TriniGT

Stock SR20 bottom end 413HP

Postby TriniGT » February 15th, 2007, 7:08 am

Fro all non believers, the stock SR20DE block with good tuning can do wonders

http://www.sr20forum.com/showthread.php?t=187474

It's all in the tuning. Dry where yuh???

dry

Postby dry » February 15th, 2007, 7:10 am

good stuff... 400 is just the beginning... 5 and 6xx is the way to go :D

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 15th, 2007, 7:17 am

I gonna do a lil writeup when the upgrade starts, I go be featuring Dry all the time. Guys the man can tune fullstop.

sss

Postby sss » February 15th, 2007, 7:19 am

yuh done now he will be also doing mines real soon

plex

Postby plex » February 15th, 2007, 2:09 pm

Impressive... :shock:

Postby Maserati » February 15th, 2007, 6:55 pm

It's all in the tuning

so true

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 16th, 2007, 10:15 am

man, mike kojima did a FWD DE to over 480whp over 5 years ago - i posted links to it in teh DE - DET threads here, se-r.net has links to it.
and 690whp i think is the record on a stock block SR20DET with jsut bolt ons, NO forged internals.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 16th, 2007, 10:22 am

I know but this is a stock reconditioned JDM block with cams only. I think it's pretty nice for a low budget project.

W2J

Postby W2J » February 20th, 2007, 4:37 pm

The question is how long will it last.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » February 23rd, 2007, 2:56 pm

W2J wrote:The question is how long will it last.

Sometimes u sound so negative........

havokkk

Postby havokkk » February 25th, 2007, 11:37 am

aren't sr20de's ludicrously over-built? :D

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 26th, 2007, 10:09 am

at the 650+ tune, last i read one lasted over a year, then blew a ring land, but they street drove, dynoed and drag raced it, and i think it finally let go cause of boost creep (too small a wastegate), causing over boosting and lean conditions at high boost/revs, absolutely not bad at ALLL, especially seeing you can just pick up another stock block SR (for cheaper than forged internals) and sell off the unused bits and bolt on your turbo/fueling/EMS system and a lil tuning and be right back on track to over 600/400+ whp ;)

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 26th, 2007, 10:29 am

nuff said there RS200. Tuining with stock internals on an SR is amazing.

W2J

Postby W2J » February 26th, 2007, 2:24 pm

The SR20det has one of the weakest heads out there.

dry

Postby dry » February 26th, 2007, 2:33 pm

what you mean weak? as in flow? i'll agree with you on that for sure. with stock cams, you'd be hard pressed to get over 350whp, no matter how much boost you run. it just can't do more than that.

with cams and an intake manifold, it's a different story.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 26th, 2007, 2:35 pm

Yeah but with some head work, wonders. Intake mani, Solid lifters/lash kit, Comp springs and retainers, solid type cams, port and polish, HIGH RPM here we come, 9000rpm easy.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 26th, 2007, 2:38 pm

Hopefully I can display this when project done, for now I keeping meh mouth shut.

W2J

Postby W2J » February 26th, 2007, 2:48 pm

what you mean weak? as in flow? i'll agree with you on that for sure. with stock cams, you'd be hard pressed to get over 350whp, no matter how much boost you run. it just can't do more than that.

After installing cams would the engine be stock still ? also dont forget about those rockers.

dry

Postby dry » February 26th, 2007, 2:53 pm

I find for a man that real like a sr20 you is fight it dong. From the time you raise boost, it's not stock. We talking about the bottom end here anyway. You don't even have to separate the head and block to get to 500whp. Stock pistons, crank, rods.

The rockers like to go out now and then, but only above 8000rpm and from bouncing on the limiter. I've revved to 8000 without throwing rockers. I think if I had hit the limiter, I woulda be looking for rocker bits.

W2J

Postby W2J » February 26th, 2007, 3:05 pm

I find for a man that real like a sr20 you is fight it dong.

:D hurry up and rebuild nah and bring it. just sent it in to do the 5 layer gasket and some other goodies.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 26th, 2007, 3:20 pm

That's why I getting the solid lifters, when ah done they go call meh reverend :lol: No valve float and no flying rocker arms.

dry

Postby dry » February 26th, 2007, 3:40 pm

lol@reverend

sss

Postby sss » February 26th, 2007, 4:28 pm

someone get me cams for my gti-r so i can roast the tyres some more eh dry :D

W2J

Postby W2J » February 26th, 2007, 4:30 pm

Jun has cams for that RNN14

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 26th, 2007, 5:34 pm

i want ah ess arrrrrrrr! :mrgreen:

sss

Postby sss » February 26th, 2007, 6:10 pm

jun what kind of money we taking about ?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 26th, 2007, 6:13 pm

JWT also has S3M cams as well for the GTiR. I will check the BC and Tomei prices as well. But JUN yuh can't go wrong, nuff said about R&D.

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » February 26th, 2007, 8:11 pm

time to extrude hone and swain coat those sr20's :twisted:
can link HKS and Tomei Cams for the GTiR

sss

Postby sss » February 27th, 2007, 7:51 am

would kind of money ? saw some on jgycustoms website s3 for $549 what u guys think hks,tomei prices people am willing to hold up on the paint job for those cams , e-manage and a set of cams who say more POWAHHHHHHHHHHHHH! :twisted:

havokkk

Postby havokkk » February 27th, 2007, 12:14 pm

TriniGT wrote:Yeah but with some head work, wonders. Intake mani, Solid lifters/lash kit, Comp springs and retainers, solid type cams, port and polish, HIGH RPM here we come, 9000rpm easy.

there's an interesting discussion in the honda specific forum on engine spd and rod ratio... with the sr20's comparitively low rod ratio, maybe shifting at 9krpm often isn't a good idea, even with a valve train that'll support it...

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=121231