Carb Problems

DJ Nexxus

Carb Problems

Postby DJ Nexxus » October 22nd, 2007, 6:18 am

I have a 32/36 Webber on a L24 and when I accelerate it works ok but as soon as the secondaries start to open I don't get any noticable acceleration, however if I floor it, it works ok, and if I back off just a slight bit, the car takes off, all in all I do not get a fairly linear acceleration can anyone suggest possible problems?,

Postby Dave » October 22nd, 2007, 7:56 am

plunger, high speed diaphram, secondary jets should be checked

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » October 22nd, 2007, 8:38 am

^^^^ What's up dave? ah back and I'll give you a call Later on those jets....Know anywhere in the north I can get a full kit for a 32/36 Webber? or will I only get it by sheriff's

Postby Dave » October 22nd, 2007, 2:01 pm

no probs man, anytime

sherrif is the man but speedway used to also have them

transporter001

Postby transporter001 » October 22nd, 2007, 7:03 pm

speedway dont have for the 32/36, they only have for the sidedraughts. I know this caused i checked the whole of petit bourge with no luck. So i would say go by sherrifs

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » October 22nd, 2007, 11:50 pm

How old is your carb? on older carbs, as a direct result of using your accelerator (especially if yuh does drive like me) the throttle-shaft becomes worn, thereby creating an air-leak. this makes you carb hard to balance and gives you all sorts of symptoms. the carb could also need a usual clean-out and tuning.

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » October 23rd, 2007, 6:18 am

Well I was planning to do a service on the carb this weekend so I will Post the outcome monday for the benifit of the forum and the 2ners, thanks

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » October 25th, 2007, 1:19 am

Yeah cool. do that and let us know.

Postby Dave » October 25th, 2007, 7:47 am

if the shaft was leaking, he would get a hesitation from the time he puts his foot on the gas