repairing door hinges

Dave-ve

repairing door hinges

Postby Dave-ve » July 13th, 2007, 8:20 am

the bushings on my driver's door seem to be worn and needs to be replaced. can you guys recommend someone who can do this.

tko

Postby tko » July 13th, 2007, 8:43 am

you could try to do it yourself, i did my own a while back, had gotten 4 doors 4 parts in the bamboo for a hundred, all i did was just unhinge the doors on my car, took out the pins, kind of tricky cause they can't take much pounding replacing the existing bushings on my door line back up the door and drop in the pins and clips, hit it some wd40 and bam yuh done, also two people are better for this job you may need someone to hold the door up for you if you don't want to remove the wires.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 13th, 2007, 9:01 am

as we on da topic of doors, my door givin a creak. it seems to be closin properly. i get d sound like if i pull off hard or goin over bumps and d rear comin down, or over drains..dunno what to do. it real annoyin.

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » July 13th, 2007, 12:07 pm

^^ thats the same problem I'm having. the door opens and closes ok but when driving over rough roads I hear it vibrating.

tko how did you remove the pins? the caps on the pins appear to be welded on.

tko

Postby tko » July 13th, 2007, 12:27 pm

de-ve, there is a c-clip at the bottom of the pin you need to remove this first, then lightly tap from the bottom and the pin jumps out this applies for both top and bottom hinges

eitech, i had that same problem, does yours happen in the front or rear doors? mines creaked only in the front passenger door, tried lubricating, didn't work but what i did was examined properly where it was coming from and noticed that the bushing was weared causing the door to move even though the door was closed, just examine your bushings any sign of wearing or breakage could cause it.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 13th, 2007, 2:23 pm

mine makin noise from the rear right hand side. bushings yuh say? wey det is hoss? :shock:

tko

Postby tko » July 13th, 2007, 3:57 pm

okay, you see where the two hinges meet (the one from the body of the vehicle and the one on the door) there is a pin holding them together with a c-clip at the bottom it, the bushing is located inside of the hole where the pin passes, it more of a sleeve fitted in the hole to reduce the friction between the hinges and pin and to allow easy movement when this is damaged your door drops, creaks etc.

note the bushing is metal.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 13th, 2007, 5:45 pm

wey jed :shock:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 14th, 2007, 8:07 am

Hey bro. Team Loco and them does make over all the bushings for the door for you...

call 6581571 ext 245
We can custom make anything with steel. -cut, roll, fold, bend, any form of steel. Got a design, we will turn it into a reality. :twisted: :twisted:

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » July 15th, 2007, 1:44 am

check any car parts place an ask them for bushings for the door hinge
mathuras in st. james have and also bobbys in bamboo

jus kewl

Re: repairing door hinges

Postby jus kewl » December 14th, 2015, 6:30 pm

My front door has dropped a bit from use. Does anyone know where in south re-pins door hinges?

It's kinda difficult to get the person at that extension, and I really can't make it all the way up north to get that done. i'll appreciate the help.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 20th, 2015, 1:28 am

Would anyone happen to have a pic of these 'bushings' ?

I'm having the same problem as eitech

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » December 20th, 2015, 9:48 am

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 20th, 2015, 1:37 pm

Thanks much

The other issue now, those are universal? Because I've got a CK lancer and don't think I ever seen any part familiar to that

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » December 20th, 2015, 2:41 pm

That part is inside the hinge... it goes in between the pin and the hinge itself

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » December 20th, 2015, 2:42 pm

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 20th, 2015, 7:13 pm

Nice nice. Thanks man

speedist

Postby speedist » December 20th, 2015, 7:40 pm

Was hoping there was a thread on this. My driver side door has to be slammed to close properly. The others not so much. Anyone know where I could get that fixed and what the cause might be? One person suggested the doors needed a little adjusting and that a straightener could sort it.