simple bumper-saver for the garage

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2007, 4:11 pm

if you have tight parking quarters, or like me, u have to park a few cars very close, nose to tail, this little tool will make it easy to park very close every time without having to worry about touching your front bumper.

It is simply a flat pece of wood or steel on the floor, with a stopper nailed / welded to the end. As the car rolls up onto the flat section, the wheel will stop on the bump-stop, which cannot move, because it's attached to the flat piece the car is resting on....simple and effective, as long as it stays in place, and you use the same car in the same spot...

version 2 has two stoppers, and prevents the car rolling back under its own weight

Polydor

Postby Polydor » January 23rd, 2007, 5:00 pm

:idea: ...... :lol:

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » January 23rd, 2007, 9:40 pm

:idea: :arrow: :wink:

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » January 23rd, 2007, 10:35 pm

10 points.

Postby MG Man » January 24th, 2007, 8:20 am

^^^not my idea tho
I saw them for sale in an Old English Car catalog, and I figured why pay for it when u can make it with scraps lying around the garage

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » January 24th, 2007, 8:54 am

extra 10 points for Japanese adaptation technique

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » January 24th, 2007, 9:12 am

nice. so i got one to toss out there to you guys. what if you just want something that wont rub the paint off a wall (or the bumper) that the front bumper must go as close as possible to for the car to fit? any ideas?

Postby MG Man » January 24th, 2007, 10:18 am

if u talking about something to put on the wall, u can try sticking some high density foam found in appliance packaging, or rubber pipe insulation, but the gizmo I posted above will serve the same purpose..........

Postby tr1ad » January 24th, 2007, 11:01 am

bravo, MG Man bravo

venum

Postby venum » January 25th, 2007, 9:40 pm

MG Man wrote:if u talking about something to put on the wall, u can try sticking some high density foam found in appliance packaging, or rubber pipe insulation, but the gizmo I posted above will serve the same purpose..........

^^^ what he said

I park very close to a wall at home and use a similar device to what MGMan posted, except I have a downward sloping garage and have a piece of pipe across the ground

roll in slowly an when the wheel touches the pipe, the car stops

Freak

Postby Freak » January 26th, 2007, 9:13 am

All good ideas, i go have to use one cause the new house the garage look like it go be a tite fit for the 2 cars.

rolandk

Postby rolandk » January 26th, 2007, 12:56 pm

Good tips.

Alternatively, you could learn to drive!

WarriorPoet

Postby WarriorPoet » January 28th, 2007, 7:26 am

Kudos
thats a neat way

even if you know how to drive it doesnt hurt to have a lil help

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 28th, 2007, 1:19 pm

just put two ah yuh ole tire aagainst d wall nex to each other...roll rite up till u hear d tire squeek when it get squeeze

daz all...and it removable in two seconds... :)

Postby Maserati » January 28th, 2007, 7:02 pm

nice

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » January 29th, 2007, 12:51 am

Polydor wrote::idea: ...... :lol:

Postby MG Man » January 29th, 2007, 8:39 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:just put two ah yuh ole tire aagainst d wall nex to each other...roll rite up till u hear d tire squeek when it get squeeze

tyres take up space...this allows you to park right up to the wall or the other car

MarcusGronholm

Postby MarcusGronholm » January 30th, 2007, 9:33 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:just put two ah yuh ole tire aagainst d wall nex to each other...roll rite up till u hear d tire squeek when it get squeeze

tyres take up space...this allows you to park right up to the wall or the other car

Yeah but the tyres takin up space anyway cos ah dunno what to do wit them cos they good...ent? BTW....you have one a dem ting? Wha bout wen you come home drunk and stub yuh toe on it cos you come out the car to see if it really there and if you reach it yet? Eh? :lol: :wink: