.

VDub

Postby VDub » December 1st, 2006, 2:53 pm

figures

thanks man...

Any more tips / recommendations ?

casper

Postby casper » December 1st, 2006, 5:06 pm

yea dem muffler tips duz really jus make some old noise yuh know....i have on a barrel and all yuh duz hear is ....TWOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA......lol......if yuh goin dat way yuh have tuh run d same piping size as d tip to get max performance....like if yuh only have 1.5" runnin throughout.....yuh really feel a 2" barrel tip go increase yuh performance without runnin 2" right through also???

bigger barrel tip duz just make more noise an not much extra performance...yuh go actually be lucky if yuh get any more speed from jus addin a barrrel....ah next ting too..if yuh running bigger exhaust...like 2" instead of 1.5" den it will now mean dat you go have tuh upgrade yuh intake flow...

yuh go hadda get rid of dat normal black filter box dat d car duz come with and install ah cold air intake with a good brand cone filter .......ah car is like a human....yuh breath in from d intake and yuh breathe out through d exhaust.....so.....d bigger yuh exhaust pipes will mean dat u go hadda match it up with bigger intake pipes....

u will have to make da both upgrades tuh get maximum output from ure car though because if yuh jus install ah bigger intake such as cold air intake....and yuh doh upgrade yuh muffler pipes dat running from d front to d back...den yuh will end up creating a bottle neck effect dat will actually end up slowin u down and makin yuh muffler rell fart and ting....lol....yuh will be pullin in too much air and yuh will not be able tuh let it out fast enuff...

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » December 1st, 2006, 5:11 pm

what do u want to do?

just replace the exhaust barrel... or do u want to do the complete exhaust system?

....and what is it for... cosmetic or performance?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 2nd, 2006, 12:46 pm

If you weld on a muffler to your stock piping....HECK NO.

Maybe 2 hp? :lol:

You'd need to upgrade your exhaust piping, along with your muffler, to get some more power.

I'm looking for a muffler for my VW Golf mk4

Since you drive a GOLF, you should be aware that there are LOTS of performance goodies for your car out there. Check out brands like Neuspeed or Injen for a decent catback exhaust for your car.

If you want a "quiet" catback, then instead of the GReddy EVO, look at the GReddy SP2 for your car.

bigger barrel tip duz just make more noise an not much extra performance...yuh go actually be lucky if yuh get any more speed from jus addin a barrrel....ah next ting too..if yuh running bigger exhaust...like 2" instead of 1.5" den it will now mean dat you go have tuh upgrade yuh intake flow...

Wrong. You can do that and your car will get more power, regardless of using the stock intake or not.

VDub

Postby VDub » December 3rd, 2006, 9:56 pm

Well fellas i am looking for my ride to make a little ole noise, nutten much, just to give it that more aggressive sound.

I dont necessarily need better performance i just dont want to decrease the performance, it could give me the same performance for all i care juts not drop.

as for the aftermarket prod's for the VW i know that they are in abundance however i just want to get some adv for u guys who have a bit more experience

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » December 4th, 2006, 1:02 am

Apex-i N1 :)

Postby Dave » December 4th, 2006, 7:57 am

^^the orignal fart can but sounds excellent when a good built resonator is used

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 4th, 2006, 11:02 pm

^^FYI, most N1 catbacks come with a resonator of some sort on the midpipe section.

Please don't confuse a real brand catback (HKS, APexi, JIC etc) with the 'fart cans" for sale for 600 dollars or so.

VDub

Postby VDub » December 5th, 2006, 7:31 am

So what yall think bout these Powertech mufflers that are for sale here

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=102002

I see that they fall in the $500 range...
Are they considered Fart Cans?

VDub

Postby VDub » December 6th, 2006, 7:24 am

Any comments fellas?

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » December 6th, 2006, 7:50 am

am using one on my car "the tunable one "and it gives it a nice sound with the standard setting... put it also gave the car a more free flowing exhaust and as a result found to got more power in the mid range to high rpm... and a slight increase in the top-end speed...but just that u know i had increase my piping size!

VDub

Postby VDub » December 8th, 2006, 7:37 am

any more views fellas?

Postby Dave » December 8th, 2006, 8:01 am

^^FYI, i have a Apexi NI na barrel eh partner, no imitations/rice stuff on my car
i had to use a 18" resonator to tone that sucker down so that it would not drown out what goes on inside my cabin
the best cheap barrel on the aftermkt that we get here is the Arospeed line

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 8th, 2006, 10:36 pm

Apexi World Sport (WS) any good fr low noise?

Rayden6

Re: WTK: Mufflers Mufflers Mufflers

Postby Rayden6 » June 27th, 2020, 9:47 pm

Yeah who knows bout the Apexi WS2 AND NOIR BARRELS ARE THEY QUITE